Hiking: Discover the Top 10 GRs in France

At the end of 2020, the French Hiking Federation revealed the Top 10 of the GRs in France the most popular with hikers. To establish the ranking, the federation relied on Topo Guides sales All categories. And the results are revealing!

The Top 10 GRs in France according to Topo Guides sales is a good indicator of hiking destinations favorite among vacationers. And if 10 places appear in the ranking, the surprise comes from the fact that 5 of these GRs are located in Brittany! A real plebiscite for this region of France which continues to attract visitors in search of authenticity and a gentle way of life. But other long-distance hiking trails have a deserved place in this Top 10. Discover them here.

GR 70: The Stevenson trail

This year the number 1 in sales of Topo Guides des GR de France returns to the GR 70. Between Auvergne and Languedoc, Stevenson's path stretches from the Massif Central to the Cévennes. From north to south, this long-distance hiking trail crosses four distinct territories in turn. The Velay first of all, between volcanic reliefs and high agricultural plateaus. Then the legendary Gévaudan and its green valleys. Then make way for Mont Lozère, this bare massif dotted with granite chaos, to finally reach the southern Cévennes valleys. If the entire route bears the name of Stevenson, the famous author only traveled with his donkey, the portion of Florac in Saint-Jean-du-Gard, recently highlighted by the caesarized film, Antoinette in the Cevennes.

Stevenson path

GR 20: Through the Corsican mountain

The GR 20 is one of the most legendary GR in France. But he is also one of the most demanding. Year after year, its success continues. A real holy grail for trekking lovers. The GR 20 Fra li monti crosses the Corsican massif from Calenzana to Conca. His 200 kilometers of paths to travel between sea and mountains, but also its 15 meters of elevation gain, take hikers up to 000 meters in altitude. To complete this GR de France in its entirety, excellent physical and logistical preparation is necessary. If you don't feel ready to face 15 days of trek, you have the option to browse only a portion.

GR 20 in Corsica

The GR 34 alone occupies 4 places in the classification of the GR of France

The next 4 places of this Top 10 GRs in France come back to the GR 34! The portions of the Pink Granite Coast, the Emerald Coast, Abers and the Crozon peninsula and the coastline and islands of Morbihan, respectively share places 3 to 6 in the ranking. The path of the customs officers of Brittany therefore really has the coast! It must be said that this GR borders all of the Breton coasts for more than 2 kilometers. How not to succumb to the call of these landscapes? It was also elected GR Favorite of the French in 000. From the bay of Mont-Saint-Michel to La Manche, breathtaking discoveries await you.

Customs footpath in Brittany

GR TMP: The Tour of Mont-Blanc

The Mont Blanc remains one of the most emblematic and inaccessible mountains in Europe. Starting from the village of Les Houches, not far from Chamonix, the 215-kilometer loop of GR of the Tour du Mont-Blanc offers a magical experience. It will still take 10 days of effort to cover it all. Between France, Switzerland and Italy, passes, ridges, glaciers and torrents follow one another to the marvel of walkers.

Tour of Mont-Blanc

GR 10: The Western Pyrenees

Across the Basque Country and Béarn, this portion of the Crossing of the Pyrenees connects Hendaye to Arrens-Marsous. No less than 260 kilometers between Pyrénées-Atlantiques and Hautes-Pyrénées, thus offer the discovery of the Pic du Midi d'Ossau, the Pyrenees National Park and the Adour natural basin.

Pic du Midi d'Ossau

GR 58: The Tour of Queyras

The GR 58 wonderfully bears its name. Its route indeed leads hikers on the tour of the Queyras Regional Natural Park. Larch forests, rushing torrents, meadows and villages can be discovered all along the 130 kilometers of trail. Although most of the route is located in the middle of the mountains, the walkers will still have to face the 2 meters of the Col de la Chamoussière!

GR Tour of Queyras

PR: Finistère on foot

To finish this Top 10 GRs in France, place once again in Brittany. And it is on the coast, but also inland that this Promenade & Randonnée topo-guide leads the reader. No less than 47 circuits of all levels, including 4 adapted to Nordic walking available to visitors from Finistère. They allow you to discover sites of heritage interest and sensitive natural spaces.

Nearly 100 campings Welcome are labeled Hiking. The owners of these campings guarantee you a personalized welcome adapted to the practice of this outdoor sport. Discover now the campings Welcome labeled Hiking and their commitments.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Randonnée : Découvrez le Top 10 des GR de France

À la fin de l’année 2020, la Fédération Française de Randonnée Pédestre a révélé le Top 10 des GR de France les plus prisés par les randonneurs. Pour établir le classement, la fédération s’est fiée aux ventes de Topo Guides toutes catégories confondues. Et les résultats sont révélateurs !

Le Top 10 des GR de France en fonction des ventes de Topo Guides est un bon indicateur des destinations randonnée favorites des vacanciers. Et si 10 lieux figurent dans le classement, la surprise vient du fait que 5 de ces GR se situent en Bretagne ! Un véritable plébiscite pour cette région de France qui ne cesse d’attirer des visiteurs en quête d’authenticité et de douceur de vivre. Mais d’autres sentiers de grande randonnée ont une place méritée dans ce Top 10. Découvrez-les ici.

