carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Mountain biking: At 69, he completed the 2 kilometers of the French Divide

Guy Brulon embarked on an XXL raid. At 69, he has just completed the French Divide, a 2-kilometer journey through France.

IIt only took him 14 days, 3 hours and 36 minutes to reach the Spanish border from the Belgian border, as part of the French Divide 2020. A real feat for Guitou, as his friends from the VTTranzault club call him. The 2270-year-old won his bet by covering 32 kilometers and 000 meters of elevation gain in less than 15 days. The French Divide is an ultra bikepacking adventure, “Without assistance on the most beautiful gravel and mountain bike trails in France. Its route largely follows the road to Saint-Jacques de Compostelle ”. 18% of road, 82% of path and 100% of surpassing oneself! Some consider it the most difficult race in France

“A sort of French Great Divide. Connect the Franco-Belgian border to the Franco-Spanish border. A road trip on the borderline between cyclo-cross and mountain biking using the GR of Saint-Jacques de Compostelle and of course in total autonomy. "

Feedback on an extraordinary raid

Guy, the veteran of the 5th edition of French Divide, made a remarkable start at Bray-Dunes on July 6 at 6 a.m. He had already completed 30 kilometers by the end of the first day. He will continue alone. The two English competitors who took the start on the same day as him will not catch up with him. The route first led it to the Grand-Est along the Belgian and Luxembourg border. He then joined Troyes. The descent to the south continued through the Massif Central towards the Pyrenees. Finally, the arrival was made in Mendionde. The French Divide is a fight against time, sleep and fatigue. No assistance is tolerated, including for the nights which sometimes take place under the starry sky. Asked by journalists from the Nouvelle République, Guitou evokes his nights of rest.

“For accommodation, I try to go to the hotel a few times, in order to have a good rest, otherwise the nights are spent under the stars and even in the… toilets. "

A "personal and mental" challenge

The incredible cyclist soon in his seventies caused a sensation on the course. " This is a real personal and mental challenge because in the first four editions, only half of the participants were able to reach the Basque Country ”. And this is not his first feat, since in 2018, he had already achieved the border tour of France by bike. 7 kilometers traveled with his friend Pierrick Jampy, but also their mascot Dino.

Genesis of the French Divide challenge

In recent years, many ultra long distance mountain bike races have flourished all over Europe. Naturaid in Sardinia, Italy Divide, Alpi Del Mare Trail, Bear Bones in Wales, CAT 700 in Spain and Highland Trail in Scotland. But no French initiative had been taken until Samuel and Lionel organizes a “little bike trip with friends”. They simply wanted "to experience a common challenge each at their own level", a crossing of France by road ... Immediate success for this challenge inspired by its American cousin, the Great Divide which crosses part of Canada and the United States from Calgary to the Mexican border ...

This summer, a hundred or so adventurers will set off on the roads of France to achieve the same feat of Guitou. You might meet them ...

VTT : À 69 ans, il achève les 2 270 kilomètres du French Divide

C’est dans un raid XXL que s’est lancé Guy Brulon. À 69 ans, il vient d’achever le French Divide, un périple de 2 270 kilomètres à travers la France.

Il ne lui aura fallu que 14 jours, 3 heures et 36 minutes pour rejoindre la frontière espagnole au départ de la frontière belge, dans le cadre du French Divide 2020. Un véritable exploit pour Guitou, comme le surnomme ses amis du club VTTranzault. Le sexagénaire a remporté son pari en parcourant 2270 kilomètres et 32 000 mètres de dénivelé positif en moins de 15 jours. Le French Divide, c’est une aventure en ultra bikepacking, “sans assistance sur les plus beaux chemins de gravel et VTT de France. Son tracé suit en grande partie la route de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle”. 18% de route, 82% de chemin et 100% de dépassement de soi ! Certains estiment qu’il s’agit de la course la plus difficile de France

“Une sorte de Great Divide à la française. Relier la frontière franco-belge à la frontière franco-espagnole. Un road-trip à la limite entre le cyclo-cross et le VTT en utilisant les GR de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle et bien sûr en autonomie totale.”

Retour sur un raid hors-norme

Guy, le vétéran de la 5ème édition du French Divide, a fait un départ remarqué à Bray-Dunes, le 6 juillet à 6h30 du matin. Il avait déjà réalisé 200 kilomètres à la fin de la première journée. Il continuera en solitaire. Les deux concurrents anglais ayant pris le départ le même jour que lui ne le rattraperont pas. Le tracé l’a d’abord conduit vers le Grand-Est en longeant la frontière belge et luxembourgeoise. Il a ensuite rejoint Troyes. La descente vers le Sud s’est poursuivie en traversant le Massif Central en direction des Pyrénées. Pour finir, l’arrivée s’est faite à Mendionde. Le French Divide c’est un combat contre le temps, le sommeil et la fatigue. Aucune assistance n’est tolérée, y compris pour les nuits qui se déroulent parfois sous la voûte étoilée. Interrogé par les journalistes de la Nouvelle République, Guitou évoque ses nuits de repos.

“Pour l’hébergement, j’essaie d’aller quelques fois à l’hôtel, histoire de bien me reposer, sinon les nuits se passent à la belle étoile et même dans les… toilettes.”

Un défi “personnel et mental”

L’incroyable cycliste bientôt septuagénaire a fait sensation sur le parcours. “C’est un vrai défi personnel et mental car sur les quatre premières éditions, seulement la moitié des participants ont pu rejoindre le Pays Basque”. Et il n’en est pas à son premier exploit, puisqu’en 2018, il avait déjà réalisé le tour de France des frontières à vélo. 7 000 kilomètres parcourus avec son ami Pierrick Jampy, mais aussi leur mascotte Dino..

Genèse du défi

Depuis quelques années de nombreuses courses VTT ultra longue distance ont fleuri un peu partout en Europe. Naturaid en Sardaigne, Italy Divide, Alpi Del Mare Trail, Bear Bones au Pays de Galles, CAT 700 en Espagne ou encore Highland Trail en Écosse. Mais aucune initiative française n’avait été engagée jusqu’à ce que Samuel et Lionel organise un “petit trip vélo entre amis”. Ils souhaitaient simplement “vivre un défi commun chacun à leur niveau”, une traversée de la France par les chemins… Succès immédiat pour ce challenge inspiré de son cousin américain, le Great Divide qui traverse une partie du Canada et des États-Unis de Calgary à la frontière mexicaine…

Cet été, une petite centaine d’aventuriers s’élanceront sur les chemins de France pour réaliser le même exploit de Guitou. Vous les croiserez peut-être…

La rédaction