carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Four ideas for a truly green summer vacation

The summer months are fast approaching and this prospect invites us to reform our vision of the holidays. Because holidays should no longer rhyme with abuse and waste. It is time to act and give meaning to each of our choices. The holidays are part of the profound change needed to limit our impact on the planet.

Trop long, vacations have been synonymous with disposable dishes, junk food and low cost flights to crowded holiday villages. This trend is now behind us. Awareness is real, and behavior is evolving towards tourism that is aware of the challenges of sustainable development. This summer, whether you are staying at home or going to your vacation spot, it is possible to make informed choices in accordance with your convictions.

Today we offer you four ideas for a truly eco-friendly vacation.

Escape crowded sites

Who has never dreamed of sharing a photo of themselves in a dream setting? Unfortunately, some natural sites popularized by films, documentaries or guides, have become highways for tourists in search of exceptional shots. Result… If the photo (deceptively green) is sometimes successful, the impact on the place is often disastrous. Machu Picchu, Everest, Mont Blanc, or the Lascaux cave for example pay a heavy price for mass tourism. On Twitter, Lukas Stefanko had also illustrated this phenomenon of dream photos in supposedly deserted places through a tweet called "The social media queue" ... A snub to mass tourism which has recently developed in wilderness.

The account Insta Repeat for its part, tracks the standardized images deposited on the famous platform. Spending an environmentally friendly holiday may be to start by thinking outside the box, and being surprised by the beauty of the places we pass through, without necessarily looking for the fashionable cliché.

Opt for means of transport that consume little fossil fuels

If you eat organic and in a short circuit, if you limit and sort your waste, if you practice DIY and are a fan of cycling, it is because you are already aware of sustainable development. Why not continue the process to limit air travel. As we know, the carbon footprint of the plane is disastrous… If you are not constrained by too long distances, opt for the train, the car, the barge, the sail, the bicycle or who knows the scooter! There are so many ways to get around. Why want at all costs to choose the most greedy?

Practice rejuvenating activities

Forget the swimming pool and the crowded beach to rediscover the joy of swimming in nature. Enjoy the pleasure of walking for several hours to a secluded cove. Let yourself be tempted by a nap near a lake. Dare to jump into a natural swimming pool at the bend of a torrent! Here are swims that will be unlike any other, and that will delight young and old. For sport, opt for walking, cycling, canoeing, climbing… What if you decided to spend a night of bivouac under the starry vault?

Engraved souvenir

For those who spend their holidays at home, it's the perfect time to discover the heritage of their region, but also to garden, cook, sort, store, give away what we no longer need. By sorting at home, you will be sorting in your head. You will leave for a new year with a free spirit. And if this is not necessary at home, take the opportunity to introduce yourself to the practice of an instrument or to create, divert, and make new things. The web is full of creative resources and tutorials to develop new skills.

Final basic tips

It's easy to forget the basics once you're on vacation, so don't make these rookie mistakes… Many sunscreens are just as toxic to you as they are to the environment. Choose your sun protection with the greatest care and do not hesitate to ask your retailer for advice. For your picnics, choose zero waste… No more bottles, plates and plastic bags. Now is the time for water bottles, reusable dishes and woven baskets. One last detail… When you leave the house, remember to unplug your devices on standby!

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Quatre idées pour des vacances d’été vraiment écolos

Les mois d’été arrivent à grands pas et cette perspective invite à réformer notre vision des vacances. Car les vacances ne doivent plus rimer avec abus et gaspillage. Il est temps d’agir et de redonner du sens à chacun de nos choix. Les vacances font partie du changement profond nécessaire pour limiter notre impact sur la planète.

Trop longtemps, les vacances ont été synonymes de vaisselles jetables, de malbouffe et de vols low cost à destination de villages vacances bondés. Cette tendance est désormais derrière nous. La prise de conscience est réelle, et les comportements évoluent vers un tourisme conscient des enjeux du développement durable. Cet été, que vous restiez à la maison ou que vous vous rendiez sur votre lieu de vacances, il est possible de faire des choix éclairés en accord avec vos convictions.

