carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Snowshoeing: Everything you need to know before starting

From the Alps to the Jura, from the Pyrenees to the Auvergne, from the Causses to the Vosges mountains, snowshoeing is the ideal activity to discover snow-covered landscapes in peace and serenity.

Lenough of the gray and the gloomy daily life? It's time for you to step up and change your perspective. And if you set out to conquer the snow-capped mountains and discover a thousand-year-old activity conducive to relaxation and wonder, snowshoeing. Far from the ski lifts and the hustle and bustle of the heart of the resorts, a snowshoe walk offers everyone an enchanting break. lovers of wide open spaces. It is also a real sport, since in terms of energy expenditure, a snowshoe ride is equivalent to jogging on flat ground. If you want to exercise while discovering the mountainous landscapes in a different way, we tell you everything you need to know before you start to a snowshoe hike.

Basic equipment for snowshoeing

Attached under waterproof hiking boots, snowshoes prevent walkers from sinking into powder. The poles ensure balance, especially downhill. For beginners or occasional practitioners, renting is a safe choice. For a few euros a day, it is indeed possible to discover the activity and be seduced by the feeling of freedom that this sport provides. But for a more regular practice, it is definitely worthinvest in a good pair of composite snowshoes (from 120 euros) which will guarantee you comfortable outings.

Be well equipped for a snowshoe hike

When choosing your rackets, two parameters must be taken into account, lift and length. To ensure lift, the screen must be wide enough to limit your sinking. The heaviest people opt for sieves more than 20 centimeters wide. The length of your rackets is proportional to your size. It should not hinder your stride. Textile side, as shown in our article on winter walking, it is very useful to call on the trick of the three layers for the upper body, cover the extremities well and wear warm but comfortable pants. A pair of gaiters will effectively ensure waterproofing.

Piste or off-piste?

Big question…. If you are a beginner, we can only advise you to stay on marked and secure routes offered by the stations. This will limit the risk of getting lost, and you will always have the possibility of meeting other hikers in case of difficulties. A topo-guide is generally available at the stations. But if the appeal of blank spaces is too strong, call a guide. He will help you discover the most beautiful panoramas and the wildest places, while ensuring your safety. With snowshoes, holes and obstacles obscured by snow, as well as ledges, can be particularly dangerous. It would be a shame that a pretty walk would turn into a drama for lack of security.

Pristine landscapes during a snowshoe hike

A point on the technique

On flat ground, the technique of snowshoeing is quite simple and intuitive. It is important toprovide support at every step and take its cruising speed. On a slope, several techniques exist to avoid a tumble. In staircase perpendicular to the slope, in duck by leaning on the sticks or in conversion, that is to say zigzagging… It's up to you to define your preferred technique according to the terrain. On hard snow, it is also possible to use cramponing by firmly marking the supports. Most rackets are now equipped with steel crampons, very useful on icy ground.

To the peaks on a snowshoe hike

Security issue

In the mountains, safety is the number one priority. The day before and the morning of your hike, take care to check the weather forecast. Go early to find perfect snow and get to the top before the hottest hours. For routes outside the marked trails, bring an ARVA device (Avanlanche Victims Search Device), a shovel and a rope. And don't forget your cell phone, which is often a great help in the event of a problem.

And the backpack

For any hike, the backpack is a must. It should be the right size for your needs, waterproof and snug to your back. Its content obviously depends on your practice. Gourd or water bag with pipette, snack, phone, compass, map or topo-guide, headlamp for late returns, small pharmacy and survival blanket are essentials. If you practice off-piste, do not ignore the candles and the lighter. A rope of about ten meters accompanied by a lanyard and a few carabiners can also be very useful if, despite your caution, you or one of your relatives fall into a hole hidden by the layer of snow.

Shared pleasure during a snowshoe hike

You are finally ready to go on an adventure. As you hike, stay calm and alert. Mountain fauna populates the area. The most discreet and vigilant walkers can hope to admire a hare, a chamois, a deer, a wild boar, a stag or even a wolf. Stay silent if this happens to you and don't put the animal on the run. You will save him an unnecessary and costly loss of energy during this winter period.

Change of scenery, calm and immersion in a magical setting await you on the massifs of France. Do not wait any longer.

Randonnée en raquettes : Tout ce qu’il faut savoir avant de se lancer

Des Alpes au Jura, des Pyrénées à l’Auvergne, des Causses au massif des Vosges, la randonnée en raquettes est l’activité idéale pour découvrir les paysages enneigés dans le calme et la sérénité.

Lassé de la grisaille et du quotidien morose ? Il est temps pour vous de prendre de la hauteur et de changer de point de vue. Et si vous partiez à la conquête des massifs enneigés et à la découverte d’une activité millénaire propice à la détente et à l’émerveillement, la randonnée en raquettes. Loin des remontées mécaniques et de l’agitation du coeur de stations, une promenade en raquettes offre une parenthèse enchantée à tous les amoureux de grands espaces. Elle est par ailleurs un véritable sport, puisqu’en terme de dépense énergétique, une balade en raquettes équivaut à un footing sur terrain plat. Si vous souhaitez vous dépenser tout en découvrant les paysages montagneux autrement, nous vous disons tout ce que vous devez savoir avant de vous lancer pour une randonnée en raquettes.

