fbpx

BEST RATES GUARANTEED

No additional cost, our rates are identical to those charged by the campings.

07 card

Camping Castanhada

Book your stay directly on our website

in one look

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Ardèche THE VANS
  • In the heart of the Monts d'Ardèche Regional Park
  • 500 meters from the Chassezac river
  • 40 minutes from the Chauvet 2 Cave

By booking in a camping theme Welcome, you choose an establishment providing you with a quality charter to provide you with specific services.

Hike to Camping Eau Vive

RANDONNÉE

The Ardèche is a marvelous territory for hiking.


Discover the charter Hiking.

Great Hiking Trails

No less than 12 GR and GR de Pays criss-cross the Ardèche department. This is how 880 kilometers of GR and 800 kilometers of GR de Pays await you there.

Among them, the GR4 follows the Ardèche and the Chassezac through a Mediterranean landscape, from Pont-Saint-Esprit to Les Vans. It then sinks into the Cévennes towards more mountainous landscapes.

Walks around the camping

Here are also some ideas for walks and hikes around the Camping Castanhada.

  • On the foothills of the Serre de Barre
  • Chambonas hamlets loop
  • Discovering the Ressaladier valley
  • The Chassezac from Gravières to Eynès

Canoe

Impossible to come to southern Ardèche without discovering the region along the water. Only 500 meters from the camping, the Chassezac is the ideal river for canoeists, beginners as well as confirmed.


Discover the charter Canoe.

And its breathtaking gorges are just a paddle away! The Chassezac Gorges are located in the heart of two beautiful natural parks. The Monts d'Ardèche Regional Park and the Cévennes National Park await you. You will explore the Chassezac in a canoe and thus enjoy its biodiversity and majestic landscapes.

Calm bodies of water or small rapids, quiet walks or more complicated sections... There will be something for all tastes and all levels! The descent of the Chassezac is a beautiful course with very varied landscapes, embellished with rapids without great difficulty.

Le Camping Chestnut has entered into a partnership with Bambou Aventure Canoë, located in the town of Les Vans. In addition to different descent formulas, a base of activities will welcome you. You will spend pleasant moments there in a shaded area with river access. A food and beverage service is available on site.

Many activities will be offered to you. A pumptrack for cycling enthusiasts and even a Slackline festival in July, the Ardèche Slackline”  

Two formulas will be offered to you at Bambou Aventure. 

Canoe rental

In this context, several options are possible.

  • Go down the Chassezac gorges with your boat and come back up with your equipment after your getaway.
  • Canoe rental on the Chassezac lake, to initiate you and have fun in peace.
  • Descent of 7 kilometers on 2 or 3 seater canoes or a single kayak. Count about 2 hours for a descent, without forgetting the swimming and photo breaks. In an idyllic landscape, surrounded by high cliffs, you will alternate large bodies of water and small rapids.
  • Descent of 10 kilometers on 2 or 3-seater canoes or a single kayak. You will start next to the Vans to arrive at the exit of the gorges in Chaulet. Between calm and fast bodies of water, you will enjoy a beautiful descent of about 3 hours. 

Canoe descent with guide

Accompanied by a professional, you can make the 7 kilometer descent or a night descent. You will thus experience an unusual discovery of the Chassezac gorges.

Heritage Discovery

If the breathtaking natural heritage of the Ardèche is well known, its architectural and cultural heritage is also well worth the detour!


Discover the charter Heritage Discovery.

It is impossible to visit the Ardèche without strolling through the typical alleys of the remarkable hamlets and villages... Or even taking the fresh air in one of its thousand-year-old caves. 

Ideally located, the Camping Chestnut will allow you to visit a large number of sites and museums. To whet your appetite, here is a non-exhaustive list of cultural sites and caves located nearby.

The villages

  • Vans : Begin your visit to the history of the Ardèche with the old streets of this beautiful traditional village. He was the spearhead of silk spinning in the XNUMXthrd century. Beautiful Renaissance and Modern period residences still bear witness to this. Take a fun break in the museum labeled Museum of France. You will learn more about the Ardèche territory. Its collections of geology, archaeology, ethnography and medicine immerse you in the discovery of a unique region, shaped by nature and men. You will take the opportunity to come and taste local Ardèche products on its famous market, every Saturday morning. 
  • Awning : Old village built on the first slopes of the Cévennes, it has two hilltop districts. Do not miss a stroll through the alleys of the Fort district, a former medieval castle town, which will impress you with the remains of its two castles. 
  • Ships : Village of character nestled in olive trees in the Cévennes Regional Park, stroll through its alleys, rich in many remains of medieval houses.
  • Gravel pits : Dominated by the rocky bar of the Barre greenhouse, you will be impressed by the architecture of its XNUMXth century housesrd and XVIIthrd centuries, witnesses of its prosperity from its ancient production of silkworms, and its beautiful Romanesque church from the XNUMXthrd century.
  • Aubenas : At the top of a rocky outcrop overlooking the Ardèche and at the crossroads of the oldest trade routes, Aubenas quickly became a strategic stronghold. Old cobbled streets, places of worship, XNUMXth century housesrd century or XNUMXth century mansionse, the city enjoys a very rich architectural heritage, dominated by its XNUMXth century castlee century and developed over the following centuries.

