carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Portrait: Pierre Rollet, Landes and big wave surfer

In winter, it tracks the depressions of the Atlantic coast in search of big waves. In summer, he teaches surfing in Seignosse in the Landes. From his beginnings in the foam to his magnificent record on XXL waves, discover Pierre Rollet, big wave surfer.

Né in Bayonne, Pierre Rollet discovered surfing at the age of 9. He was unaware then that this passion would accompany him and trace a path for him in the very small circle of pro surfers. After a few years of assiduous practice in Anglet, Pierre made his debut in competition. Trained at France Pole, it accesses the junior pro circuit. Member of the French team, medalist at the European and World Championships, the young Basque continues his ascent until the discovery of the big wave surf. Belharra, Nazaré, Punta Galea and Jaws are gradually becoming his favorite playgrounds.

Big wave surf

The technique acquired at the Pôle France, its small and muscular build and its rigorous preparation, will very quickly allow Pierre to shine in the context of the World Surf League.

“I learned to observe well for hours during the onboard spot. I even paid a jet driver to navigate the spot without surfing, just to understand how these waves work. "

And his efforts will be rewarded. On November 18, 2018, he made an entry in the category Ride of the Year Award of the WSL Big Wave Awards 2019, at Praia do Norte in Nazaré, Portugal.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Pierre Rollet (@pierre_rollet_) le

XXL Biggest Wave 2018 and 2019 in Nazaré, Biggest Paddle Entry 2019 and 2020 in Nazaré, Punta Galea or the legendary Jaws spot in Maui. In 2019, Pierre took part in the big surf competition, Punta Galea Challenge. At the entrance to the port of Bilbao in Spain, the competitors had to face waves of six meters and winds from the South-South-East. Pierre nevertheless managed to climb to second place in the standings. It was the Brazilian Lucas Chianca who won by a short head. A real feat and a legitimacy definitely acquired in the world of big wave surfing.

Natureo Surf Camp

Winter in the big waves… Summer in Seignosse in the Landes. Accompanied by his wife Paola and their little boy Mattin, Pierre devotes himself to the transmission of the practice of surfing to Natureo Surf Camp, for an camping de the community Welcome Surf. In the south of the Landes, in the heart of a preserved natural setting, 600 meters from the beach and surf spots, Pierre and Paola share their respective passions for surfing and yoga. Nature, sport, well-being and relaxation come together in a restful atmosphere. Lessons, surf-camp, rental of surf, sup, bike or simply lazing around in an idyllic setting are available to lovers of the ocean.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Pierre Rollet (@pierre_rollet_) le

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Portrait : Pierre Rollet, landais et surfeur de grosses vagues

L’hiver, il traque les dépressions du littoral atlantique en quête de grosses vagues. L’été, il enseigne le surf à Seignosse dans les Landes. De ses débuts dans l’écume à son magnifique palmarès sur les vagues XXL, découvrez Pierre Rollet, surfeur de grosses vagues.

Né à Bayonne, Pierre Rollet a découvert le surf à l’âge de 9 ans. Il ignorait alors que cette passion allait l’accompagner et lui tracer une voie dans le cercle très restreint des surfeurs pro. Après quelques années de pratique assidue à Anglet, Pierre fait ses débuts en compétition. Formé au Pôle France, il accède au circuit pro junior. Membre de l’équipe de France, médaillé aux championnats d’Europe et du Monde, le jeune basque poursuit son ascension jusqu’à la découverte du surf de grosses vagues. Belharra, Nazaré, Punta Galea et Jaws deviennent peu à peu ses terrains de jeux de prédilection.

Surf de grosses vagues

La technique acquise au Pôle France, son gabarit petit et musclé et sa préparation rigoureuse, vont très rapidement permettre à Pierre de s’illustrer dans le cadre de la World Surf League.

“J’ai appris à bien observer des heures durant le spot du bord. J’ai même payé un conducteur de jet pour sillonner le spot sans surfer, juste pour comprendre les fonctionnements de ces vagues.”

Et ses efforts seront récompensés. Le 18 novembre 2018, il fait une entrée dans la catégorie Ride of the Year Award des WSL Big Wave Awards 2019, à Praia do Norte à Nazaré, au Portugal.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Pierre Rollet (@pierre_rollet_) le

XXL Biggest Wave 2018 et 2019 à Nazaré, Biggest Paddle Entry 2019 et 2020 à Nazaré, Punta Galea ou encore le mythique spot de Jaws à Maui. En 2019, Pierre a participé à la compétition de gros surf, Punta Galea Challenge.  À l’entrée du port de Bilbao en Espagne, les concurrents ont dû affronter des vagues de six mètres et des vents de Sud-Sud-Est. Pierre est malgré tout parvenu à se hisser à la deuxième place du classement. C’est le brésilien Lucas Chianca qui l’a emporté d’une courte tête. Un véritable exploit et une légitimité définitivement acquise dans le monde du surf de grosses vagues.

Natureo Surf Camp

L’hiver dans les grosses vagues… L’été à Seignosse dans les Landes. Accompagné de son épouse Paola et de leur petit garçon Mattin, Pierre se consacre à la transmission de la pratique du surf au Natureo Surf Camp, un camping de la communauté Welcome Surf. Dans le sud des Landes, au coeur d’un cadre naturel préservé, à 600 mètres de la plage et des spots de surf, Pierre et Paola partagent leurs passions respectives pour le surf et le yoga. Nature, sport, bien-être et détente sont au rendez-vous dans une atmosphère reposante. Cours, surf-camp, location de surf, sup, vélo ou simplement farniente dans un cadre idyllique s’offrent aux amoureux de l’océan.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Pierre Rollet (@pierre_rollet_) le

La rédaction