carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Zero Island, the crazy visionary project for a carbon neutral future

Sweden has long been a pioneer in the fight against global warming. By setting the objective of a neutral carbon footprint by 2045, the government has gone even further. Among the many Swedish innovations carried out, one of them was very noticed. Lidö Island, dubbed Zero Island, became carbon neutral in just one year.

DBy 2045, the balance between storage and Swedish greenhouse gas emissions will have to be zero. A real challenge for this kingdom, yet at the forefront of environmental preservation and the fight against global warming. The Neste company, specializing in renewable energies, is involved in a vast project called Journey to Zero, Voyage vers Zéro. Among the initiatives of this project is Zero Island. The objective is to experiment with a carbon neutral project on the scale of a tourist island. Neste Executive Vice President Carl Nyberg describes the climate emergency and the ambition of the project.

“Sweden's climate plans are ambitious, but time is running out. In the fight against climate change, we need all possible means. This includes new partnerships and the willingness to work towards a common vision of reducing emissions and developing sustainability. Project Zero Island proves that if we work together as institutions, businesses and individuals, we can change the world much faster than we think. "

Windmill on Zero Island in Sweden

Traditional windmill on Lidö island

The Neste company

In 2018, Neste was ranked “World's most sustainable energy company” in the Global 100 index. Neste is indeed the world's largest producer of renewable diesel, refined from waste and residues. The company also offers renewable solutions for the aviation and plastics industries. For its leaders, sustainability and responsibility are the key to everything.

“It's the only planet we have, so we're all responsible for keeping it in shape. "

The Zero Island project

Lidö, located in the northern archipelago of Stockholm, was the island chosen for the Zero Island project. Declared a natural conservation site, this island is a popular tourist spot for tens of thousands of vacationers during the summer season. With its traditional wooden houses, unspoiled nature and peaceful living atmosphere, Lidö has become the idyllic theater of a life-size experiment.

Zero island

Arrival on Lidö Island

The mesures that took place

Nothing was left to chance to achieve the goal. Fuels are now produced through renewable alternatives. The inhabitants favor sustainable energy sources. They also optimize the management of water, waste and recycling. Many partners joined the project to find lasting solutions. And the project is an undeniable success. The island's emissions have reduced by 78%. The island's annual carbon dioxide emissions have increased from 180 to 40 tonnes, thanks to the combination of the different solutions and the transition to green electricity. The emissions reduction program has enabled the offsets.

An island with educational virtues

After having been an experimental site, the island of Lidö is now an inspiration and a place of transmission. The island welcomes vacationers who learn to live differently and reduce their carbon footprint. The Nolla cabin is also part of this approach. This small, autonomous and carbon-neutral home, presents only the essential equipment, while maintaining comfort and design. 18 euros are enough to acquire this compact, removable and energy-independent home.

“We want to show that small changes in everyday life can make a big difference in impact on the climate. "
Olle Telje and Hugo Olofsson, entrepreneurs of Lidö inn

Nolla interior view

Interior view of the Nolla autonomous house

On Zero Island, nothing has been overlooked. Food, energy, accommodation, waste, transport, carbon offsetting… 18 concrete solutions have been implemented in an efficient and sustainable manner to transform an entire island. This initiative has become a real source of inspiration for all those who would like to contribute to change.

Image credit: Neste.com

Zero Island, le projet fou de visionnaires pour un avenir neutre en carbone

Dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique, la Suède fait depuis longtemps figure de pionnier. En inscrivant l’objectif d’un bilan carbone neutre à l’horizon 2045, le gouvernement est allé encore plus loin. Parmi les nombreuses innovations suédoises réalisées, l’une d’elles a été très remarquée. L’île de Lidö, surnommée Zero Island, est devenue neutre en carbone en seulement une année.

