carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The Tour du Grand Pic Saint-Loup, the favorite GR of the French 2020

In the heart of the Hérault hinterland, the Tour du Grand Pic Saint-Loup won the title of favorite GR for the French 2020. A great opportunity to place the spotlight on a trail with the scents of the south, rich in its varied and unspoiled landscapes.

Eour vineyards, mountains and scrubland, the Tour of the Grand Pic Saint-Loup is a wonderful long-distance hiking trail. It offers four routes around the famous “Montpellier mountain”. Authentic, green and bright, the Pic Saint Loup rises to 658 meters above sea level. The four hiking routes traced on the vineyard paths, the old transhumance routes or the connecting paths between the villages, allow you to discover the hidden treasures of the Grand Pic Saint-Loup.

The various courses of varying levels are accessible to a large public. They allow walkers and hikers to live an unforgettable adventure. Through typical small villages, mountain landscapes, moors or the Cirque de la Séranne, discovery is everywhere. The gorges of the Hortus, the Cévennes and the valley of the Buèges also leave visitors with memories of unrivaled tranquility, serenity and Mediterranean sweetness.

Four sumptuous courses

The first path allows first of all to realize the Tour de la Séranne to meet the villages. In the heart of the Hérault gorges, it will take 4 days to cover the 68 kilometers of roaming. Hikers thus rally Saint-Martin-de-Londres, Saint-Jean-de-Buèges, Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert and Puéchabon. Departing from Saint-Mathieu de Tréviers, another 4-day hike will then train athletes discovering the vineyards and the causse. An immersion in the heart of the landscapes shaped by agro-pastoralism and viticulture.

Pic Saint-Loup seen from the surrounding countryside

A third loop starting from Saint-Jean-de-Buèges meanders its way through vineyards and mountains, for 3 days and 55 kilometers. The magnificent medieval castle and the Lombard-style Romanesque church of Saint-Jean-de-Buèges, as well as the many surrounding caves, deserve to linger there for a cultural break. The loop from Les Matelles is also a 3-day crossing in the heart of the vegetation Mediterranean. Garrigues, holm oak forests and pine forests provide restful shade for courageous walkers.

A varied outdoor offer

Only 20 kilometers from Montpellier, the Pic Saint-loup and the surroundings therefore constitute an extraordinary green lung. They offer a multitude of possibilities for lovers of outdoor sports. Mountain biking and hiking are popular with Hérault residents and holidaymakers throughout the year. But other activities delight athletes, in the heart of this territory which benefits from a particularly mild Mediterranean climate.

Steep cliff at the top of Pic Saint-Loup

To continue the journey, the Thaurac via ferrata attracts lovers of vertigo. Its monkey bridge, its Tibetan bridge, its zip line and its limestone chimneys are exceptional. For the more adventurous, the Saint-Loup peak also offers on its north face many vertiginous climbing routes. They are perfectly well equipped and signposted. Only five kilometers from the Pic, the Ravin des Arcs canyon is then ideal for a canyoning outing with a majestic arrival on a superb natural arch. To end the extreme adventures, the paragliding flights departing from Causse de l'Hortus offer exceptional panoramas.

Paragliding flight over Pic Saint-Loup

Heritage and art of living

After exceptional sports and cultural days, many accommodation and catering places finally allow visitors to take a well-deserved gourmet break. Gastronomy, oenology and local products thus satisfy summer visitors with all the Mediterranean flavors.

Vines and scrubland

The GR de Pays du Grand Pic Saint-Loup is an enchanted Languedoc break between sport, nature and heritage. Don't wait any longer to plan your trip.

Le Tour du Grand Pic Saint-Loup, GR préféré des français 2020

Au coeur de l’arrière-pays héraultais, le Tour du Grand Pic Saint-Loup a emporté le titre de GR préféré des français 2020. Une belle occasion de placer le projecteur sur un sentier aux parfums du sud, riche de ses paysages variés et préservés.

