carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Surfcasting: The best season starts soon

For many, the end of summer rhymes with back to school and gloom… But for surfcasting enthusiasts, it is the promise of a new coastal fishing season, finally abandoned by summer visitors.

Dfrom September, beaches, coves and pontoons are gradually emptying. The colorful buoys and the laughter of children are just a memory. Families are back on the road to work, and the coast is finally offered to other users. Among them, the fishermen do not shy away from their pleasure. Because from the end of summer to the first cold weather, the conditions are ideal for set up your canes on the seafront, take some nice catches, and why not one or two trophies... On the condition, however, of mastering perfectly surfcasting techniques. Good equipment and knowledge of the sea, currents and tides are also essential to achieve the best catches. An ideal season for surfcasting

Fishing from rip-rap

Because at the end of summer, the fish stay close to the shore and feed abundantly until the cold arrives. They thus replenish their fat reserves. Sea bream, sole, sea bass, whiting, sars and rays then cross very close to the coast in search of food. A great opportunity for surfcasters to indulge in their favorite hobby, before the breeding season.

A technical practice

In surfcasting, fishermen look for swimming fish several tens of meters from the beach. The goal is to throw the line into the wave, and even rather behind the wave. If the majority of fishermen place the line at a hundred meters, beginners can learn 20 meters from the edge. The best surfcasters manage to throw the bait 160 meters from the shore. Beyond the technique and the power of the casting, the fisherman must have good knowledge of the sea, currents and tides. Experienced practitioners thus predict the behavior of fish, which come to seek their prey at the foot of drop offs, in seagrass beds or riprap. It is then possible to make beautiful catches not far from the beach.

A day of fishing at the beach

A final parameter comes into play for successful fishing. It is obviously about equipment, which must be robust, reliable and suitable for the species desired.

Equipment

To fully enjoy a surfcasting session, you must first have a telescopic or push-fit rod from 4 to 5 meters. It is also necessary to have a resistant and large capacity reel. A spike or a tripod will then be used to fix the rod facing the sea. To finalize the equipment, weights and baits are essential.

surfcasting

Mounting side, each fisherman has his secret, sometimes very well kept. To start, it is possible to buy mounted leaders. When it comes to bait, it all depends on ambition. To start, trawl worms are ideal. Crabs, peeled knives and bibis are bait of choice especially in autumn. And if the fisherman is targeting predators, do not hesitate to use small fish or even cephalopods, against which wolves will have a hard time resisting!

A hobby but also a sport

Surfcasting is a real sporting practice. On our territory, the French federation of sport fisheries frames this practice. It shows a beautiful dynamic and a renewal. The young Frenchman Manon Mainvis, very active on social networks, has also been surfcasting world champion and in 2015 2018.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Manon Mainvis (@manonmainvis_surfcasting) le

Surfcasting : La meilleure saison débute bientôt

Pour beaucoup la fin de l’été rime avec rentrée et morosité… Mais pour les amateurs de surfcasting, elle est la promesse d’une nouvelle saison de pêche sur le littoral, enfin délaissé par les estivants.

Dès le mois de septembre, les plages, criques et pontons se vident peu à peu. Les bouées colorées et les rires d’enfants ne sont plus qu’un souvenir. Les familles reprennent le chemin du travail, et la côte s’offre enfin à d’autres usagers. Parmi eux, les pêcheurs ne boudent pas leur plaisir. Car de la fin de l’été aux premiers grands froids, les conditions sont idéales pour installer ses cannes sur le front de mer, faire quelques belles prises, et pourquoi pas une ou deux prises trophées… À condition toutefois de maîtriser parfaitement les techniques de surfcasting. Un bon équipement et une connaissance de la mer, des courants et des marées sont également indispensables pour réaliser les plus belle prises. Une saison idéale pour le surfcasting

Pêcher depuis les enrochements

Car à la fin de l’été, les poissons demeurent près du rivage et s’alimentent copieusement jusqu’à l’arrivée du froid. Ils reconstituent ainsi leurs réserves de graisse. Daurades, soles, bars, merlans, sars et raies croisent alors tout près de la côte à la recherche de nourriture. Une belle opportunité pour les surfcasteurs de s’adonner à leur loisir favori, avant la période de reproduction.

Une pratique technique

En surfcasting, les pêcheurs recherchent les poissons nageant à plusieurs dizaines de mètres de la plage. Le but est de lancer la ligne dans la vague, et même plutôt derrière la vague. Si la majorité des pêcheurs place la ligne à une centaine de mètres, les débutants peuvent s’initier à 20 mètres du bord. Les meilleurs surfcasteurs parviennent quant-à-eux à lancer l’appât à 160 mètres du rivage. Au delà de la technique et de la puissance du lancer, le pêcheur doit avoir une bonne connaissance de la mer, des courants et des marées. Les pratiquants chevronnés prédisent ainsi le comportement des poissons,qui viennent chercher leurs proies au pied des tombants, dans les herbiers ou les enrochements. Il est alors possible de faire de belles prises non loin de la plage.

Une journée de pêche à la plage

Un dernier paramètre entre en jeu pour une pêche réussie. Il s’agit bien évidemment de l’équipement, qui doit être robuste, fiable et adapté à l’espèce convoitée.

L’équipement

Pour profiter pleinement d’une session de surfcasting, il faut tout d’abord posséder une canne télescopique ou à emmanchement de 4 à 5 mètres. Il est également nécessaire de se munir d’un moulinet résistant et de grande contenance. Une pique ou un trépied permettra ensuite de fixer la canne face à la mer. Pour finaliser l’équipement, les lests et appâts sont indispensables.

surfcasting

Côté montage, chaque pêcheur a son secret, parfois très bien gardé. Pour débuter, il est possible d’acheter des bas de ligne montés. En ce qui concerne les appâts, tout dépend de l’ambition. Pour débuter, les vers de chalut sont tout indiqués. Les crabes, couteaux décortiqués et bibis sont des appâts de choix notamment en automne. Et si le pêcheur vise les carnassiers, il ne faut pas hésiter à utiliser des petits poissons ou même des céphalopodes, face auxquels les loups auront bien du mal à résister !

Un loisir mais aussi un sport

Le surfcasting est une véritable pratique sportive. Sur notre territoire, la fédération française des pêches sportives encadre cette pratique. Elle fait preuve d’une belle dynamique et d’un renouveau. La jeune française Manon Mainvis très active sur les réseaux sociaux, a d’ailleurs été championne du monde de surfcasting en 2015 et 2018.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Manon Mainvis (@manonmainvis_surfcasting) le

La rédaction