carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Portrait: Marcel Rémy, the nonagenarian "Patriarche des cimes"

Marcel Rémy is one of the men whose singularity can only challenge. This amateur Swiss mountaineer was revealed to the public after completing impressive physical challenges at the age of 90 and over.

Pmountain and climbing enthusiast, curious by nature, endowed with incredible determination and motivation, Marcel Remy is an extraordinary personality and particularly endearing. When he was very young, he was already dreaming of the highest peaks when he looked up from the valley. But his father had a whole different plan for him. This son of a peasant and lumberjack would become a railroad worker, but his passion for the mountains would never end.

A strength of character

For one of his sons the observation is clear, it is "his bad temper" that has pushed him to achieve many feats throughout his life. And it was after 90 years that he finally became famous in the world of climbing and mountaineering. A 97-year-old young man who never ceases to be talked about. Interviewed during his last journey, the Patriarch of the Peaks said he was happy to still experience the same sensations as when he was only 60, 70 or 80 years old!…

Grimpeur

Illustrative image

At the age of 94, accompanied by his sons Claude and Yves, Marcel climbed the 450 meters limestone and 14 pitches 5b / 5c of the Miroir de l'Argentine in the Vaudois Alps. It is true that he climbed it almost 200 times this route, but to achieve the ascent at such an old age was a real achievement. He first prepared himself physically by undergoing demanding and regular training in the climbing gym. Then the time has come.

“Given the difficulty, we had to divide into stages. The trail first, steep, stony, bending, not at all easy… […] Climb to the foot of the Mirror and bivouac there […] He could therefore rest before the climb itself. "

An extraordinary feat

In the morning, the start was smooth at dawn. Then the long-awaited moment of the ascent of the Mirror arrived. 450 meters to climb with the sole strength of his legs and arms, roped to his sons, one of whom testifies to his doubts.

“At the start, I thought there was only a 5 to 10% chance of getting there, then gradually this chance increased during the ascent […] Until the last moment we were anxious. We weren't sure it was won. " 

Despite the risk of an accident, Marcel and his team arrived at the top, tired but happy and aware of the precious moments they were going through. An intense moment immortalized in this 24-minute video.

“I wouldn't have thought I could climb like this again. I feel that it is decreasing, but I am still well. "

After his feat, Marcel was too tired to walk back down. But whatever, it was in a paraglider that he reached the valley, accompanied by the paraglider and friend, Jérémy Péclard.

“Something can happen to anyone. Something can happen to us everyday. But if we can go over it and have fun… I think it's all in the head that it's happening. I enjoy doing such and such a thing. This is my stimulus. "

Since his feat, Marcel Rémy has continued to climb. A fall immobilized him for a few months, but we wouldn't be surprised to see him again on a wall ...

Portrait : Marcel Rémy, le nonagénaire “Patriarche des cimes”

Marcel Rémy fait partie des hommes dont la singularité ne peut qu’interpeller. Ce suisse alpiniste amateur a été révélé au public après avoir réalisé d’impressionnants défis physiques à l’âge de 90 ans et plus.

Passionné de montagne et d’escalade, curieux par nature, doté d’une détermination et d’une motivation incroyable, Marcel Rémy est une personnalité hors-norme et particulièrement attachante. Alors qu’il était tout jeune, il rêvait déjà des plus hauts sommets lorsqu’il levait les yeux depuis la vallée. Mais son père avait un tout autre projet pour lui. Ce fils de paysan et bûcheron deviendra ouvrier aux chemins de fer, mais sa passion pour la montagne ne s’éteindra jamais.

Une force de caractère

Pour l’un de ses fils le constat est clair, c’est “son sale caractère” qui l’a poussé à réaliser de nombreux exploits tout au long de sa vie. Et c’est après 90 ans qu’il est finalement devenu célèbre dans le monde de l’escalade et de l’alpinisme. Un jeune homme de 97 ans qui ne cesse de faire parler de lui. Interviewé lors de son dernier périple, le patriarche des cimes se disait heureux d’éprouver encore les mêmes sensations que lorsqu’il n’avait que 60, 70 ou 80 ans !…

Grimpeur

Image d’illustration

À 94 ans, accompagné de ses fils Claude et Yves, Marcel a gravi les 450 mètres calcaire et 14 longueurs 5b/5c du Miroir de l’Argentine dans les Alpes vaudoises. C’est vrai qu’il l’a grimpée près de 200 fois cette voie, mais réaliser l’ascension à un âge si avancé a été un réel exploit. Il s’est d’abord préparé physiquement en se soumettant à un entraînement exigeant et régulier en salle d’escalade. Puis le moment est arrivé.

“Vu la difficulté, il a fallu diviser en étapes. Le sentier d’abord, raide, caillouteux, tournant, pas du tout facile… […] Monter au pied du Miroir et y bivouaquer […] Il pouvait donc se reposer avant l’escalade en elle-même.”

Un exploit hors-norme

Le matin, la mise en route s’est faite en douceur dès l’aube. Puis le moment tant espéré de l’ascension du Miroir est arrivé. 450 mètres à gravir à la seule force de ses jambes et de ses bras, encordé à ses fils, dont l’un deux témoigne de ses doutes.

“Au départ, je pensais qu’il n’y avait que 5 à 10% de chances d’y arriver, puis progressivement cette chance a grandi durant l’ascension […] Jusqu’au dernier moment on était anxieux. On était pas sûrs que ce soit gagné. “

Malgré le risque d’accident, Marcel et sa cordée sont arrivés au sommet, fatigués mais heureux et conscients des instants précieux qu’ils étaient en train de vivre. Un moment intense immortalisé dans cette vidéo de 24 minutes.

“Je n’aurais pas cru pouvoir grimper encore comme ça. Je sens que ça diminue, mais je suis encore bien.”

Après son exploit, Marcel était trop fatigué pour redescendre à pied. Mais qu’importe, c’est en parapente qu’il a rejoint la vallée, accompagné du parapentiste et ami, Jérémy Péclard.

“Il peut arriver quelque chose à chacun. Tous les jours, il peut nous arriver quelque chose. Mais si on peut passer par dessus et se faire plaisir… Je pense que c’est tout dans la tête que ça se passe. Je me fais plaisir en faisant telle ou telle chose. C’est mon stimulant.”

Depuis son exploit, Marcel Rémy a continué de grimper. Une chute l’a immobilisé quelques mois, mais on ne serait pas étonnés de le croiser à nouveau sur une paroi…

La rédaction