carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Video: Orcas observed off the Landes!

This is not the first time that killer whales have been observed in the Bay of Biscay, but every opportunity to cross paths with these unusual animals is an extraordinary experience. At the start of summer, it is the teams ofOceans Fishing who had this unique chance! And they brought back some exceptional images.

SOn Saturday July 4, 2020, albacore tuna fishing had started well for Kevin Mangault and Pierre Idiart. But after two good catches, several fins emerged on the surface. Dolphins and pilot whales abound in these waters, but this time it's good orcas which crossed 100 kilometers off Capbreton. Asked by the media Our planet, the two fishermen and videographers shared their experience.

“As we left the area we saw ailerons. We thought they were pilot whales common in the area, but when we approached we realized they were orcas. They were rather distant at first. There were five of them. A huge male that we couldn't film who went under the boat once. Then the other 5, two adults who appear to be females and two cubs then approached. We were able to navigate with them for half an hour and thus take these images with the drone we had on board. "

Discover the extraordinary images of this extraordinary meeting.

A permanent presence

The Bay of Biscay and a coastal and pelagic area rich in cetaceans. The marine sub-regions of the Bay of Biscay and the Celtic seas are home to a dozen permanent species, such as harbor porpoise, bottlenose dolphin, common dolphin, blue-and-white dolphin, pilot whale, Risso's dolphin, fin whale, minke whale, sperm whale, the pygmy sperm whale, Cuvier's beaked whale, orca, as well as gray seals and sea calves.

Rare encounters

While dolphins and pilot whales are regularly observed off the Aquitaine coast by the Aquitaine Bird Protection League et the Ocean Research & Conservation Association, seeing killer whales in the gulf is much rarer. Mathieu Sannier, member of the LPO-Aquitaine had observed two orcas, a mother and her calf, on October 5, 2019. A few days later, Lilian haristoy, photographer and videographer from Bayonne had immortalized his meeting with a group off Capbreton. In September 2015 and 2016, groups of several dozen individuals were also reported. In 2017, a family of eight killer whales had been observed for several hours, off the Basque coast.

Vidéo : Des orques observées au large des Landes !

Ce n’est pas la première fois que des orques sont observées dans le Golfe de Gascogne, mais chaque opportunité de croiser la route de ces animaux hors du commun est une expérience extraordinaire. En ce début d’été, ce sont les équipes d’Oceans Fishing qui ont eu cette chance unique ! Et ils ont rapporté des images exceptionnelles.

Samedi 4 juillet 2020, la pêche au thon blanc avait bien commencé pour Kevin Mangault et Pierre Idiart. Mais après deux belles prises, ce sont plusieurs ailerons qui se sont profilés à la surface. Dauphins et globicéphales abondent dans ces eaux, mais cette fois ce sont bien des orques qui croisaient à 100 kilomètres au large de Capbreton. Interrogé par le média Notre Planète, les deux pêcheurs et vidéastes ont partagé leur expérience.

“En quittant la zone nous avons aperçu des ailerons. Nous pensions qu’il s’agissait de globicéphales courants dans le secteur, mais à notre approche nous avons compris que c’était des orques. Ils étaient plutôt distant au début. Il y en avait 5. Un énorme mâle que nous n’avons pas pu filmer qui est passé une seule fois sous le bateau. Puis les 4 autres, deux adultes qui semblent être des femelles et deux petits se sont ensuite approchés. Nous avons pu naviguer avec eux pendant une demie heure et ainsi réaliser ces images avec le drone que nous avions à bord.”

Découvrez les extraordinaires images de cette rencontre hors du commun.

Une présence permanente

Le golfe de Gascogne et une zone littorale et pélagique riche en cétacés. Les sous-régions marines du golfe de Gascogne et des mers celtiques abritent une douzaine d’espèces permanentes, telles que le marsouin commun, le grand dauphin, le dauphin commun, le dauphin bleu-et-blanc, le globicéphale noir, le dauphin de Risso, le rorqual commun, le petit rorqual, le cachalot, le cachalot pygmée, la baleine à bec de Cuvier, l’orque, ainsi que les phoques gris et veaux-marins.

Des rencontres rares

Si dauphins et globicéphales sont régulièrement observés au large du littoral aquitain par la Ligue pour la Protection des Oiseaux d’Aquitaine et l’Ocean Research & Conservation Association, apercevoir des orques dans le golfe est bien plus rare. Mathieu Sannier, membre de la LPO-Aquitaine avait observé deux orques, une maman et son petit, le 5 octobre 2019. Quelques jours plus tard, Lilian Haristoy, photographe et vidéaste bayonnais avait immortalisé sa rencontre avec un groupe au large de Capbreton. En septembre 2015 et 2016, des groupes de plusieurs dizaines d’individus avaient également été signalés. En 2017, une famille de huit orques avait été observée pendant plusieurs heures, au large des côtes basques.

La rédaction