carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Sport and Covid-19: A study reveals the risk of contamination outside

It is a Dutch-Belgian study which caused a stir on the web in recent days. According to aerodynamic physicists from the Universities of Eindhoven and Louvin, the social distancing measures recommended by governments would be insufficient for athletes and their close entourage. Sport and Covid-19 would not therefore mix so well?

En within just a few months, the Covid-19 has managed to spread to many countries around the world. Research has shown that the virus is spread by means of the micro-droplets of saliva. Airborne when a person sneezes, coughs or even expires, they are a vector of transmission. The inhalation of these droplets by another person or the deposit on the hands would therefore be vectors of pandemic spread. A person carrying the virus is considered to infect 2 to 5 other people. And what about covid-19 contamination while playing sports?

Social distancingThis is how the governments of countries around the world have asked their citizens to respect a distance of 1 to 2 meters between each person. Their goal is quite simply to limit the spread of the virus. If this measure is considered effective for stationary people, it would seem that the aerodynamic effects induced by moving people, increase the required distance. People moving near athletes who practice brisk walking, running or cycling would therefore be more exposed.

Wind tunnel simulations

During their research, the scientists carried out wind tunnel simulations.  They thus highlighted the air flow around a runner. The analysis also helps to define the movement and evaporation of droplets emitted by a person walking or running, exhaling near another. The outside wind was considered to be absent. Different configurations of people were analyzed. Side by side, in line and staggered. The exposure of the second person to the droplets emitted by the first was then evaluated.

Jogging in Vancouver during the Covid-19 pandemic

Jogging in Vancouver during the Covid-19 pandemic

Interesting results

The results indicate that the greatest droplet exposure is obtained when the second person is aligned in the wake of the first. The exposure increases as the distance between the two runners decreases. The study concludes that while the effective social distancing measure for two immobile people is 1,5m, it is significantly increased for people on the move. In the absence of headwind, tailwind and crosswind, for a walker moving at 4 km / h, the distance would be approximately 5 meters. To walk or run safely behind a person moving at 14,4 km / h, this distance would be approximately 10 meters.

Sport and Covid-19, disputed results

This study was published by the most serious academics. But it has not, however, been proven by other physicists. Specialists from other disciplines were also not consulted to adjust the parameters. The results are therefore debated within the scientific community. Jennifer kasten, assistant professor in the department of pathology at the University of Cincinnati, for example denounced the scientific publication on Facebook. She states that humans are not "spray nozzles generating a mist of droplets under constant pressure." It also indicates that the study does not take into account the notion of "viral load".

Towards a consensus?

This notion would be decisive in the spread of the virus. Bert Blocken maintains the relevance of his publication at the heart of this unprecedented "health emergency" situation. Speaking on Twitter, he recalls his precautionary measure.

“As you pass, try to step aside far enough in advance that you can follow a straight line alongside the other person. Conversely, if someone passes you, it is better to wait a certain distance before positioning yourself on the same line. "

He is also joined by other scientists, who believe that the measure is common sense. For Lim Poh Lian, consultant for the National Center for Infectious Diseases in Singapore, there is "healthy skepticism".

“For example, if a stiff breeze blows. And if you are 1 meter away. Depending on whether you are upwind or downwind of the infected person, this could decrease or increase your risk of infection. "

Sport et Covid-19 : Une étude révèle le risque de contamination à l’extérieur

C’est une étude néerlando-belge qui a fait grand bruit sur le web ces derniers jours. Selon des physiciens spécialistes de l’aérodynamique des Universités d’Eindhoven et de Louvin, les mesures de distanciation sociale préconisées par les gouvernements seraient insuffisantes pour les sportifs et leur entourage proche. Sport et Covid-19 ne feraient donc pas si bon ménage ?