Entre vignes, montagnes et garrigues, le Tour du Grand Pic Saint-Loup est un magnifique sentier de grande randonnée. Il propose quatre itinéraires autour de la célèbre “montagne des Montpelliérains”. Authentique, verdoyant et lumineux, le Pic Saint Loup  culmine à 658 mètres d’altitude. Les quatre itinéraires de randonnée tracés sur les chemins de vignes, les anciens parcours de transhumance ou encore les chemins de liaisons entre les villages, permettent de découvrir les trésors cachés du Grand Pic Saint-Loup.

Les différents parcours de niveaux variés sont accessibles à un large public. Ils permettent aux promeneurs et randonneurs de vivre une aventure inoubliable. À travers les petits villages typiques, les paysages de montagne, les landes ou encore le cirque de la Séranne, la découverte est partout. Les gorges de l’Hortus, les Cévennes et la vallée de la Buèges laissent également aux visiteurs des souvenirs de quiétude, de sérénité, et de douceur méditerranéenne inégalables.

Quatre parcours somptueux

Le premier tracé permet tout d’abord de réaliser le Tour de la Séranne à la rencontre des villages. En plein cœur des gorges de l’Hérault, il faudra 4 jours pour parcourir les 68 kilomètres d’itinérance. Les randonneurs rallient ainsi Saint-Martin-de-Londres, Saint-Jean-de-Buèges, Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert et Puéchabon. Au départ de Saint-Mathieu de Tréviers, une autre randonnée de 4 jours entraîne ensuite les sportifs à la découverte des vignes et du causse. Une immersion au coeur des paysages façonnés par l’agropastoralisme et la viticulture.

Le Pic Saint-Loup vu de la campagne environnante

Une troisième boucle au départ de Saint-Jean-de-Buèges serpente quant-à-elle à travers vignobles et montagnes, pendant 3 jours et 55 kilomètres. Le magnifique château médiéval et l’église romane de style lombard de Saint-Jean-de-Buèges, tout comme les nombreuses grottes alentours, méritent de s’y attarder pour une pause culturelle. La boucle au départ des Matelles est par ailleurs une traversée de 3 jours au coeur de la végétation méditerranéenne. Garrigues, forêts de chênes verts et pinèdes procurent une ombre reposante aux courageux marcheurs.

Une offre outdoor variée

À seulement 20 kilomètres de Montpellier, le Pic Saint-loup et les alentours constituent donc un extraordinaire poumon vert. Ils offrent une multitude de possibilités aux amoureux des sports de plein air. VTT et randonnée sont plébiscités par les héraultais et les vacanciers tout au long de l’année. Mais d’autres activités font le bonheur des sportifs, au coeur de ce territoire qui bénéficie d’un climat méditerranéen particulièrement clément.

Falaise abrupte au sommet du Pic Saint-Loup

Pour continuer le voyage, la via ferrata du Thaurac attire les amateurs de vertige. Son pont de singe, son pont tibétain, sa tyrolienne et ses cheminées calcaires sont exceptionnels. Pour les plus aventureux, le pic Saint-Loup offre également sur sa face nord de nombreuses voies d’escalade vertigineuses. Elles sont parfaitement bien équipées et balisées. À seulement cinq kilomètres du Pic, le canyon du Ravin des Arcs est ensuite idéal pour une sortie canyoning avec une arrivée majestueuse sur une superbe arche naturelle. Pour terminer les aventures extrêmes, les vols en parapente au départ du causse de l’Hortus offrent des panoramas exceptionnels.

Vol en parapente au dessus du Pic Saint-Loup

Patrimoine et art de vivre

Après des journées sportives et culturelles d’exception, de nombreux lieux d’hébergement et de restauration permettent enfin aux visiteurs de prendre une pause gourmande bien méritée. Gastronomie, oenologie et produits du terroir comblent ainsi les estivants de toutes les saveurs méditerranéennes.

Vignes et garrigues

Le GR de Pays du Grand  Pic Saint-Loup est une parenthèse languedocienne enchantée entre sport, nature et patrimoine. N’attendez plus pour planifier votre périple.

La rédaction