Museums

  • Lavender House : A beautiful, fun and educational walk in the House of Lavender and in its domain, discovering the lavender fields, the room of stills and traditional distillation or the botanical garden. A trip to the heart of the most emblematic Provencal flower!
  • The Pont d'Arc cave : The cave is an exceptional reconstruction of the Chauvet cave, listed as a world heritage site and concentrated in cave art. A veritable artistic gallery dating back several hundred millennia, it contains hundreds of animals and paintings, major works of history by their incredible artistic quality. Life-size reconstructions and unprecedented interactive experiences await you for a timeless visit.

The caves

  • Aven d'Orgnac : Formed in limestone rock millions of years ago, this cave labeled Grand Site de France, will amaze you with its breathtaking underground galleries. Continue your visit with the city of prehistory, a great discovery to learn more about the history of humanity.
  • Salamander : In a magic of sounds and lights, come and discover this cave with huge stalagmites set to sound and light. Several animations and activities are proposed to you for a journey in a dreamlike world which will delight the whole family.

 

If you want more information, visit the pages Accommodation, Camping et Tourism our site.

In a group, with the family or alone

Your tailor-made quote in less than 24 hours!

Ask for a quote

Website of camping

Would you like to pay it a visit?

It's this way

carte 07

Camping Castanhada

En réservant dans un camping à thème Welcome, vous faites le choix d’un établissement vous assurant par une charte qualité de vous faire bénéficier de prestations spécifiques.

Canoë

Impossible de venir en Ardèche Méridionale sans découvrir la région au fil de l’eau. A 500 mètres seulement du camping, le Chassezac est la rivière idéale pour les pratiquants de canoë, débutants comme confirmés.


Découvrir la charte Canoë.

Et ses gorges à vous couper le souffle sont à portée de pagaie ! Les Gorges du Chassezac se situent au cœur de deux parcs naturels de toute beauté, le Parc régional des Monts d’Ardèche et le Parc National des Cévennes. Vous arpenterez le Chassezac en canoë et profiterez de sa biodiversité et de ses paysages majestueux.

Plans d’eau calmes ou petits rapides, balades tranquilles ou tronçons plus compliqués, il y en aura pour tous les goûts et tous les niveaux ! La descente du Chassezac est un beau parcours aux paysages très variés, agrémenté de rapides sans grande difficulté.

Le camping Castanhada a noué un partenariat avec Bambou Aventure Canoë, situé sur la commune Les Vans. En plus de différentes formules de descente, une base d’activités vous accueillera pour d’agréables moments sur un espace ombragé, un accès rivière et un service restauration et boissons sur place.

De nombreuses activités vous seront proposées : un pumptrack pour les amateurs de parcours vélo et même un festival de Slackline en juillet, l’Ardèche Slackline”.  

Deux formules vous seront proposées : 

  • La location de canoë: Dans ce cadre, plusieurs options sont possibles:
    • descendre avec votre embarcation les gorges de Chassezac et être remonté avec votre matériel après votre escapade.
    • location de canoë sur le plan d’eau de Chassezac, pour vous initier et vous amuser en toute tranquillité.
    • descente de 7 kilomètres sur des canoës 2 ou 3 places ou un kayak une place. Comptez environ 2 heures pour une descente, sans oublier les pauses baignades et photos. Dans un paysage idyllique, entouré de hautes falaises, vous alternerez grands plans d’eau et petits rapides.
    • descente de 10 kilomètres sur des canoës 2 ou 3 places ou un kayak une place. Vous commencerez à côté des Vans pour arriver à la sortie des gorges à Chaulet. Entre calme et rapides, vous profiterez d’une belle descente d’environ 3 heures. 
  • Descente en canoë avec guide: Vous pourrez réaliser accompagné d’un professionnel, la descente de 7 kilomètres ou une descente encadrée nocturne, pour une découverte insolite des gorges du Chassezac.

Découverte du patrimoine

Si le patrimoine naturel à couper le souffle de l’Ardèche est bien connu, son patrimoine architectural et culturel vaut lui aussi largement le détour !


Découvrir la charte Découverte du patrimoine.

Impossible de visiter l’Ardèche sans flâner dans les ruelles typiques des hameaux et villages remarquables ou prendre le frais dans une de ses grottes millénaires. 