GR 70 : Le chemin de Stevenson

Cette année le numéro 1 des ventes de Topo Guides des GR de France revient au GR 70. Entre Auvergne et Languedoc, le chemin de Stevenson s’étend du Massif Central aux Cévennes. Du nord au sud, ce sentier de grande randonnée traverse tour à tour quatre territoires bien distincts. Le Velay tout d’abord, entre reliefs volcaniques et hauts plateaux agricoles. Puis le légendaire Gévaudan et ses vallées verdoyantes. Place ensuite au Mont Lozère, ce massif nu parsemé de chaos granitique, pour enfin rejoindre les méridionales vallées cévenoles. Si l’intégralité du tracé porte de le nom de Stevenson, le célèbre auteur ne parcourut en réalité avec son âne, que la portion de Florac à Saint-Jean-du-Gard, récemment mise en lumière par le film césarisé, Antoinette dans les Cévennes.

Chemin de Stevenson

GR 20 : À travers la montagne corse

Le GR 20 est l’un des plus mythiques GR de France. Mais il est également l’un des plus exigeants. D’année en année, son succès ne se dément pas. Un véritable graal pour les amoureux de trek. Le GR 20 Fra li monti sillonne la massif corse de Calenzana à Conca. Ses 200 kilomètres de chemins à parcourir entre mer et montagne, mais aussi ses 15 000 mètres de dénivelé positif, entraînent les randonneurs jusqu’à 2 000 mètres d’altitude. Pour réaliser ce GR de France dans son intégralité, une excellente préparation physique et logistique est nécessaire. Si vous ne vous sentez pas prêt pour affronter 15 jours de trek, vous avez la possibilité de n’en parcourir qu’une portion.

GR 20 en Corse

Le GR 34 occupe à lui seul 4 places du classement des GR de France

Les 4 prochaines places de ce Top 10 des GR de France reviennent au GR 34 ! Les portions de la côte de Granit Rose, de la Côte d’Émeraude, des Abers et de la presqu’île du Crozon ainsi que du littoral et îles du Morbihan, se partagent respectivement les places 3 à 6 du classement. Le sentier des douaniers de Bretagne a donc réellement la côte ! Il faut dire que ce GR borde l’ensemble des côtes bretonnes sur plus de 2 000 kilomètres. Comment ne pas succomber à l’appel de ces paysages ? Il avait d’ailleurs été élu GR Préféré des Français en 2018. De la baie du Mont-Saint-Michel à la Manche, des découvertes époustouflantes vous y attendent.

Sentier des douaniers en Bretagne

GR TMP : Le Tour du Mont-Blanc

Le Mont-Blanc demeure l’une des montagnes les plus emblématiques et les plus inaccessibles d’Europe. Au départ du village des Houches, non loin de Chamonix, la boucle de 215 kilomètres du GR du Tour du Mont-Blanc offre une expérience magique. Il faudra tout de même 10 jours d’effort pour la parcourir en entier. Entre France, Suisse et Italie, les cols, crêtes, glaciers et torrents se succèdent pour le plus grand émerveillement des marcheurs.

Tour du Mont-Blanc

GR 10 : Les Pyrénées Occidentales

À travers le Pays basque et le Béarn, cette portion de la Traversée des Pyrénées relie Hendaye à Arrens-Marsous. Pas moins de 260 kilomètres entre Pyrénées-Atlantiques et Hautes-Pyrénées, offrent ainsi la découverte du pic du Midi d’Ossau, du Parc National des Pyrénées et du bassin naturel de l’Adour.

Pic du Midi d'Ossau

GR 58 : Le Tour du Queyras

Le GR 58 porte merveilleusement son nom. Son tracé entraîne en effet les randonneurs sur le tour du Parc Naturel Régional du Queyras. Forêts de mélèzes, torrents impétueux, prairies et villages se découvrent tout au long des 130 kilomètres de sentier. Si la majeure partie du parcours se situe en moyenne montagne, les marcheurs devront quand même affronter les 2 884 mètres du col de la Chamoussière !

GR du Tour du Queyras

PR : Le Finistère à pied

Pour finir ce Top 10 des GR de France, place une nouvelle fois à la Bretagne. Et c’est sur le littoral, mais également dans les terres que ce topo-guide Promenade & Randonnée entraîne le lecteur. Pas moins de 47 circuits de tout niveau, dont 4 adaptés à la marche nordique s’offrent aux visiteurs du Finistère. Ils permettent de découvrir des sites d’intérêt patrimonial et des espaces naturels sensibles.

Près de 100 campings Welcome sont labellisés Randonnée. Les propriétaires de ces campings vous garantissent un accueil personnalisé et adapté à la pratique de ce sport de pleine nature. Découvrez dès maintenant les campings Welcome labellisés Randonnée et leurs engagements.