En l’espace de quelques mois seulement, le Covid-19 a réussi à se propager dans de nombreux pays du monde. Des recherches ont montré que la propagation du virus se produisait au moyen des micro-gouttelettes de salive. Aéroportées lorsqu’une personne éternue, tousse ou même expire, elles sont vecteur de transmission. L’inhalation de ces gouttelettes par une autre personne ou le dépôt sur les mains seraient donc des vecteurs de propagation de la pandémie. On considère qu’une personne porteuse du virus, contamine 2 à 5 autres personnes. Et qu’en est-il de la contamination au covid-19 pendant la pratique du sport ?

Distanciation SocialeC’est ainsi que les gouvernements de pays du monde entier ont demandé à leurs citoyens de respecter une distance de 1 à 2 mètres entre chaque personne. Leur objectif est tout simplement de limiter la propagation du virus. Si cette mesure est considérée comme efficace pour les personnes immobiles, il semblerait que les effets aérodynamiques induits par les personnes en mouvement, augmentent la distance requise. Les personnes se déplaçant près de sportifs pratiquant la marche rapide, la course ou le vélo seraient donc davantage exposées.

Des simulations en soufflerie

Au cours de leurs recherches, les scientifiques ont procédé à des simulations en soufflerie.  Ils ont ainsi mis en évidence le flux d’air autour d’un coureur. L’analyse permet également de définir le mouvement et l’évaporation des gouttelettes émises par une personne qui marche ou qui court, en expirant à proximité d’une autre. Le vent extérieur a été considéré comme absent. Différentes configurations de personnes ont été analysées. Côte à côte, en ligne et en quinconce. L’exposition de la deuxième personne aux gouttelettes émises par la première, a ensuite été évaluée.

Footing à Vancouver pendant la pandémie de Covid-19

Footing à Vancouver pendant la pandémie de Covid-19

Des résultats intéressants

Les résultats indiquent que la plus grande exposition aux gouttelettes est obtenue lorsque la deuxième personne est alignée dans le sillage de la première. L’exposition augmente à mesure que la distance entre les deux coureurs diminue. L’étude conclut que si la mesure de distanciation sociale efficace pour deux personnes immobiles est bien de 1,5 m, elle est considérablement accrue pour les personnes en mouvement. En l’absence de vent de face, de vent arrière et de vent de travers, pour un marcheur se déplaçant à 4 km/h, la distance serait d’environ 5 mètres. Pour marcher ou courir en toute sécurité derrière une personne se déplaçant à 14,4 km/h, cette distance serait d’environ 10 mètres.

Des résultats contestés

Cette étude a été publiée par des universitaires des plus sérieux. Mais elle n’a toutefois pas été éprouvée par d’autres physiciens. Des spécialistes d’autres disciplines n’ont pas non plus été consultés pour ajuster les paramètres. Les résultats font donc débat au sein de la communauté scientifique. Jennifer Kasten, professeur adjoint au département de pathologie de l’Université de Cincinnati, a par exemple dénoncé la publication scientifique sur Facebook. Elle déclare que les êtres humains ne sont pas “des buses de pulvérisation générant une brume de gouttelettes sous pression constante”. Elle indique également que l’étude ne prend pas en compte la notion de “charge virale”.

Vers un consensus ?

Cette notion serait déterminante dans la propagation du virus. Bert Blocken maintient la pertinence de sa publication au coeur de cette situation inédite “d’urgence sanitaire”. S’exprimant sur Twitter, il rappelle sa mesure de précaution.

“Lorsque vous passez, essayez de vous écarter suffisamment à l’avance pour pouvoir suivre une ligne droite à côté de l’autre personne. Inversement, si quelqu’un vous dépasse, il est préférable d’attendre une certaine distance avant de vous positionner sur la même ligne.”

Il est d’ailleurs rejoint par d’autres scientifiques, qui estiment que la mesure relève du bon sens. Pour Lim Poh Lian, consultant pour le National Center for Infectious Diseases de Singapour, il existe un “scepticisme sain”.

“Par exemple, si une brise raide souffle . Et si vous êtes à 1 mètre de distance. Selon que vous êtes face au vent ou sous le vent de la personne infectée, cela pourrait diminuer ou augmenter votre risque d’infection.”

La rédaction