Dès 2045, le bilan entre le stockage et les émissions de gaz à effet de serre suédois devra être nul. Un réel défi pour ce royaume, pourtant à la pointe de la préservation de l’environnement et de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique. L’entreprise Neste, spécialisée dans les énergies renouvelables, s’est engagée dans un vaste projet intitulé Journey to Zero, Voyage vers Zéro. Parmi les initiatives de ce projet figure Zero Island. L’objectif est d’expérimenter un projet neutre en carbone à l’échelle d’une île touristique. Le vice-président exécutif de Neste, Carl Nyberg, décrit l’urgence climatique et l’ambition du projet.

“Les plans climatiques de la Suède sont ambitieux, mais le temps presse. Dans la lutte contre le changement climatique, nous avons besoin de tous les moyens possibles. Cela inclut de nouveaux partenariats et la volonté de travailler vers une vision commune de la réduction des émissions et du développement de la durabilité. Le projet Zero Island prouve que si nous travaillons ensemble en tant qu’institutions, entreprises et individus, nous pouvons changer le monde beaucoup plus rapidement que nous ne le pensons.”

Moulin sur Zero Island en Suède

Moulin traditionnel sur l’île de Lidö

L’entreprise Neste

En 2018, Neste a été classée “Entreprise d’énergie la plus durable au monde” dans l’indice Global 100. Neste est en effet le plus grand producteur mondial de diesel renouvelable, raffiné à partir de déchets et de résidus. La société propose également des solutions renouvelables pour les industries de l’aviation et du plastique. Pour ses dirigeants, la durabilité et la responsabilité sont la clé de tout.

“C’est la seule planète que nous ayons, nous sommes donc tous responsables de la maintenir en forme.”

Le projet Zero Island

Lidö, située dans l’archipel nord de Stockholm, a été l’île choisie pour le projet Zero Island. Déclarée site de conservation naturelle, cette île est un site touristique populaire pour des dizaines de milliers de vacanciers pendant la saison estivale. Avec ses maisons traditionnelles en bois, sa nature préservée et son atmosphère de vie paisible, Lidö est devenue le théâtre idyllique d’une expérimentation grandeur nature.

Zero Island

L’arrivée sur l’île de Lidö

Les moyens mis en oeuvre

Rien n’a été laissé au hasard pour tenir l’objectif. Les carburants sont désormais produits au travers d’alternatives renouvelables. Les habitants privilégient les sources d’énergies durables. Ils optimisent également la gestion de l’eau, des déchets et le recyclage. De nombreux partenaires se sont associés au projet pour trouver des solutions pérennes. Et le projet est un succès indéniable. Les émissions de l’île ont réduit de 78%. Les émissions annuelles de dioxyde de carbone de l’île sont passées de de 180 à 40 tonnes, grâce à la combinaison des différentes solutions et à la transition à l’électricité verte. Le programme de réduction des émissions a quant-à-lui permis les compensations.

Une île aux vertus pédagogiques

Après avoir été un site expérimental, l’île de Lidö est désormais une inspiration et un lieu de transmission. L’île accueille les vacanciers qui apprennent à vivre autrement et à diminuer leur empreinte carbone. La cabine Nolla s’inscrit également dans cette démarche. Cette petite demeure autonome et neutre en carbone, ne présente que les équipements de première nécessité, tout en conservant confort et design. 18 000 euros suffisent pour acquérir cette habitation compacte, démontable et autonome en énergie.

“Nous voulons montrer que de petits changements dans la vie quotidienne peuvent faire une grande différence d’impact sur le climat.”
Olle Telje et Hugo Olofsson, entrepreneurs de Lidö inn

Nolla vue intérieure

Vue intérieure de la maison autonome Nolla

Sur Zero Island, rien n’a été négligé. Alimentation, énergie, hébergement, gaspillage, transport, compensation carbone… 18 solutions concrètes ont été mises en oeuvre de manière efficace et durable pour transformer toute une île. Cette initiative est devenue une réelle source d’inspiration pour tous ceux qui aimeraient contribuer au changement.

La rédaction

Crédit images : Neste.com