carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Now is the time to taste early wines

Each year, a few weeks after the harvest, early and new wines make a remarkable entrance on the stalls of our markets, and even in supermarkets.

C 'Beaujolais is certainly the one that popularized the tasting of new wine *. In France, early wines, new wines, young wines and even wines of the year are put on sale just a few weeks after the harvest. They are intended to be consumed in the months following the end of fermentation. Beaujolais nouveau, Côtes du Rhône Primeur, Côtes du Ventoux, Christmas Muscat or Burgundy aligoté… The new wines are then available in red, white and rosé.

A multitude of appellations

Le Beaujolais, precursor of new wine, has taken the lead. Today it represents a third of the total production of new wine in France. But many appellations have subsequently chosen to develop their own primeur cuvée. They always have the characteristic of being particularly fruity. For red wines, succumb to Beaujolais of course, but also to Coteaux du Languedoc, Tricastin or Lyonnais, or on the Côtes du Rhône, Ventoux or Roussillon. For rosé wines, in addition to these appellations, the rosé of Anjou, Cabernet de Saumur or Tavel. As for white wines, the Burgundians are very well represented, as are Muscadet and Gaillac. As you will have understood, the winegrowers have seized on the consumers' enthusiasm for new wine. Many produce their vintages of the year in this way.

Early wines shared with friends

New wine or early wine?

The terms new or early are sometimes used incorrectly. In reality, these two terminologies mask little-known peculiarities. AOC regulations stipulates that a wine is said to be primeur, if it is bottled before spring. It is therefore called new wine if it is bottled before the next harvest. Early wines that we taste in autumn are therefore all new wines. But the reverse is not necessarily the case. For example, Beaujolais Nouveau is indeed a first… but also a new wine!

A precise timetable

The legislation around early wines is quite strict. Wines benefiting froma protected geographical indication can be enjoyed from the third Thursday of October. Early wines at controlled designation of origin are available from the third Thursday in November.

autumn pleasures

Do not confuse early wines with the sale of early wines

If the primeur wine is put on sale in the first weeks following the harvest, the first purchase is a Bordeaux tradition which consists in reserving wines that will not be available until after they have been bottled, that is to say one to three years later. Buying en primeur allows the trader to benefit from an advantageous price. For castles, the interest is to bring in cash without waiting for the end of aging. Formerly reserved for professionals, the sale of en primeur wines is becoming more and more popular with individuals looking for wine experiences and good deals. In recent years, this en primeur sale has met with great success. She also seduced some great estates of Burgundy and the Rhône, which now offer en primeur sales.

* "Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. To consume with moderation. "

C’est le moment où jamais de déguster les vins primeurs

Chaque année, quelques semaines après les vendanges, les vins primeurs et nouveaux font une entrée remarquée sur les étals de nos marchés, et même dans les grandes surfaces.

C’est certainement le Beaujolais qui a popularisé la dégustation du vin nouveau*. En France, les vins primeurs, vins nouveaux, vins jeunes ou encore vins de l’année sont mis en vente quelques semaines seulement après la récolte. Ils sont destinés à être consommés dans les mois qui suivent la fin de la fermentation. Beaujolais nouveau, Côtes du Rhône Primeur, Côtes du Ventoux, Muscat de Noël ou Bourgogne aligoté… Les vins nouveaux se déclinent en rouge, blanc et rosé.

Une multitude d’appellations

Le Beaujolais, précurseur du vin nouveau, a pris de l’avance. Il représente aujourd’hui un tiers de la production totale de vin nouveau en France. Mais nombre d’appellations ont par la suite fait le choix de mettre au point leur propre cuvée primeur. Elles ont toujours la caractéristique d’être particulièrement fruitées. Pour les vins rouges, succombez aux Beaujolais bien sur, mais aussi aux Coteaux du Languedoc, du Tricastin ou du Lyonnais, ou encore aux côtes du Rhône, du Ventoux ou du Roussillon. Pour les rosés, s’ajoutent à ces appellations, le rosé d’Anjou, le Cabernet de Saumur ou le Tavel. Du côté des vins blancs, les Bourgognes sont très bien représentés, tout comme le Muscadet ou encore le Gaillac. Vous l’aurez compris, les vignerons se sont saisis de l’engouement des consommateurs pour le vin nouveau. Beaucoup produisent ainsi leurs cuvées de l’année.

Vins primeurs partagés entre amis

Vin nouveau ou vin primeur ?

Les termes nouveau ou primeur sont parfois utilisés à tort et à travers. En réalité, ces deux terminologies masquent des particularités méconnues. La réglementation des AOC stipule qu’un vin est dit primeur, s’il est mis en bouteille avant le printemps. On l’appelle vin nouveau s’il est mis en bouteille avant la vendange suivante. Les vins primeurs que nous dégustons en automne sont donc tous des vins nouveaux. Mais l’inverse n’est pas forcément le cas. Pour exemple, le Beaujolais Nouveau est bel et bien un primeur… Mais aussi un vin nouveau !

Un calendrier précis

La legislation autour des vins primeurs est assez strictes. Les vins bénéficiant d’une indication géographique protégée se dégustent à partir du troisième jeudi du mois d’octobre. Les vins primeurs à appellation d’origine contrôlée sont quant-à-eux disponibles à partir du troisième jeudi du mois de novembre.

plaisirs d'automne

Ne pas confondre vins primeurs et vente de vins en primeur

Si le vin primeur est mis en vente dès les premières semaines qui suivent la récolte, l’achat en primeur est une tradition bordelaise qui consiste à réserver des vins qui ne seront disponibles qu’après leur mise en bouteille, c’est à dire un à trois ans plus tard. Acheter en primeur permet au négociant de bénéficier d’un prix avantageux. Pour les châteaux, l’intérêt est de faire entrer de la trésorerie sans attendre la fin de l’élevage. Autrefois réservée aux professionnels, la vente de vins en primeur fait de plus en plus d’émules chez les particuliers en quête d’expériences oenologiques et de bonnes affaires. Depuis quelques années, cette vente en primeur rencontre un vif succès. Elle a d’ailleurs séduit quelques grands domaines de Bourgogne et du Rhône, qui proposent désormais des ventes en primeur.

La rédaction

*”L’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.”