carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Video: Nouria Newman goes down the sublime and formidable Verdon canyon in a kayak

We know the Verdon for its gorges with green and calm waters downstream from Lake Sainte-Croix, in the heart of Provence. But many are unaware that the canyon located upstream is much more inaccessible, technical and dangerous. The three-time world champion in extreme downhill kayaking, Nouria Newman took advantage of the end of the summer to venture there. In a magnificent video broadcast by RedBull, the young champion allows us to live this extraordinary experience at her side.

Cand summer, Nouria Newman had planned to face the tumultuous waters of the Canadian torrents. But the pandemic thwarted those plans. It is finally the Verdon, "one of the most beautiful canyons in the world", which welcomed the three-time world kayaking champion at the end of the summer. Accompanied by the world kayaking champion Éric Deguil, the expert kayaker of the Maxime Raux area, as well as two videographers experienced in kayaking descents, Nouria set off on the rapids of the vertiginous deep canyon of the Verdon.

“The covid19 epidemic threw all our projects into the water for 2020. We then had to adapt, find new projects and stay local. In the end, it was an opportunity to make the most of our playground and to rediscover French classics such as the Gorges du Verdon. "

Rapids, narrow corridors, cliffs, boulders and cavities followed one another throughout this journey, to the delight of experienced athletes.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Nouria Newman (@nourianewman) le

A magical canyon

Crisscross the Verdon in the middle of summer with the birds of prey, cliffs and vegetation as their only companions ... A waking dream to live while at the same time and only a few kilometers downstream the pedal boats are king. The four friends offered themselves a real luxury. The walls, the cavities, the passage of Styx, Imbut (funnel in Provencal) or the curtain gave them breathtakingly beautiful light shows. But also experiences rich in adrenaline!

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Nouria Newman (@nourianewman) le

“Kayaking is more than going through big rapids and big waterfalls. I am eternally grateful for the places the kayaking takes me, for the people I meet along the way, and for my amazing “paddling” friends and partners. I think our last project with RedBull France on the Verdon canyon shows a little more than just kayaking. "

A technical and demanding descent

The descent sometimes seems to be within everyone's reach. It actually conceals many and dangerous siphons distributed throughout the 25 kilometers of the course. They make this descent a test of vigilance, including for high level kayakers. The smallest rock can hide a deadly siphon. “Constant vigilance” and precise precision in the choice of trajectories are therefore essential.

“We don't have the right to make mistakes, so it's very nerve-racking. "

Nouria is familiar with siphons. While on a solo expedition down the Tsarap River in Ladakh, India, she got caught in one of those water movements that eventually sucked her up completely. A chance that she came out unharmed a little further, after only a few seconds of immersion. A terrifying happy ending experience, which she hopes she will never have to relive. The video uploaded to Youtube transmits the anguish that Nouria must have felt when she was sucked in by this impressive siphon.

To discover the entire video of the Verdon canyon, go to the RedBull website, sponsor of Nouria.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Vidéo : Nouria Newman descend le sublime et redoutable canyon du Verdon en kayak

On connait le Verdon pour ses gorges aux eaux vertes et tranquilles en aval du lac de Sainte-Croix, au coeur de la Provence. Mais beaucoup ignorent que le canyon situé en amont est bien plus inaccessible, technique et dangereux. La triple championne du monde de descente extrême en kayak, Nouria Newman a profité de la fin de l’été pour s’y aventurer. Dans une magnifique vidéo diffusée par RedBull, la jeune championne nous permet de vivre cette extraordinaire expérience à ses côtés.

Cet été, Nouria Newman avait prévu d’affronter les eaux tumultueuses des torrents canadiens. Mais la pandémie a contrarié ces plans. C’est finalement le Verdon, « l’un des plus beaux canyons du monde », qui a accueilli la triple championne du monde de kayak à la fin de l’été. Accompagnée du champion du monde de kayak Éric Deguil, du kayakiste expert de la zone Maxime Raux, ainsi que de deux vidéastes rompus aux descentes en kayak, Nouria s’est élancée sur les rapides du vertigineux canyon encaissé du Verdon.

« L’épidémie de covid19 a fait tomber à l’eau tous nos projets pour 2020. Il a alors fallu s’adapter, trouver des nouveau projet et rester local. Au final c’était l’occasion de bien profiter de notre terrain de jeu et de redécouvrir des classiques français comme les gorges du Verdon. »

Rapides, couloirs étroits, falaises, blocs et cavités se sont succédés tout au long de ce périple, pour le plus grand bonheur des sportifs émérites.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Nouria Newman (@nourianewman) le

Un canyon magique

Sillonner le Verdon en plein été avec pour seuls compagnons les rapaces, les falaises et la végétation… Un rêve éveillé à vivre alors qu’au même moment et à seulement quelques kilomètres en aval les pédalos sont rois. C’est un réel luxe que se sont offerts les quatre amis. Les parois, les cavités, le passage du Styx, l’Imbut (entonnoir en provençal) ou encore le Rideau leur ont offert des jeux de lumière d’une beauté à couper le souffle. Mais aussi des expériences riches en adrénaline !

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Nouria Newman (@nourianewman) le

« Le kayak c’est bien plus que parcourir de gros rapides et des grosses chutes d’eau. Je suis éternellement reconnaissante pour les endroits où le kayak me mène, pour les gens que je rencontre en cours de route et pour mes incroyables amis et partenaires de « pagayage ». Je pense que notre dernier projet avec RedBull France sur le canyon du Verdon, montre un peu plus que seulement le kayak. »

Une descente technique et exigeante

La descente semble parfois être à la portée de tous. Elle recèle en réalité de nombreux et dangereux siphons répartis tout au long des 25 kilomètres du parcours. Ils font de cette descente une épreuve de vigilance, y compris pour les kayakistes de haut niveau. Le moindre rocher peut cacher un siphon meurtrier. « Une vigilance de tous les instants » et une précision millimétrée pour le choix des trajectoires, sont donc indispensables.

« On n’a pas le droit à l’erreur, c’est donc très éprouvant nerveusement. »

Nouria connaît bien les siphons. Lors d’une expédition en solitaire sur la rivière Tsarap dans le Ladakh en Inde, elle a été prise dans l’un de ces mouvements d’eau qui l’a finalement aspirée totalement. Une chance qu’elle en soit ressortie indemne un petit peu plus loin, après seulement quelques secondes d’immersion. Une expérience terrifiante à la fin heureuse, qu’elle espère ne jamais avoir à revivre. La vidéo mise en ligne sur Youtube transmet l’angoisse qu’a dû ressentir Nouria, au moment d’être aspirée par cet impressionnant siphon.

Pour découvrir l’intégralité de la vidéo du canyon du Verdon, rendez-vous sur le site de RedBull, sponsor de Nouria.

La rédaction