carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Trek: 18 months at 4 km / h along the diagonal of the void

Mathieu Mouillet is a photographer, travel guide writer and specialist in e-tourism and digital communication. He embarked on a road trip on foot, by bike, on snowshoes and in a hot air balloon, through the most secret places in France. A crossing of the diagonal of the void "to discover differently the most beautiful country in the world".

LMat's first long-haul trip was quite simply A world tour by bike ! 25 kilometers and 000 months of travel to discover world music. Another challenge was then offered to him with his "exotic trip to France" along the diagonal of the void. From the Ardennes to the Basque Country, Mat wanted to focus on meetings and slow travel, off the beaten track.

“An optimistic, energetic 4 km / h road trip, where marginal areas are revealed in a new light. "

Mat's travels are part of what is now called slow-tourism. Mathieu also advocates the rediscovery of the long term, the central place of meetings and the discovery of the enchanting landscapes offered by our country. From this gentle roaming in backpacker mode, were finally born One blog, a book and a series of videos.

"Discover France as an exotic country"

Through the account of his journey, Mat confirms that the adventure can be beautiful very close to home! The explorer wanted to live his adventure in the same way he would have done on the other side of the world. Curious about everything, aware of the fragility of nature, but also of the wealth of encounters which are “the spice of travel”, this follower of slow tourism has been able to capture the best that the small, depopulated corners of France have to offer.

Shepherd in the Basque Country
Shepherd in the Basque Country

The richness of encounters on the diagonal of the void

Throughout his journey, he met those who live in these less inhabited departments. There he discovered entrepreneurs, farmers, politicians and all kinds of sometimes atypical personalities. For them, life can only take place here. For some, this territory that saw them be born. Others chose him after another life.

"I thus discovered a countryside where life is still good, and I met those who have a special relationship with their territory".

An exceptional natural heritage

In addition to the human discoveries, Mat really took full eyes in this preserved France, almost raw, where industrialization and urbanization took up so little space. A real immersion in nature, through forests, plains, mountains and along waterways.

“On the fringes of metropolises, these rural areas include half of the regional natural parks of France and a few mountain ranges: Massif Central, Morvan, Pyrenees… Large spaces and almost deserts of people who are particularly suitable for green tourism. "

Mist on the Morvan
Mist on the Morvan

A story that makes you want to follow in Mat's footsteps for an hour, a day, a week or who knows ... Several months.

Trek : 18 mois à 4 km/h le long de la diagonale du vide

Mathieu Mouillet est photographe, rédacteur de guides de voyage et spécialiste de l’e-tourisme et de la communication digitale. Il a entrepris un road-trip à pied, à vélo, en raquettes et à montgolfière, à travers les endroits les plus secrets de France. Une traversée de la diagonale du vide “pour découvrir autrement le plus beau pays du monde”.

Le premier voyage au long cours de Mat a tout simplement été un tour du monde à vélo ! 25 000 kilomètres et 18 mois de voyage pour découvrir les musiques du monde. Un autre défi s’est ensuite offert à lui avec son “voyage exotique en France” le long de la diagonale du vide. Des Ardennes au Pays Basque, Mat a souhaité privilégier les rencontres et le voyage lent, en dehors des sentiers battus.

“Un road-trip à 4 km/h, optimiste, énergique, où les territoires à la marge se révèlent sous un jour nouveau.”

Les voyages de Mat s’inscrivent dans ce que l’on appelle désormais le slow-tourisme. Mathieu prône d’ailleurs la redécouverte du temps long, la place centrale des rencontres et la découverte des paysages enchanteurs qu’offrent notre pays. De cette itinérance douce en mode backpacker, sont finalement nés un blog, un ouvrage et une série de vidéos.

“Découvrir la France comme un pays exotique”

Au travers du récit de son périple, Mat confirme que l’aventure peut être belle tout près de chez soi ! L’explorateur a souhaité vivre son aventure de la même manière qu’il l’aurait fait à l’autre bout du monde. Curieux de tout, conscient de la fragilité de la nature, mais aussi de la richesse des rencontres qui sont “le sel du voyage”, cet adepte de slow tourisme a su capter ce que les petits coins de France dépeuplés ont de mieux à offrir.

Berger au Pays Basque

Berger au Pays Basque

La richesse des rencontres

Tout au long de son voyage, il a rencontré ceux qui vivent dans ces départements parmi les moins habités. Il y a découvert des entrepreneurs, des agriculteurs, des politiques et toutes sortes de personnalités parfois atypiques, pour qui la vie ne peut se dérouler qu’ici, sur ce territoire qui les a vus naître, ou qu’ils ont choisi après une autre vie.

“J’ai découvert une campagne où il fait encore bon vivre, et j’ai rencontré ceux qui entretiennent une relation particulière avec leur territoire”.

Un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel

Outre les découvertes humaines, Mat en a réellement pris plein les yeux dans cette France préservée, presque brute, où l’industrialisation et l’urbanisation ont pris si peu de place. Une véritable immersion en pleine nature, à travers les forêts, les plaines, les montagnes et le long des cours d’eau.

“En marge des métropoles, ces territoires ruraux comptent la moitié des parcs naturels régionaux de France et quelques massifs montagneux : Massif Central, Morvan, Pyrénées… De grands espaces et des quasi-déserts d’hommes qui se prêtent particulièrement au tourisme vert.”

Brume sur le Morvan

Brume sur le Morvan

Un récit qui donne envie de marcher dans les pas de Mat pour une heure, un jour, une semaine ou qui sait… Plusieurs mois.

La rédaction