carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Xavier Thévenard does better than Kilian Jornet on the legendary GR 20

No record for Xavier Thévenard on the GR 20, but a more than honorable place. Indeed, he achieved the third best performance in the history of the GR 20 by completing this ultra-trail of 180 kilometers and 14 vertical meters, in 000 hours and 32 minutes.

En starting from Calenzana on the GR 20 Monday July 6 at 4 a.m., Xavier Thévenard was simply aiming for the record. Upon arrival in Conca after 32:32, this exceptional ultra-trail runner finally had to settle for third time, behind Francois D'haene et Guillaume Peretti, but in front of the star of the discipline, Kilian Jornet who traveled the GR in 2009, in 32h54. It must be said that D'haene set the bar very high in 2016 with his 31:06, thus shattering by almost an hour the previous record of Corsican Peretti, established in 2014.

A formidable ultra-trail

Halfway on the GR 20, everyone believes in a new record. Xavier Thévenard has a comfortable lead over the current record. But the overwhelming heat of the first day on the Corsican massif has left its mark on the form of the Jura who is gradually losing his lead. It was finally in the night race that things were played out. It must be said that this is when the record holder François D'haene accelerated in 2016. At 20 kilometers from the finish, Xavier was finally 30 minutes behind. Exhaustion, multiple blisters… The last fifteen kilometers will be “a way of the cross” for the ultra-traileur. Exhausted and moved, he confided warmly to the the team newspaper.

“In a project like this, performance is the icing on the cake. This is not what I will remember. What will remain is the passion that I shared with my whole team and all these people. This is really what will remain. "

See this post on Instagram

A post shared by Xavier Thevenard (@xavierthevenard) le

An extraordinary course

At 32 Xavier Thévenard is one of the best ultra long distance runners in the world. Triple winner of Ultra Trail du Mont-Blanc in 2013, 2015 and 2018. He is the only runner to have achieved the UTMB grand slam by winning the 4 individual races: the UTMB three times, CCC in 2010, TDS in 2014 and OCC in 2016. Mont- White, Transju-Trail, Hardrock 100, Mount Fuji, Aiguilles Rouges, Templars… The ultra-trail record of the former cross-country skier and biathlete is impressive. However, he keeps his head on his shoulders. Lover of the great outdoors, he lives in the heart of nature and advocates a simple life. He recently made the choice to limit his carbon footprint. by giving up shopping requiring an airplane flight.

“I want to be in agreement with myself and I wonder if it is very reasonable, even today, to take a long-haul flight to go running […] The important thing, today is to be able to save life on earth. […] We are in the process of slaughtering 85% of the living species that exist ”

Discover in video the few hours which preceded Xavier's feat.

See this post on Instagram

A post shared by Xavier Thevenard (@xavierthevenard) le

Update July 12: Don't miss the video of Xavier's feat, shared on his Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=3246150882090079&id=592961957408998

Read also on the same subject:
Finally set out to conquer the mythical GR 20
Portrait: Kilian Jornet, the surprising skyrunner with unparalleled performance
Do you know the Trail® Stations?

Xavier Thévenard fait mieux que Kilian Jornet sur le mythique GR 20

Pas de record pour Xavier Thévenard sur le GR 20, mais une place plus qu’honorable. Il réalise en effet la troisième meilleure performance de l’histoire du GR 20 en terminant cet ultra-trail de 180 kilomètres et 14 000 mètres de dénivelé, en 32 heures et 32 minutes.

En s’élançant depuis Calenzana sur le GR 20 lundi 6 juillet à 4 heures du matin, Xavier Thévenard visait tout simplement le record. À l’arrivée à Conca après 32h32, cet ultra-traileur d’exception a finalement dû se contenter du troisième temps, derrière François D’haene et Guillaume Peretti, mais devant la star de la discipline, Kilian Jornet qui parcourut le GR en 2009, en 32h54. Il faut dire que D’haene a placé la barre très haut en 2016 avec ses 31h06, pulvérisant ainsi de près d’une heure le précédent record du corse Peretti, établi en 2014.

Un ultra-trail redoutable

À mi-parcours sur le GR 20, tout le monde croit à un nouveau record. Xavier Thévenard dispose d’une avance confortable sur le record en place. Mais la chaleur écrasante de la première journée sur le massif corse a laissé des traces sur la forme du jurassien qui perd peu à peu son avance. C’est finalement dans la course de nuit que les choses se sont jouées. Il faut dire que c’est à ce moment-là que le détenteur du record François D’haene avait accéléré en 2016. À 20 kilomètres de l’arrivée, Xavier accuse finalement un retard de 30 minutes. Épuisement, ampoules multiples… Les quinze derniers kilomètres seront “un chemin de croix” pour l’ultra-traileur. Éreinté et ému, il s’est confié à chaud au journal l’Équipe.

“Dans un projet comme celui-là, la performance, c’est la cerise sur le gâteau. Ce n’est pas ce que je retiendrai. Ce qui restera, c’est la passion que j’ai partagée avec toute mon équipe et tous ces gens. C’est vraiment ça qui restera.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Xavier Thevenard (@xavierthevenard) le

Un parcours hors-norme

À 32 ans Xavier Thévenard est l’un des meilleurs coureurs d’ultrafond du monde. Triple vainqueur de l’Ultra Trail du Mont-Blanc en 2013, 2015 et 2018. Il est le seul coureur à avoir réalisé le grand chelem de l’UTMB en remportant les 4 courses individuelles : l’UTMB à trois reprises, CCC en 2010, TDS en 2014 et OCC en 2016. Mont-Blanc, Transju-Trail, Hardrock 100, Mont Fuji, Aiguilles rouges, Templiers… Le palmarès ultra-trail de l’ancien skieur de fond et biathlète est impressionnant. Il garde pour autant la tête sur les épaules. Amoureux des grands espaces, il vit en pleine nature et prône une vie simple. Il a d’ailleurs récemment fait le choix de limiter son empreinte carbone en renonçant aux courses nécessitant un vol en avion.

“J’ai envie d’être en accord avec moi-même et je me demande si c’est très raisonnable, encore aujourd’hui, de prendre un vol long-courrier pour aller courir […] L’important, aujourd’hui, c’est de pouvoir sauver la vie sur terre. […] On est en train de massacrer 85% des espèces vivantes qui existent”

Découvrez en vidéo les quelques heures qui ont précédé l’exploit de Xavier.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Xavier Thevenard (@xavierthevenard) le

Mise à jour le 12 juillet : Ne manquez pas la vidéo de l’exploit de Xavier, partagée sur sa page Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=3246150882090079&id=592961957408998

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Partez enfin à la conquête du mythique GR 20
Portrait : Kilian Jornet, le surprenant skyrunner aux performances inégalées
Connaissez-vous les Stations de Trail® ?