L’équipement de base pour la randonnée en raquettes

Fixées sous des chaussures de randonnée étanches, les raquettes évitent aux marcheurs de s’enfoncer dans la poudreuse. Les bâtons assurent quant-à-eux l’équilibre, notamment en descente. Pour les débutants ou les pratiquants occasionnels, la location est un choix sécurisant. Pour quelques euros par jour, il est en effet possible de découvrir l’activité et se laisser séduire par le sentiment de liberté que procure ce sport. Mais pour une pratique plus régulière, cela vaut vraiment la peine d’investir dans une bonne paire de raquettes composites (à partir de 120 euros) qui vous garantira des sorties confortables.

Bien s'équiper pour une randonnée en raquettes

Au moment de choisir vos raquettes, deux paramètres sont à prendre en compte, la portance et la longueur. Pour assurer la portance, le tamis doit être suffisamment large pour limiter votre enfoncement. Les personnes les plus corpulentes optent pour des tamis de plus de 20 centimètres de large. La longueur de vos raquettes est quant-à-elle proportionnelle à votre taille. Elle ne doit pas entraver votre foulée. Côté textiles, comme indiqué dans notre article sur la marche en hiver, il est très utile de faire appel à l’astuce des trois couches pour le haut du corps, de bien couvrir les extrémités et de porter un pantalon chaud mais confortable. Une paire de guêtres assurera efficacement l’étanchéité.

Pistes ou hors-piste ?

Grande question…. Si vous êtes débutant, nous ne pouvons que vous conseiller de rester sur les itinéraires balisés et sécurisés proposés par les stations. Vous limiterez ainsi le risque de vous perdre, et vous aurez toujours la possibilité de rencontrer d’autres randonneurs en cas de difficultés. Un topo-guide est généralement disponible dans les stations. Mais si l’appel des espaces vierges de toute trace est trop fort, faites appel à un guide. Il saura vous faire découvrir les plus beaux panoramas et les lieux les plus sauvages, tout en veillant à votre sécurité. En raquettes, les trous et obstacles masqués par la neige, tout comme les corniches peuvent être particulièrement dangereux. Il serait dommage qu’une jolie balade tourne au drame faute de sécurité.

Paysages vierges pendant une randonnée en raquettes

Un point sur la technique

Sur terrain plat, la technique de la marche en raquettes est assez simple et intuitive. Il est important d’assurer les appuis à chaque pas et de prendre son rythme de croisière. En pente, plusieurs techniques existent pour éviter la dégringolade. En escalier perpendiculairement à la pente, en canard en prenant appui sur les bâtons ou en conversion, c’est-à-dire en zigzaguant… À vous de définir votre technique préférée en fonction du terrain. Sur la neige dure, il est également possible de faire appel au cramponnage en marquant fermement les appuis. La plupart des raquettes sont désormais équipées de crampons en acier, bien utiles sur terrain glacé.

Jusqu'aux sommets lors d'une randonnée en raquettes

Question sécurité

En montagne, la sécurité est la priorité numéro un. La veille et le matin de votre randonnée, prenez soin de consulter la météo. Partez tôt pour trouver une neige parfaite et arriver au sommet avant les heures les plus chaudes. Pour les parcours en dehors des sentiers balisés, munissez-vous d’un dispositif ARVA (Appareil de Recherche des Victimes d’Avanlanche), d’une pelle et d’une corde. Et n’oubliez pas votre téléphone portable qui est bien souvent d’une grande aide en cas de problème.

Et le sac à dos

Pour toute randonnée, le sac à dos est un incontournable. Il doit être de taille adaptée à votre besoin, étanche et bien ajusté à votre dos. Son contenu dépend bien évidemment de votre pratique. Gourde ou sac à eau avec pipette, collation, téléphone, boussole, carte ou topo-guide, lampe frontale pour les retours tardifs, petite pharmacie et couverture de survie sont des essentiels. Si vous pratiquez le hors-piste, ne faites pas l’impasse sur les bougies et le briquet. Une corde d’une dizaine de mètres accompagnée d’une longe et de quelques mousquetons pourront également s’avérer bien utiles si malgré votre prudence, vous ou l’un de vos proches chutez dans un trou masqué par la couche de neige.

Plaisir partagé lors d'une randonnée en raquettes

Vous êtes enfin prêt à partir à l’aventure. Lors de votre randonnée, restez calme et attentif. La faune des montagnes peuple les lieux. Les marcheurs les plus discrets et vigilants peuvent espérer admirer un lièvre, un chamois, un chevreuil, un sanglier, un cerf ou même un loup. Restez silencieux si cela vous arrive et ne mettez pas l’animal en fuite. Vous lui éviterez une perte d’énergie inutile et coûteuse en cette période hivernale.

Dépaysement, calme et immersion dans un cadre féérique vous attendent sur les massifs de France. N’attendez plus.

La rédaction