carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

You may be an ecotourist who ignores himself ...

Do you like a relaxing vacation? Are you interested in discovering wild lands and preserved cultures? Do you enjoy observing species in their natural environment? And you are doing everything to limit your impact on biodiversity? So you are certainly an ecotourist ...

IThirty years ago, the Mexican architect Hector Ceballos-Lascuráin defined what an ecotourist is. Ecotourism would be characterized by “environmentally friendly trips and visits to relatively unspoiled natural areas”. It also allows "to appreciate nature and cultures". It also promotes the conservation of the site. Ecotourism also has “a beneficial socioeconomic impact for the local populations”.

Sometimes called ecotourism, green tourism. It is indeed centered on the discovery and preservation of biodiversity, as well as on urban ecology. Formerly relatively marginal, the eco-tourism approach is now a trend. It corresponds to the expectations of a public increasingly aware of environmental issues. Preserving nature, limiting your ecological footprint ... Or even living precious and authentic moments, are experiences sought after by many holidaymakers. Dozens of offers are now developing. Unlike mass tourism, ecotourism favors the quality of meetings, discoveries and visits.

Conservation of biodiversity

Scientists believe that we are living the “sixth mass extinction”. The conservation of plant and animal species has become particularly practical for holidaymakers. Symbolic species such as the polar bear, the panda or the whale have paved the way for the preservation of other endangered plant and animal species. In each national or regional park, volunteers inform the populations and visitors of the fragility of local ecosystems. Families are particularly involved. They contribute to efforts to preserve the most fragile environments.

Observation of flora and fauna

Ecotourism and respect for cultural diversity

The protection of nature is not the only important axis of ecotourism. Ecotourists adopt a responsible approach that respects ancient and current cultures. The historical heritage, cultural diversity, or even the discovery of the other are part of the ecotourism approach. A real invitation to discovery!

Sustainable development

Another important element is the search for sustainable development. The tourist activity must economically benefit the local populations. However, it should not lead to the degradation of the site. It is a search for balance. An important part of the income must also be devoted to the management, protection, conservation and surveillance of the territory.

Bouzigues

Eco-accommodation

In youth hostels or in ecocampings certified by an eco-label, the possibilities are multiplying. To benefit from such a label, the structures undertake to preserve the flora and fauna. They favor the local economy. Finally, they encourage visitors to preserve the environment, and to integrate into its natural environment.

Vous êtes peut-être un écotouriste qui s’ignore…

Vous aimez les vacances reposantes ? La découverte des territoires sauvages et des cultures préservées vous intéresse ? Vous prenez plaisir à observer les espèces dans leur milieu naturel ? Et vous faites tout pour limiter votre impact sur la biodiversité ? Alors vous êtes très certainement un écotouriste…

Il y a une trentaine d’année, l’architecte mexicain Hector Ceballos-Lascuráin a défini ce qu’était un écotouriste. L’écotourisme se caractériserait par “les voyages et visites respectueux de l’environnement dans des zones naturelles relativement préservées”. Il permet “d’apprécier la nature et les cultures”. Il favorise également la conservation du site. L’écotourisme a par ailleurs “un impact socioéconomique bénéfique pour les populations locales”.

On appelle parfois l’écotourisme, le tourisme vert. Il est en effet centré sur la découverte et la préservation de la biodiversité, ainsi que sur l’écologie urbaine. Autrefois relativement marginale, la démarche éco-touristique est désormais une tendance. Elle correspond aux attentes d’un public de plus en plus sensibilisé aux problématiques environnementales. Préserver la nature, limiter son empreinte écologique… Ou encore vivre des instants précieux et authentiques, sont des expériences recherchées par nombre de vacanciers. Des dizaines d’offres se développent désormais. Contrairement au tourisme de masse, l’écotourisme privilégie la qualité des rencontres, des découvertes et des visites.

La conservation de la biodiversité

Les scientifiques estiment que nous vivons la “sixième extinction de masse”. La conservation des espèces végétales et animales est devenue particulièrement concrète pour les vacanciers. Les espèces symboliques telles que l’ours polaire, le panda ou la baleine ont ouvert la voie à la préservation d’autres espèces végétales et animales menacées. Dans chaque parc national ou régional, des volontaires informent les populations et les visiteurs de la fragilité des écosystèmes locaux. Les familles sont particulièrement impliquées. Elles contribuent aux efforts de préservation des milieux les plus fragiles.

Observation de la faune et de la flore

Le respect de la diversité culturelle

La protection de la nature n’est pas le seul axe important de l’écotourisme. Les écotouristes adoptent une approche responsable et respectueuse des cultures anciennes et actuelles. Le patrimoine historique, la diversité culturelle, ou encore la découverte de l’autre font partie de la démarche écotouristique. Une véritable invitation à la découverte !

Le développement durable

Un autre élément important est la recherche du développement durable. L’activité touristique doit bénéficier économiquement aux populations locales. Mais elle ne doit pas pour autant conduire à la dégradation du site. Il s’agit d’une recherche d’équilibre. Une part importante du revenu doit par ailleurs être consacrée à la gestion, la protection, la conservation et la surveillance du territoire.

Bouzigues

Les éco-hébergements

En auberges de jeunesse ou en écocampings certifiés par un écolabel, les possibilités se multiplient. Pour bénéficier d’un tel label, les structures s’engagent à préserver la faune et la flore. Elles privilégient l’économie locale. Pour finir, elles incitent les visiteurs à préserver l’environnement, et à s’intégrer dans son milieu naturel.

La rédaction