carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

A brief history of camping in France

3000 years! Men and women have been sheltering in tents for more than 3000 years ... And it is this story of camping in France that we are telling you about today.

Ten centuries after these first men, Roman soldiers also found shelter in Latin tents during their campaigns. At The Middle Ages and the Renaissance, history has known famous campers, such as Alexander the Great, Francis I or the King of England, Henry VIII. The long journeys then required everyone, including the crowned heads, to experience a few stages of bivouac in the middle of nature. However, we will have to wait the end of the XNUMXth century so that the camping leisure. It was an English movement, the Young Men's Christian, which founded the Coopérative d'Excursion in France in 1844. The proposal of this organization was simple: Invite young people to discover a new experience, sleep in nature on your own.

At the start of the XNUMXth century, a new turn began.

Le camping is then practiced almost exclusively by men of high society in excellent physical condition. Outdoor sports trips are organized. The main objective is then to take a break and escape the pollution of cities for a getaway, while indulging in the joys of hiking, cycling or canoeing. Shortly before the First World War, many organizations then federated around this activity attracting more and more practitioners. Between the wars, the camping was ultimately split between two great movements, Scouting which advocates a way of life as close as possible to nature, and the organizations and groups that will ultimately be the forerunners of campings as we know them today.

A brief history of camping in France

The paid vacation revolution

From 1936, it is the paid holidays that will really democratize this practice. The history of camping in France is then written faster and faster. Le camping is developing, and allows as many people as possible to discover extraordinary natural sites, and first and foremost, “the sea”, which few knew at the time. We are talking about the “paid vacation revolution”. Holidays are no longer the preserve of an elite. They become an incomparable resourcing and accessible to all. This undeniable success will unfortunately generate all kinds of problems such as the explosion of mass tourism or the degradation of natural sites plagued by camping wild. A real challenge for the public authorities, regional and national parks, and the coastal conservatory. Each of the players will play an important role in limiting the negative impact of tourism which is now mainstream.

Paid holidays and camping

A variety of offers

And for two decades, it is user demand that has transformed the camping in France. Today we are talking about outdoor hotels. The locations are more and more comfortable and environmentally friendly, the offer is diversifying in favor of “hard” or unusual accommodation, and the aquatic spaces compete in creativity to attract a family clientele. Over 9 campings spread across France welcome millions of holidaymakers in search of good value for money, proximity to nature, and conviviality. The history of camping in France and these impressive figures reveal that the camping has always known how to adapt to its times and reinvent itself.

Unusual habitat

Today vacationers looking for authenticity, tranquility and a healthy lifestyle. It is to respond to these values ​​that have been developing in recent years the campingtheme s. By joining a camping labeled for hiking, mountain biking or any other activity, users are sure to benefit from all the equipment, infrastructure and advice needed to practice their favorite sport. A trend to follow! Undeniably ...

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Une brève histoire du camping en France

3000 ans ! Cela fait plus de 3000 ans que les hommes et les femmes s’abritent sous des tentes… Et c’est cette histoire du camping en France que nous vous racontons aujourd’hui.

Dix siècles après ces premiers hommes, les soldats romains ont également trouvé abri sous des tentes latines pendant leurs campagnes. Au Moyen-Âge et à la Renaissance, l’Histoire a connu des campeurs célèbres, tels qu’Alexandre le Grand, François 1er ou le roi d’Angleterre Henri VIII. Les longs déplacements imposaient alors à tous, y compris aux têtes couronnées, de vivre quelques étapes de bivouac en pleine nature. Il faudra toutefois attendre la fin du XIXème siècle pour qu’apparaisse le camping loisir. C’est un mouvement anglais, la Young Men’s Christian qui fondera en France la Coopérative d’Excursion en 1844. La proposition de cette organisation était simple : Inviter les jeunes à découvrir une nouvelle expérience, dormir dans la nature par ses propres moyens.

Au début du XXème siècle, un nouveau virage s’amorce ensuite.

Le camping est alors pratiqué quasi-exclusivement par les hommes de la haute société en excellente condition physique. Des séjours sportifs au grand air sont organisés. L’objectif principal est alors de faire une pause et de fuir la pollution des villes le temps d’une escapade, tout en s’adonnant aux joies de la randonnée, du cyclotourisme ou encore du canoë. Peu avant la Première Guerre Mondiale, de nombreuses organisations se sont ensuite fédérées autour de cette activité attirant de plus en plus de pratiquants. Entre-deux-guerres, le camping s’est finalement partagé entre deux grands mouvements, le scoutisme qui prône un mode de vie au plus proche de la nature, et les organisations et groupements qui seront finalement les précurseurs des campings tels que nous les connaissons aujourd’hui.

Une brève histoire du camping en France

La révolution des congés payés

A partir de 1936, ce sont les congés payés qui vont réellement démocratiser cette pratique. L’histoire du camping en France s’écrit alors de plus en plus vite. Le camping se développe, et permet au plus grand nombre de découvrir des sites naturels extraordinaires, et en tout premier lieu, “la mer”, que peu connaissait alors. On parle de la “révolution des congés payés”. Les vacances ne sont plus l’apanage d’une élite. Elles deviennent un ressourcement inégalable et accessible à tous. Ce succès indéniable engendrera malheureusement toutes sortes de problématiques tels que l’explosion du tourisme de masse ou la dégradation de sites naturels en proie au camping sauvage. Un véritable défi pour les pouvoirs publics, les parcs régionaux et nationaux, et le conservatoire du littoral. Chacun des acteurs jouera un rôle important pour limiter l’impact négatif d’un tourisme désormais grand public.

Les congés payés et le camping

Une diversité d’offres

Et depuis deux décennies, c’est la demande des usagers qui a métamorphosé le camping en France. On parle aujourd’hui d’hôtellerie de plein air. Les emplacements sont de plus en plus confortables et respectueux de l’environnement, l’offre se diversifie au profit d’hébergements “en dur” ou insolites, et les espaces aquatiques rivalisent de créativité pour attirer une clientèle familiale. Plus de 9 000 campings répartis à travers la France accueillent des millions de vacanciers en quête de bon rapport qualité-prix, de proximité avec la nature, et de convivialité. L’histoire du camping en France et ces chiffrent impressionnants révèlent que le camping a toujours su s’adapter à son époque et se réinventer.

Habitat insolite

Aujourd’hui les vacanciers recherchent l’authenticité, la quiétude et l’hygiène de vie. C’est pour répondre à ces valeurs que se développent depuis quelques années les campings à thème. En rejoignant un camping labellisé pour la randonnée, le VTT ou toute autre activité, les usagers sont certains de bénéficier de tout le matériel, des infrastructures et de conseils nécessaires à la pratique de leur sport préféré. Une tendance à suivre ! Indéniablement…

La rédaction