carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Discover our Top 10 of the best surf spots in France

One thing is certain, we will not put everyone in agreement with this Top 10 of the best surf spots in France! With its thousands of kilometers of coastline, France conceals some gems offering sessions worthy of the most famous spots on the planet.

SOn the French coast, there is always a surf spot not far from your home. Sandy or rocky coasts and very jagged coastline, very often welcome beautiful waves, especially in strong swells. When we talk about surfing in France, it is of course New Aquitaine which comes to mind, with its spots in the Basque Country or the Bordeaux region. But Brittany and Normandy are not to be outdone, with some superb surf spots. And in certain weather conditions, the Mediterranean can also offer good sensations for surfers. We offer you an overview of the best surf spots in France from North to South, but there are many others. To better discover the sites located not far from where you live, visit the site Vagueo.com. To know more about the weather conditions and the quality of the waves, do not miss the site Surf Sentinel, which gives excellent daily forecasts.

Surfing in France

Langrune-sur-Mer in Normandy

En Normandy, north of Caen, at ebb tide and north-easterly wind, this little-frequented spot offers beautiful waves from the open sea. Be careful, at low tide, some rocks appear on the surface of the water. Little more, we always have foot in Langrune-sur-mer, even 500 meters from the coast.

The Baie des Trépassés and La Torche in Brittany

En Britain, on the Pointe du Raz, the Bay of the Dead is perhaps one of the best spots in France, although it is undoubtedly one of the coolest too! Its large regular rollers will delight the most experienced surfers. The spot of The torch is more accessible. On this west-facing sandy coast, the ocean swell continuously offers very beautiful waves.

Surf in Lacanau

Surf in Lacanau

Lacanau and Cap Ferret in Gironde

With its long sandy beach and its beautiful waves, Lacanau is an emblematic site of French surfing. The people of Bordeaux flock there and the atmosphere is festive, even if in the waves you sometimes have to join forces. At Cap Ferret, along the Silver Coast, pretty spots also await surfers at the foot of the dunes.

Hossegor and Seignosse in the Landes

À Hossegor, you will find the biggest tubes in France. The spots of La Nord and la Gravière host many international competitions. Technical and powerful, the waves of Hossegor are to be reserved for the initiated, whereas not far from there to Seignosse, many surf schools welcome beginners and intermediate surfers, although the Swatch Girls Pro takes place in Les Estagnots, proof that the pros can also find what they are looking for.

Anglet and Guéthary in the Basque Country

The long sandy beach ofAnglet offers many sites perfect for surfing regular and powerful waves. The Cavaliers spot regularly hosts pro competitions. Rolls of Guéthary have the reputation they deserve. In winter the strong swell reserves very beautiful waves for lovers of big!

Palavas-les-Flots in the Mediterranean

Not far from Montpellier in Occitania, the beach break of Palavas-les-Flots is one of the best surf spots in the Mediterranean. It does not compete with the Atlantic spots. But in spring and autumn, when the conditions are favorable, the Gulf of Lion brings good waves to the beach of Roquilles.

Surf in Anglet

Ocean wave in Anglet

Découvrez notre Top 10 des meilleurs spots de surf en France

Une chose est sûre, nous ne mettrons pas tout le monde d’accord avec ce Top 10 des meilleurs spots de surf en France ! Avec ses milliers de kilomètres de côtes, la France recèle quelques joyaux offrant des sessions dignes des spots les plus célèbres de la planète.

Sur le littoral français, il y a toujours un spot de surf non loin de chez vous. Côtes sableuses ou rocheuses et littoral très découpé, accueillent très souvent de belles vagues notamment par forte houle. Quand on évoque le surf en France, c’est bien sûr la Nouvelle Aquitaine qui vient à l’esprit, avec ses spots du Pays Basque ou de la région bordelaise. Mais la Bretagne et la Normandie ne sont pas en reste, avec quelques superbes spots de surf. Et dans certaines conditions météo, la Méditerranée peut elle aussi réserver de bonnes sensations aux surfeurs. Nous vous proposons un tour d’horizon des meilleurs spots de surf de France du Nord au Sud, mais il en existe de nombreux autres. Pour mieux découvrir les sites situés non loin de chez vous, rendez-vous sur le site Vagueo.com. Pour connaître avec précisions les conditions météo et la qualité des vagues, ne manquez pas le site Surf Sentinel, qui donne au quotidien d’excellentes prévisions.

Surf en France

Langrune-sur-Mer en Normandie

En Normandie, au Nord de Caen, à marée descendante et par vent de Nord-Est ce spot peu fréquenté offre de belles vagues venant du large. Attention, à marée basse, quelques rochers apparaissent à fleur d’eau. Petit plus, on a toujours pied à Langrune-sur-Mer, même à 500 mètres de la côte.

La Baie des Trépassés et La Torche en Bretagne

En Bretagne, sur la Pointe du Raz, la Baie des Trépassés est peut-être l’un des meilleurs spots de France, même s’il est sans doute aussi l’un des plus frais ! Ses grands rouleaux réguliers feront le bonheur des surfeurs les plus confirmés. Le spot de La Torche est plus accessible. Sur cette côte sableuse orientée Ouest, la houle océanique offre en continu de très belles vagues.

Surf à Lacanau

Surf à Lacanau

Lacanau et le Cap Ferret en Gironde

Avec sa longue plage de sable fin et ses belles vagues, Lacanau est un site emblématique du surf français. Les bordelais s’y pressent et l’ambiance est festive, même si dans les vagues il faut parfois jouer des coudes. Au Cap Ferret, le long de la Côte d’Argent de jolis spots attendent également les surfeurs aux pieds des dunes.

Hossegor et Seignosse dans les Landes

À Hossegor, vous trouverez les plus gros tubes de France. Les spots de La Nord et la Gravière accueillent de nombreuses compétitions internationales. Techniques et puissantes, les vagues d’Hossegor sont à réserver aux initiés, alors que non loin de là à Seignosse, de nombreuses écoles de surf accueillent les surfeurs débutants et de niveau intermédiaire, bien que la Swatch Girls Pro ait lieu aux Estagnots, preuve que les pros peuvent également y trouver leur compte.

Surf à Hossegor

Joan Duru à l’entraînement lors de la Quicksilver Pro 2010 à Hossegor

Anglet et Guéthary au Pays Basque

La longue plage de sable d’Anglet offre de nombreux sites parfaits pour surfer des vagues régulières et puissantes. Le spot des Cavaliers accueille régulièrement des compétitions pro. Les rouleaux de Guéthary ont quant-à-eux la réputation qu’ils méritent. En hiver la forte houle réserve de très belles vagues aux amateurs de gros !

Palavas-les-Flots en Méditerranée

Non loin de Montpellier en Occitanie, le beach break de Palavas-les-Flots est l’un des meilleurs spots de surf en Méditerranée. Il ne rivalise pas avec les spots de l’Atlantique. Mais au printemps et en automne, quand les conditions sont favorables, le Golfe du Lion apporte de bonnes vagues sur la plage des Roquilles.

Surf à Anglet

Vague océanique à Anglet

La rédaction

Crédit image éditoriale Hossegor : Shutterstock/peapop