carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

"200, An Ultra film": Discover the ultra-trail of the Tour des Lacs d'Auvergne

Around the lakes of Auvergne in less than 40 hours? Yann Gobert has just demonstrated that it is possible! In particularly bad weather conditions for the end of September, ultra-trail fan Yann Gobert covered the 200 kilometers of the GR 30 in just 37 hours and 49 minutes. He has just released the video of his latest feat.

C 'is a real sporting challenge that Yann launched on the Tour des Lacs d'Auvergne, in this fall 2020. Between two confinements, the runner accompanied by his band of friends set off on the 200 kilometers of the legendary Massif trail Central. And it only took him 40 hours to overcome the more than 6 meters of vertical drop. A feat achieved despite the cold, humidity and snow that awaited him from 000 meters above sea level.

The opportunity to establish a new FKT

Since the 2000s, the American organization Fastest Known Time lists the best times of notable race segments around the world. Since the cancellations of series races due to the health crisis, FKT has experienced a real boom within the global trail community. This summer, the FKT of the GR5 between Chamonix and Briançon, of the GR 10 in the Pyrenees, of the 14 summits of the Bauges or the crossing of the Vosges were moreover pushed back by French trail runners. But there was no FKT yet for the Tour des Lacs d'Auvergne. Thanks to Yann Gobert, the challenge is launched. It will be necessary to do better than him to hope to be proud of this FKT.

“Since the pandemic, the concept [of FKT] has taken off again. The spirit of FKT is very much about the notion of adventure and usually involves long routes. For example, Scott Jurek had covered the Appalachian Trail in 46 days 8 hours and 7 minutes. I am quite proud to have been able to create the GR30 route and to have set a reference time. But now it's up to you to play and do better, or create your own course in your area. Let's take advantage of this unprecedented period to invent new ways of living our passions. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by yann gobert (@yanngobert)

Winter conditions

Starting from Mont Doré on September 26, 2020 at 6 a.m., the runner set off at night and in a damp autumnal cold. Very quickly the snow is there, bringing with it its share of additional difficulties. Arrived at the top of Puy de Sancy after 2 hours and 12 minutes of racing, Yann is greeted by wind and snow. The horizon is blocked. No time to admire the scenery anyway. The runner goes down to his first pit stop at Picherande at the 29th kilometer.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by yann gobert (@yanngobert)

But quickly, his feet made him suffer and at the 74th kilometer, the third supply of Égliseneuve was the occasion for a break. After a difficult night of racing, the body is in pain and morale is low. Yet Yann will not give in. With drawn features and emaciated face, he keeps his lucidity. "I'll go on all fours if I have to" ... And it is again the rain and snow that will accompany him for the last kilometers. After 37 hours and 49 minutes, Yann finally completes his loop of 204 kilometers and 6 meters of elevation gain, meeting the lakes of Auvergne ...

Throughout his effort, the athlete was supported by his relatives. They provided supplies or ran a few kilometers with him. Proof that ultra is indeed a team sport.

"The ultra-trail has been and always will be a quest to discover territories, oneself and others…"

Discover Yann Gobert's recent video race from the inside

“200, Un film d’Ultra” : Découvrez l’ultra-trail du Tour des Lacs d’Auvergne

Le tour des lacs d’Auvergne en moins de 40 heures ? Yann Gobert vient de démontrer que c’était possible ! Dans des conditions météo particulièrement mauvaises pour une fin de mois de septembre, le fan d’ultra-trail Yann Gobert a parcouru les 200 kilomètres du GR 30 en seulement 37 heures et 49 minutes. Il vient de diffuser la vidéo de son dernier exploit.

C’est un véritable défi sportif que s’est lancé Yann sur le Tour des Lacs d’Auvergne, en cet automne 2020. Entre deux confinements, le coureur accompagné de sa bande de copains s’est élancé sur les 200 kilomètres du mythique sentier du Massif Central. Et il ne lui a fallu que 40 heures pour venir à bout des plus de 6 000 mètres de dénivelé. Un exploit réalisé malgré le froid, l’humidité et la neige qui l’attendaient à partir de 1 200 mètres d’altitude.

L’occasion d’établir un nouveau FKT

Depuis les années 2000, l’organisation américaine Fastest Known Time répertorie les meilleurs temps des segments de course remarquables à travers le monde. Depuis les annulations de courses en série en raison de la crise sanitaire, les FKT ont connu un réel essor au sein de la communauté mondiale du trail. Cet été, les FKT du GR5 entre Chamonix et Briançon, du GR 10 dans les Pyrénées, des 14 sommets des Bauges ou de la traversée des Vosges ont d’ailleurs été repoussés par des traileurs français. Mais il n’existait pas encore de FKT pour le Tour des Lacs d’Auvergne. Grâce à Yann Gobert, le défi est lancé. Il faudra faire mieux que lui pour espérer s’enorgueillir de ce FKT.

“Depuis la pandémie, le concept [du FKT] à pris un nouvel essor. L’esprit des FKT repose beaucoup sur la notion d’aventure et implique généralement de longs itinéraires. Pour exemple, Scott Jurek avait parcouru l’Appalachian Trail en 46 jours 8 heures et 7 minutes. Je suis assez fier d’avoir pu créer le parcours du GR30 et d’avoir posé un temps référence. Mais maintenant c’est à vous de jouer et de faire mieux, ou de créer votre propre parcours dans votre région. Profitons de cette période inédite pour inventer de nouvelles façons de vivre nos passions.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par yann gobert (@yanngobert)

Des conditions hivernales

Parti du Mont Doré le 26 septembre 2020 à 6 heures du matin, c’est de nuit et dans un froid humide automnal que s’est élancé le coureur. Très vite la neige est au rendez-vous, amenant avec elle son lot de difficultés supplémentaires. Arrivé au sommet du Puy de Sancy après 2 heures et 12 minutes de course, Yann est accueilli par le vent et la neige. L’horizon est bouché. Pas le temps d’admirer le paysage de toutes façons. Le coureur descend vers son premier ravitaillement à Picherande au 29ème kilomètre.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par yann gobert (@yanngobert)

Mais rapidement, ses pieds le font souffrir et au 74ème kilomètre, le troisième ravitaillement d’Égliseneuve est l’occasion d’une pause. Après une nuit de course difficile, le corps souffre et le moral est en berne. Pourtant Yann ne cédera pas. Les traits tirés et le visage émacié il garde sa lucidité. “J’y vais à quatre pattes si il faut”… Et c’est à nouveau la pluie et la neige qui l’accompagneront pour les dernières kilomètres. Après 37 heures et 49 minutes, Yann achève finalement sa boucle de 204 kilomètres et 6 700 mètres de dénivelé positif, à la rencontre des lacs d’Auvergne…

Tout au long de son effort, l’athlète a été soutenu par ses proches. Ils ont assuré les ravitaillements ou ont couru quelques kilomètres avec lui. Une preuve que l’ultra est bel et bien un sport d’équipe.

“L’ultra-trail a été et sera toujours une quête de découverte de territoires, de soi et des autres…”

Découvrez de l’intérieur la course de Yann Gobert récemment diffusée en vidéo

La rédaction