carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Five outdoor experiences to enjoy in the heart of the Cévennes

South of the Massif Central, between Gard and Aveyron, the Cévennes constitute a little corner of paradise. Outdoor sportspeople in search of pure sensations and raw landscapes find their happiness here.

Dn the south of France, the Cévennes and its corniche, Mont Aigoual, the causses or the Cirque de Navacelles, offer a multitude of outdoor opportunities. While hiking on the Stevenson Trail or mountain biking through the causses, the illusion of being alone in the world increases the pleasure of the effort tenfold. On land, underground, in the air or on the water, unforgettable adventures in the heart of nature await athletes in the Cévennes National Park. Today we invite you to discover five extraordinary Cévennes experiences. They will undoubtedly leave you with lasting memories.

At the crossroads of the worlds

Si summer is a wonderful season to discover the Cévennes, a change of scenery is guaranteed in winter. The snow that falls in abundance gives the vast expanses and magnificent forests, airs of the great north. The sled dogs and their master then offer visitors an opportunity to discover the place in a different way. In the cold winter, such a hike is an experience not to be missed!

Dog sled ride in the Cévennes

In white water

In summer, it is rather the freshness of gorges and canyons that is wanted. And there is no shortage of them in this region with its rugged reliefs. The gorges of Tarn, Jonte or Hérault, are the ideal playground for rafting, kayaking and canoeing enthusiasts. Many rental companies and instructors offer courses adapted to each level. And for canyoning fans, the Tapoul gorges and the Soucy canyon reserve unique sensations.

Kayaking in the Tarn gorges

Hanging on the heights

Then, if you like to climb, walk along cliffs and experience vertigo, the Cévennes are a good choice. To gain height, many climbing spots, but also several via ferrata are accessible in the Cévennes. For beginners, the Via Ferrata des Rousses is a good choice. The more adventurous will find courses that meet their expectations, on the Rochefort via ferrata located in Florac. The gorges of Chasserac also contain dizzying climbing spots. And for even more sensations, several bungee jumping sites exist in the Cévennes. In the heart of the Tarn gorges, on the Alzone or Saint-Georges de Levéjac bridges, the conditions are exceptional.

The Cévennes are an extraordinary place for climbing

In the depths

What if you finally succumb to underground exploration? The Cevennes basement is indeed full of treasures that can only be discovered once equipped with a headlamp and a harness. With family or friends, caving is a unique discovery sport. Explorers move through galleries, meanders and magnificent rooms. They thus discovered stalactites, stalagmites, small underground fauna, and sometimes even paleontological remains. From the first steps underground to vertical caving, many formulas exist to satisfy all adventurers!

Here caving reigns supreme

Under the starry vault

Since 2018, the Cévennes National Park can be proud of the prestigious title of "International Starry Sky Reserve" of the Dark Sky Association. In France, only three sites benefit from this label: the Pic du Midi de Bigorre, the Parc du Mercantour and the Cévennes. They are also the largest dark sky reserve in Europe! If you go through the Cévennes to practice your favorite outdoor sport, do not deprive yourself of this majestic sky so little polluted by the light of human activities. To end your stay in the Cévennes, let yourself be tempted by an exceptional night hike under the starry sky.

The Cévennes, a starry sky reserve

Cinq expériences outdoor à vivre en plein coeur des Cévennes

Au sud du Massif Central, entre le Gard et l’Aveyron, les Cévennes constituent un petit coin de paradis. Les sportifs outdoor en quête de sensations pures et de paysages bruts trouvent ici leur bonheur.

Dans le sud de la France, les Cévennes et sa corniche, le Mont Aigoual, les causses ou encore le cirque de Navacelles, offrent une multitude d’opportunités outdoor. En randonnée sur le chemin de Stevenson ou en VTT à travers les causses, l’illusion d’être seul au monde décuple le plaisir de l’effort. Sur terre, sous terre, dans l’air ou sur l’eau, d’inoubliables aventures en pleine nature attendent les sportifs dans le Parc National des Cévennes. Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui de découvrir cinq expériences cévenoles extraordinaires. Elles vous laisseront sans aucun doute, un souvenir impérissable.

À la croisée des mondes

Si l’été est une merveilleuse saison pour découvrir les Cévennes, le dépaysement est garanti en hiver. La neige qui y tombe en abondance donne aux vastes étendues et aux magnifiques forêts, des airs de grand nord. Les chiens de traîneau et leur maître offrent alors aux visiteurs une occasion de découvrir les lieux autrement. Dans la fraîcheur hivernale, une telle randonnée constitue une expérience à ne pas manquer !

Balade en chiens de traineau dans les Cévennes

En eaux vives

En été, c’est plutôt la fraîcheur des gorges et des canyons qui est recherchée. Et il n’en manque pas dans cette région aux reliefs accidentés. Les gorges du Tarn, de la Jonte ou encore de l’Hérault, sont le terrain de jeu idéal pour les amateurs de rafting, de kayak et de canoë. De nombreux loueurs et moniteurs y proposent des parcours adaptés au niveau de chacun. Et pour les fans de canyoning, les gorges du Tapoul et le canyon de Soucy réservent des sensations uniques.

Kayak dans les gorges du Tarn

Suspendu sur les hauteurs

Puis, si vous aimez grimper, longer des falaises et éprouver le vertige, les Cévennes sont un bon choix. Pour prendre de la hauteur, de nombreux spots d’escalade, mais aussi plusieurs via ferrata sont accessibles dans les Cévennes. Pour les débutants, la via ferrata des Rousses est un bon choix. Les plus aventureux trouveront quant-à-eux des parcours à la hauteur de leurs attentes,sur la via ferrata du Rochefort située à Florac. Les gorges de Chasserac recèlent également des spots d’escalade vertigineux. Et pour encore plus de sensations, plusieurs sites de saut à l’élastique existent dans les Cévennes. Au coeur des gorges du Tarn, sur les ponts d’Alzone ou de Saint-Georges de Levéjac, les conditions sont exceptionnelles.

Les Cévennes constituent un lieu extraordinaire pour l'escalade

Dans les profondeurs

Et si vous succombiez enfin à l’exploration souterraine ? Le sous-sol cévenol regorge en effet de trésors qui ne se laissent découvrir qu’une fois équipée d’une lampe frontale et d’un baudrier. En famille ou entre amis, la spéléologie est un sport découverte unique. Les explorateurs évoluent dans des galeries, des méandres et des salles magnifiques. Ils y découvrent ainsi stalactites, stalagmites, petite faune souterraine, et parfois même de vestiges paléontologiques. Des premiers pas sous terre à la spéléologie verticale, de nombreuses formules existent pour satisfaire tous les aventuriers !

Ici la spéléologie est reine

Sous la voute étoilée

Depuis 2018, le Parc National des Cévennes peut s’enorgueillir du prestigieux titre de “Réserve International de Ciel Étoilé” de la Dark Sky Association. En France, seuls trois sites bénéficient de ce label : le Pic du Midi de Bigorre, le Parc du Mercantour et les Cévennes. Elles sont par ailleurs la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé d’Europe ! Si vous passez par les Cévennes pour pratiquer votre sport outdoor préféré, ne vous privez pas de ce majestueux ciel si peu pollué par la lumière des activités humaines. Pour finir votre séjour dans les Cévennes, laissez-vous tenter par une exceptionnelle randonnée nocturne sous la voûte étoilée.

Les Cévennes, réserve de ciel étoilé

La rédaction