carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Thrills at the crossroads of worlds on the Mazamet footbridge

In Occitania, the Mazamet footbridge is a must-see in the village of Hautpoul. Suspended 70 meters above the Arnette gorges, this dizzying installation offers a breathtaking view of the valley. The site promises visitors thrills and wonderful memories.

L140 meter ointment, the Mazamet footbridge makes the link between two worlds. It connects the town of Mazamet and its 10 inhabitants, to the 000 inhabitants of medieval village of Hautpoul, built on a rocky outcrop of the Montagne Noire. The metal structure floats above the mountains and lush green trees. It thus offers a real architectural contrast in the heart of a wild nature.

At the gates of the Montagne Noire

From Mazamet, the two paths leading to the footbridge require good walking shoes. The first one and a half kilometer route crosses the gardens of Cormouls-Houlès. It then runs alongside numerous vestiges of the 15th century, such as ponds, turrets, stairs and the ruins of the Saint-Sauveur church. It takes half an hour to reach the footbridge by this path. On the other hand, XNUMX minutes are sufficient with the path of Jamarié. This route is shorter but also more physical! This ancient Roman road was part of the salt road.

A dizzying experience

It is not without fear that we take the first step on the 140 meters of this footbridge. Like in a boat, you pitch a little before finding your balance. Slightly stunned by the height and suspended 70 meters above the ground, the walkers who venture on the Himalayan gateway experience a genuine sense of freedom the moment they find themselves perched above the void. For the faint of heart, just one piece of advice, don't look down. But for others, take the time to admire the breathtaking view of the gorges of the Arnette and the valley of Mazamet below.

Mazamet footbridge: a dive into history

After leaving the modernity of Mazamet, it is a modest medieval village that awaits visitors at the end of the footbridge. Perched at the entrance to the Montagne Noire at an altitude of more than 300 meters and surrounded by immense expanses of forests, Hautpoul is the historical cradle of Mazamet. He opens a window on another century. In the heart of the small centuries-old alleys, a few artisan souvenir shops are opening their doors. The old stone houses are home to a few artisan workshops.

View of Mazamet from the medieval village of Hautpoul

The Rocque d'Hautpoul Association now brings medieval times to life every summer in the streets of the village. A small museum on the arts and practices of the Middle Ages has even emerged. Animations and historical reenactments are organized throughout the summer. The House of Wood and Toys which was born in Hautpoul, is now installed lower in the valley. Many viewpoints invite walkers to enjoy the panorama, especially on the rock of the Virgin ou the terraces of the old castle. The Mazamet footbridge is completely free. It remains accessible all year round, day and night. Let yourself be tempted by the experience!

Sensations fortes à la croisée des mondes sur la passerelle de Mazamet

En Occitanie, la passerelle de Mazamet est un site incontournable du village de Hautpoul. Suspendue à 70 mètres au-dessus des gorges de l’Arnette, cette vertigineuse installation offre une vue à couper le souffle sur la vallée. Le site promet aux visiteurs des sensations fortes et de magnifiques souvenirs.

Longue de 140 mètres, la passerelle de Mazamet fait le lien entre deux mondes. Elle relie la commune de Mazamet et ses 10 000 habitants, aux 9 habitants du village médiéval de Hautpoul, construit sur un éperon rocheux de la Montagne Noire. La structure métallique flotte au-dessus des montagnes et des arbres verdoyants. Elle offre ainsi un véritable contraste architectural au coeur d’une nature sauvage.

Aux portes de la Montagne Noire

Au départ de Mazamet, les deux sentiers qui conduisent à la passerelle nécessitent de bonnes chaussures de marche. Le premier itinéraire d’un kilomètre et demi traverse les jardins de Cormouls-Houlès. Il longe ensuite de nombreux vestiges du XIXème siècle, tels que des bassins, des tourelles, des escaliers et les ruines de l’église Saint-Sauveur. Il faut compter une demi-heure pour atteindre la passerelle par ce chemin. En revanche, 15 minutes suffisent avec le chemin de la Jamarié. Ce tracé est plus court mais également plus physique ! Cette ancienne voie romaine faisait partie de la route du sel.

Une expérience vertigineuse

Ce n’est pas sans peur que l’on pose le premier pas sur les 140 mètres de cette passerelle. Comme dans un bateau, on tangue un peu avant de trouver son équilibre. Légèrement étourdis par la hauteur et suspendus à 70 mètres du sol, les marcheurs qui s’aventurent sur la passerelle himalayenne éprouvent un authentique sentiment de liberté au moment où ils se retrouvent perchés au-dessus du vide. Pour les âmes sensibles, un seul conseil, ne pas regarder vers le bas. Mais pour les autres, prenez le temps d’admirer la vue époustouflante sur les gorges de l’Arnette et sur la vallée de Mazamet en contre-bas.

Une plongée dans l’histoire

Après avoir quitté la modernité de Mazamet, c’est un modeste village médiéval qui attend les visiteurs tout au bout de la passerelle. Perché à l’entrée de la Montagne Noire à plus de 300 mètres d’altitude et entouré d’immenses étendues de forêts, Hautpoul est le berceau historique de Mazamet. Il entrouvre une fenêtre sur un autre siècle. Au coeur des petites ruelles centenaires, quelques boutiques de souvenirs artisanaux ouvrent leurs portes. Les vieilles demeures en pierre abritent quelques ateliers d’artisans d’art.

Vue de Mazamet depuis le village médiéval de Hautpoul

L’Association de la Rocque d’Hautpoul fait désormais revivre l’époque médiévale chaque été dans les rues du village. Un petit musée sur les arts et pratiques du moyen-âge a même vu le jour. Des animations et reconstitutions historiques sont organisées tout l’été. La Maison du Bois et du Jouet qui a vu le jour à Hautpoul, est désormais installée plus bas dans la vallée. De nombreux points de vue invitent les promeneurs à apprécier le panorama, notamment sur le rocher de la Vierge ou les terrasses du vieux château. La passerelle de Mazamet est totalement gratuite. Elle reste accessible toute l’année, de jour comme de nuit. Laissez-vous tenter par l’expérience !

La rédaction