Idéalement situé, le camping vous permettra de parcourir un grand nombre de sites et de musées. Pour vous mettre l’eau à la bouche, voici une liste non exhaustive des sites culturels et des grottes à proximité du Castanhada :

Les villages

  • Les Vans : Commencez votre visite dans l’histoire ardéchoise par les ruelles anciennes de ce beau village traditionnel, fer de lance de la filature de soie au XVIIe siècle, qui ont conservé de belles demeures d’époque Renaissante et Moderne. Faites une pause ludique dans son musée, labellisé Musée de France, pour en apprendre davantage sur le territoire ardéchois. Ses collections de géologie, d’archéologie, d’ethnographie et de médecine vous plongent dans la découverte d’une région unique façonnée par la nature et les hommes. Vous en profiterez pour venir déguster des produits locaux ardéchois sur son marché réputé, tous les samedis matin. 
  • Banne : Vieux village bâti sur les premières pentes des Cévennes, il possède deux quartiers perchés. Ne manquez pas une balade dans les ruelles du quartier du Fort, ancien bourg castral médiéval, qui vous impressionnera par les vestiges de ses deux châteaux. 
  • Naves : Village de caractère blotti dans les oliviers dans le Parc Régional des Cévennes, promenez-vous dans ses ruelles, riches de nombreux vestiges de maisons médiévales.
  • Brahic : Prenez le temps de déambuler dans ses ruelles étroites par lesquelles on rentre grâce à des porches en schiste, qui cachent une belle église romane du XIIe siècle. 
  • Gravières : Dominée par la barre rocheuse de la serre de Barre, vous serez impressionné par l’architecture de ses maisons du XVIe et XVIIe siècles, témoins de sa prospérité de son ancienne production de vers à soie, et sa belle église romane du XIIe siècle.
  • Chassagne : Ce beau village, idéalement situé au cœur des gorges de Chassezac et surplombé par le bois de Païolive, est dominé par l’Ermitage Saint Eugène, château restauré au XVIIe siècle. 
  • Chambonas : Son patrimoine historique exceptionnel vaut par la beauté de ses maisons de pierres et de son château flanqué de ses cinq tours rondes. Ne manquez sous aucun prétexte son impressionnant pont aux piliers massifs, plus grand pont médiéval de l’Ardèche, qui reliait le sud et le massif central. 
  • Aubenas : Au sommet d’un éperon rocheux dominant l’Ardèche et au carrefour des plus anciennes routes commerciales, Aubenas devint rapidement une place forte stratégique. Anciennes ruelles pavées, lieux de culte, maisons du XVe siècle ou hôtels particuliers du XVIIIe, la ville jouit d’un patrimoine architectural très riche, dominé par son château du XIIe siècle et aménagé au cours des siècles suivants.

Les Musées

  • Musée de la lavande : Une belle balade ludique et pédagogique à la Maison de la Lavande et dans son domaine, à la découverte des champs de lavande, de la salle des alambics et de la distillation traditionnelle ou du jardin botanique. Un voyage au cœur de la plus emblématique fleur provençale ! Plus d’informations sur lamaisondelalavande.com.
  • La caverne du Pont d’Arc : La caverne est une reconstitution exceptionnelle de la grotte Chauvet, inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité et concentré d’art pariétal. Véritable galerie artistique vieille de plusieurs centaines de millénaires, elle contient des centaines d’animaux et de peintures, oeuvres majeurs de l’histoire par leur incroyable qualité artistique. Reconstitutions grandeur nature et expériences interactives inédites vous attendent pour vivre une visite hors du temps. Renseignements sur grottechauvet2ardeche.com.

Les grottes

  • La Cocalière : Une des plus belles grottes de France, creusée dans les sommets des carrières du Jurassique. Une aventure dans le centre de la terre, dans une grotte vivante toujours en formation. Plus d’informations sur grotte-cocaliere.com
  • L’Aven d’Orgnac : Formée dans la roche calcaire il y a des millions d’années, cette grotte, labellisée Grand site de France, vous émerveillera avec ses grandes galeries souterraines à couper le souffle. Continuez votre visite avec la cité de la Préhistoire, une belle découverte pour en apprendre plus sur l’histoire de l’humanité. Renseignements sur orgnac.com
  • La Salamandre : Dans une féérie de sons et de lumières, venez découvrir cette grotte aux énormes stalagmites mises en sons et lumières. Plusieurs animations et activités vous sont proposées pour un voyage dans un monde onirique qui ravira toute la famille. Informations complémentaires sur grottedelasalamandre.com.

 

Si vous souhaitez plus de renseignements, visitez les pages Hébergements, Camping et Tourisme de notre site.