Nous vous proposons aujourd’hui quatre idées pour passer des vacances vraiment écolos.

Fuir les sites bondés

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de partager une photo de soi dans un décor de rêve ? Malheureusement, certains sites naturels popularisés par des films, des documentaires ou des guides, sont devenus des autoroutes pour touristes en quête de clichés d’exception. Résultat… Si la photo (faussement écolo) est parfois réussie, l’impact sur le lieu est bien souvent désastreux. Le Machu Picchu, l’Everest, le Mont Blanc, ou la grotte de Lascaux par exemple paient un lourd tribu au tourisme de masse. Sur Twitter, Lukas Stefanko avait d’ailleurs illustré ce phénomène de photos de rêve dans des lieux prétendument déserts au travers d’un tweet appelé “The social media queue”… Un pied de nez au tourisme de masse qui s’est récemment développé en pleine nature.

Le compte Insta Repeat traque quant à lui les images standardisées déposées sur la célèbre plateforme. Passer des vacances respectueuses de l’environnement, c’est peut-être commencer par sortir des sentiers battus, et se laisser surprendre par la beauté des lieux que nous traversons, sans forcément rechercher le cliché à la mode.

Opter pour des moyens de transport peu gourmands en énergie fossile

Si vous mangez bio et en circuit court, si vous limitez et triez vos déchets, si vous pratiquez le DIY et êtes adepte des déplacements en vélo, c’est que vous êtes déjà sensibilisé au développement durable. Pourquoi ne pas poursuivre la démarche jusqu’à limiter les déplacements en avion. On le sait, le bilan carbone de l’avion est désastreux… Si vous n’y êtes pas contraint par de trop longues distances, optez pour le train, la voiture, la péniche, la voile, le vélo ou qui sait le triporteur ! Il y a tant de moyens de se déplacer. Pourquoi vouloir à tout prix faire le choix du plus gourmand ?

Pratiquer des activités ressourçantes

Oubliez la piscine et la plage noire de monde pour redécouvrir la joie des baignades en pleine nature. Goûtez au plaisir de marcher plusieurs heures jusqu’à une crique isolée. Laissez-vous tenter par une sieste près d’un lac. Osez un saut dans une piscine naturelle au détour d’un torrent ! Voilà des baignades qui ne ressembleront à aucune autre, et qui combleront petits et grands. Pour le sport, optez pour la marche, le vélo, le canoë, l’escalade… Et si vous décidiez de passer une nuit de bivouac sous la voûte étoilée ?

Souvenir gravé

Pour ceux qui passent leurs vacances à la maison, c’est le moment idéal de découvrir le patrimoine de sa région, mais aussi de jardiner, cuisiner, trier, ranger, donner ce dont on n’a plus besoin. En faisant le tri à la maison, vous ferez le tri dans votre tête. Vous repartirez pour une nouvelle année l’esprit libre. Et si cela n’est pas nécessaire chez vous, saisissez l’occasion pour vous initier à la pratique d’un instrument ou pour créer, détourner, et fabriquer de nouvelles choses. Le web regorge de ressources créatives et de tutos pour développer de nouvelles compétences.

Derniers conseils de base

Il est vite possible d’oublier les bases une fois que l’on est en vacances, alors ne faites pas ces erreurs de débutants… De nombreuses crèmes solaires sont aussi toxiques pour vous que pour l’environnement. Choisissez votre protection solaire avec le plus grand soin et n’hésitez pas à demander conseil à votre commerçant. Pour vos pique-niques, faites le choix du zéro déchet… Fini les bouteilles, assiettes et sacs plastique. L’heure est aux gourdes, à la vaisselle réutilisable et aux paniers tressés. Un dernier détail… Quand vous quitterez la maison, pensez à débranchez vos appareils en veille !

La rédaction