carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Lovers of uneven? What if you tried the Everest Challenge ...

Cumulate 8 meters of positive vertical drop by bike on the climb of your choice, and in a single outing… The Everest Challenge is a sizeable challenge, even for seasoned climbers.

C 'is George Mallory, grandson of the climber of the same name, who unknowingly performed the first Everesting. He indeed prepared his ascent of Mount Everest, by making eight consecutive ascents by bicycle of Mount Donna Buang, in the Victorian Australian Alps. Everesting was then born. The rules of the challenge were then refined by George Mallory and Andy van Bergen. They worked on it for twenty years, until the principle became the one we know today. The first Everest Challenge official was carried out in 2014. The principle of the challenge is simple. The athlete must climb a single face in a single climb of his choice, back and forth, in one go and without sleeping!

A successful launch in 2014

On February 28, 2014, Andy Van Bergen invites 120 athletes to take up the challenge. 65 of them will accept it, and only 40 will go to the end. Since that day, many athletes have attempted the feat. A few months after the launch, Robert Charbonnier became the first French Everester. He completed 22 climbs of Mont Chauve d'Aspremont during the night of November 7 to 8, 2014. In 2015, Peter Arnott will perform the first double Everesting on Henley Road. To do this, he covered 456 kilometers and 17 vertical meters, in 769 hours and 43 minutes.

Achievements around the world

Athletes from Australia and the UK are the biggest fans of the challenge. But today, the trend has spread around the world. The confinement period due to the COVID-19 pandemic was also an opportunity to honor the challenge. Several professional runners have performed virtual Everesting on the Swift simulator. Giulio Ciccone, Mark Cavendish and Luke Rowe have exceeded 10m of vertical drop. James Piccoli has climbed Mount Royal 000 times. He thus raised funds for caregivers engaged in the fight against the virus.

Ascension Everest Challenge

A precise regulation

The route can be done on any hill, mountain or climb, of any length, as long as there is a correct vertical drop. The route cannot be a loop. It is necessary to make round trips. To be validated each ascent must be completed. Each repetition should be up and down. You must also save the entire route on the app. For the challenge to be approved, it is necessary to use a GPS meter with barometric altitude and a Strava account. It is possible to push beyond 8 meters to reach 848 meters. The trip will then be qualified as Everesting 10K. In the case of a double challenge, the runner can benefit from one or more breaks to sleep but they must not exceed the 000 hours accumulated by Everest carried out at the end of the first.

Women's Everest Challenge

Preparing for the Everest Challenge

Before preparing for your challenge, it is important to validate the relevance of the planned route. To be sure that the route is eligible, it may be useful to check it on the Everesting calculator. The challenge is a climber's challenge. The calculator is therefore provided with a built-in control over descent altitude gain or kinetic gain. The idea is to avoid "free counters". To prepare as well as possible, it is possible to register for free on the site Everesting. You will thus benefit from guides for logistical, physical, nutritional and mental preparation.

« The concept of Everesting is very simple: Pick any hill, anywhere in the world and repeat it in one activity until you climb to 8848 meters - the equivalent height of Mount Everest. Take the challenge and you will find your name in the Hall of Fame, alongside the best climbers in the world. "

Writing

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Amoureux des dénivelés ? Et si vous tentiez l’Everest Challenge…

Cumuler 8 848 mètres de dénivelé positif à vélo sur l’ascension de son choix, et en une seule sortie… L’Everest Challenge est un défi de taille, y compris pour les grimpeurs chevronnés.

C’est George Mallory, petit-fils de l’alpiniste du même nom, qui a réalisé sans le savoir, le premier Everesting. Il a en effet préparé son ascension du Mont Everest, en réalisant huit ascensions consécutives à vélo du Mont Donna Buang, dans les Alpes victoriennes australiennes. L’Everesting est alors né. Les règles du défi ont ensuite été affinées par George Mallory et Andy van Bergen. Ils y ont travaillé pendant une vingtaine d’années, jusqu’à ce que le principe devienne celui que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. Le premier Everest Challenge officiel a été réalisé en 2014. Le principe du challenge est simple. L’athlète doit gravir une seule face d’une seule montée de son choix, en aller-retour, d’une seule traite et sans dormir !

Un lancement réussi en 2014

Le 28 février 2014, Andy Van Bergen invite 120 athlètes à relever le défi. 65 d’entre eux l’accepteront, et seulement 40 iront au bout. Depuis ce jour, de nombreux sportifs ont tenté l’exploit. Quelques mois après le lancement, Robert Charbonnier est devenu le premier Everester français. Il a réalisé 22 montées du Mont Chauve d’Aspremont dans la nuit du 7 au 8 novembre 2014. En 2015, Peter Arnott réalisera le premier double Everesting sur Henley Road. Pour cela, il a parcouru 456 kilomètres et 17 769 mètres de dénivelé, en 43 heures et 22 minutes.

Des exploits dans le monde entier

Les sportifs d’Australie et du Royaume-Uni sont les plus grands adeptes du défi. Mais aujourd’hui, la tendance s’est répandue dans le monde entier. La période de confinement due à la pandémie de COVID-19 a d’ailleurs été l’occasion de mettre à l’honneur le challenge . Plusieurs coureurs professionnels ont effectué des Everesting virtuels sur le simulateur Swift. Giulio Ciccone, Mark Cavendish et Luke Rowe ont dépassé les 10 000 m de dénivelé. James Piccoli a quant-à-lui gravi 100 fois le Mont Royal. Il a ainsi récolté des fonds pour les soignants engagés dans la lutte contre le virus.

Ascension Everest Challenge

Un règlement précis

Le tracé peut être réalisé sur n’importe quelle colline, montagne ou montée, de n’importe quelle longueur, à condition de présenter un dénivelé correct. Le trajet ne peut être une boucle. Il est nécessaire de réaliser des aller-retours. Pour être validée chaque ascension doit être achevée. Chaque répétition doit être montée et descendue. Vous devez également enregistrer l’intégralité du parcours sur l’application. Pour que le challenge soit homologué, il est nécessaire d’utiliser un compteur GPS avec altitude barométrique et d’un compte Strava. Il est possible de pousser au-delà des 8 848 mètres pour atteindre 10 000 mètres. Le trajet sera alors qualifié d’Everesting 10K. Dans le cas d’un double challenge, le coureur peut bénéficier d’une ou plusieurs pauses pour dormir mais elles ne doivent excéder les 2 heures en cumulé par Everest réalisé à l’issue du premier.

Everest Challenge féminin

La préparation de l’Everest Challenge

Avant de préparer son défi, il est important de valider la pertinence du parcours envisagé. Pour être sûr que le parcours est éligible, il peut être utile de le vérifier sur la calculatrice Everesting. Le challenge est un défi de grimpeur. La calculatrice est donc munie d’un contrôle intégré sur le gain d’altitude de descente ou un gain cinétique. L’idée est d’éviter les “compteurs libres”. Pour se préparer au mieux, il est possible de s’inscrire gratuitement sur le site Everesting. Vous bénéficierez ainsi de guides à la préparation logistique, physique, nutritionnelle, et mentale.

Le concept d’Everesting est tout simple : choisissez n’importe quelle colline, n’importe où dans le monde et répétez-la en une seule activité jusqu’à ce que vous montiez à 8848 mètres – la hauteur équivalente du Mont Everest. Relevez le défi et vous trouverez votre nom dans le Hall of Fame, aux côtés des meilleurs grimpeurs du monde.”

La rédaction