carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Experience: Focus on the most unusual habitats

Between dreams of decline and the need for nature, unusual habitats have become a strong holiday trend.

QWho has never dreamed of building a tree house to take refuge there from time to time? Who has never hoped to find a little rest in the heart of nature and out of sight. Most of the time, Robinson's dream remains an idea or at best a vague project. Difficult to pass the course and embark on the adventure of unusual habitats full time. On the other hand, more and more nature lovers let themselves be tempted by the experience, during the holidays.

Who says unusual, says surprising, baroque, confusing, eccentric or extraordinary ... Choosing unusual accommodation for your holidays means accepting to lose your bearings a little in order to better appreciate the present moment. In the high mountains, in a tree, on the farm, on an island, along the water, in a trailer, a barn, a castle or a converted bus. Everything is possible. The only limit is the imagination of the hosts, and they happen to compete in creativity.

Unusual habitats: Teepee in the middle of nature

Confidential beginnings

It is estimated that unusual housing developed in the early 2000s, first of all with the opening to the public of castles and mansions. Then the offer gradually grew. The tables and guest rooms have been very successful. The proximity to the hosts, their wise advice and the carefully prepared local dishes stand out from the more impersonal aspect of hotels. It is then the farms that open to the public. We are thus witnessing the beginnings of a trend that will grow over the next two decades.

Unusual habitats: Castle and unusual habitat

Unusual habitats: Proximity to nature

From the 2010s, alternative forms of tourism that are close to nature, traditions and inhabitants arouse the interest of the general public. Many proposals develop around crafts, farm activities, fishing, or the discovery of regional cultures.

Reading in the trees

A variety of offers

Now in France, the diversity of landscapes and cultures can be discovered in a bubble, in a teepee, in a cabin, on board a barge, at the top of a lighthouse or even in a trailer. Green, ecological and closer to human tourism is within reach. Families are not mistaken. These immersions in the heart of nature are an ideal time for a family digital detox, discovery days, evenings by the fireside punctuated by card games and bursts of laughter.

Tree house

So this summer, take the plunge! Switch to the unusual habitat. There is certainly an offer available where you plan to reside. Will you be more of a yurt, tiny-house, teepee, trailer, floating house, treehouse, medieval castle or barge? Everything is possible. Go from dream to reality!

Expérience : Zoom sur les habitats les plus insolites

Entre rêve de décroissance et besoin de nature, les habitats insolites sont devenus une tendance forte des vacances.

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de construire une cabane dans les arbres pour s’y réfugier de temps à autre ? Qui n’a jamais espéré trouver un peu de repos au coeur de la nature et à l’abri des regards. Ce rêve de Robinson demeure le plus souvent à l’état d’idée ou au mieux, de vague projet. Difficile de passer le cap et de se lancer dans l’aventure des habitats insolites à plein temps. En revanche, de plus en plus d’amoureux de la nature se laissent tenter par l’expérience, le temps des vacances.

Qui dit insolite, dit surprenant, baroque, déroutant, excentrique ou extraordinaire… Choisir l’habitat insolite pour ses vacances, c’est accepter de perdre un peu ses repères pour mieux apprécier le moment présent. En haute-montagne, dans un arbre, à la ferme, sur une île, au fil de l’eau, dans une roulotte, une grange, un château ou un bus aménagé. Tout est possible. La seule limite est l’imagination des hôtes, et il se trouve qu’ils rivalisent de créativité.

Habitats insolites : Teepee en pleine nature

Des débuts confidentiels

On estime que l’habitat insolite s’est développé au début des années 2000, tout d’abord avec l’ouverture au public des châteaux et hôtels particuliers. Puis l’offre a grandi peu à peu. Les tables et chambres d’hôtes ont eu beaucoup de succès. La proximité avec les hôtes, leurs conseils avisés et les plats de terroir confectionnés avec soin, se démarquent alors de l’aspect plus impersonnel des hôtels. Ce sont ensuite les fermes qui s’ouvrent au public. On assiste ainsi aux prémices d’une tendance qui grandira sur les deux décennies suivantes.

Habitats insolites : Château et habitat insolite

Habitats insolites : Une proximité avec la nature

À partir des années 2010, les formes de tourisme alternatives à la fois proches de la nature, des traditions et des habitants suscitent l’intérêt du grand public. De nombreuses propositions se développent autour de l’artisanat, des activités à la ferme, de la pêche, ou de la découverte de cultures régionales.

Lecture dans les arbres

Une diversité d’offres

Désormais en France, la diversité de paysages et de cultures se découvrent dans une bulle, en teepee, dans une cabane, à bord d’une péniche, au sommet d’un phare ou encore dans une roulotte. Un tourisme vert, écologique et plus proche de l’humain est à portée de mains. Les familles ne s’y trompent pas. Ces immersions en pleine nature sont un moment idéal pour une digital detox familiale, des journées découverte, des soirées au coin du feu rythmées par les parties de cartes et les éclats de rire.

Cabane dans les arbres

Alors cet été, faites le pas ! Passez à l’habitat insolite. Il y a certainement une offre disponible là où vous envisagez de résider. Serez-vous plus yourte, tiny-house, teepee, roulotte, maison flottante, cabane dans les arbres, château médiéval ou péniche ? Tout est possible. Passez du rêve à la réalité !

La rédaction