carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Ellen MacArthur, a sailor committed to the environment

Passionate about the sea since the age of 4 and a key figure in solo sailing. Young woman committed to sick children with the organization Cancer Trust ... Now invested in the preservation of the environment, Ellen MacArthur has left her mark on the world of sport and the sea ... But also that of the fight for a sustainable economy .

Pbeing 29 years old, Ellen macarthur lived only for his passion, the ocean. She meets the general public at only 24 years old in 2001, when she finished the Vendée Globe in second position. The young British sailor and Francophile instantly conquered the public with her spontaneity and freshness. The following year, Ellen won the Route du Rhum. Later in 2005, and at only 27 years old, she will drop the world record in solo sailing. 71 days 14 hours and 18 minutes! “One of the happiest moments of my life,” said Ellen when she arrived.

Awards and distinctions

To this magnificent prize list will be added several distinctions. Elected Sailor of the Year by the International Sailing Federation, twice in 2001 and 2005. Ennobled by Queen Elizabeth II, she receives the title of chivalry after her greatest achievement. Nicolas Sarkozy will give him the title of Knight of the Legion of Honour in 2008. The asteroid 20043 will be named Ellenmacarthur.

A sudden turn

But after having made the whole world dream through her exploits and at only 33 years old, Ellen MacArthur interrupted her career to devote herself to the defense of the environment. The solo sailing race has indeed led the sailor to a radical awareness. One night, when she was alone in the heart of the Southern Ocean in a terrible storm, Ellen made the analogy between her living conditions on the boat and those of humanity on the planet. On a boat, resources are limited. Impossible to stop over to buy any product. It is the same for the economy of the world.

“No experience in my life could have given me a better understanding of the definition of the word 'limited'… Our global economy is no different. It is entirely dependent on limited products. We only have them once in human history. "

Southern storm

Energy sources and raw materials are limited. However, for 150 years humanity has operated according to a linear economy. It extracts resources, transforms them, uses them and throws them away. Planet-wide nonsense. All biological systems indeed function according to a cycle. As a result of this real awareness, Ellen MacArthur finally set out to speak with leaders, experts, scientists, and economists in an attempt to understand the global economy.

“At sea I had to understand complex systems. I had to integrate multiple pieces of information, process it and understand the system to win… Make it intelligible. As I was studying the world economy, I realized that it was also a system, but a system that cannot work in the long run. "

Its commitment to promoting a circular economy

A system in which the consumption of limited energy sources and raw materials increases exponentially is doomed to failure. The strategy of consuming less, circulating less and doing less only saves time. For Ellen, only a true transition to a different, circular and virtuous model will be able to allow humanity to regain balance. In 2010, she then created the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, whose objective is to encourage the public and companies to rethink, design and build a sustainable future based on the concept ofcircular economy.

“The decisions we make today affect the resources of tomorrow. With new ways of thinking, we can rethink the system. "

Plastic waste

Interviewed by West France, Ellen MacArthur presents the three pillars on which this model is based.

“One, to ensure that everything that is manufactured does not generate waste or pollution, right from the design of the products. Two, ensure that the materials used are chosen to last, keeping the products of the highest possible quality, for as long as possible. Three, that human activities do not deplete resources, leaving natural systems the possibility of regeneration. We must move from a linear economy, in which we produce, we consume and we throw away, to this circular economy. "

Protecting the oceans

Of the 78 million plastics produced, only 2% would be recycled. And the oceans are paying a heavy price. Through a large study conducted by the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, it has been established that in 2050, the weight of plastic and fish will be equivalent in the oceans. Speaker at the World Economic Forum, Ellen already alerted in 2016..

“Today, we estimate that there are around 150 million tonnes of plastic waste in the oceans. If the consumption of plastic continues at the same rate, the ocean should contain 1 tonne of plastic for 3 tonnes of fish in 2025 and 2050, more plastic than fish, in terms of weight. "

Discover the TED talk, subtitled in French, during which Ellen MacArthur talks about the foundations of her commitment to a circular economy.

Ellen MacArthur, une navigatrice engagée pour l’environnement

Passionnée par la mer depuis l’âge de 4 ans et personnalité incontournable de la course à la voile en solitaire. Jeune femme engagée auprès des enfants malades avec l’organisation Cancer Trust… Désormais investie dans la préservation de l’environnement, Ellen MacArthur a marqué de son empreinte le monde du sport, de la mer, mais aussi celui de la lutte pour une économie durable.

Pendant 29 ans, Ellen MacArthur n’a vécu que pour sa passion, l’océan. Révélée au grand public à seulement 24 ans en 2001, lorsqu’elle termina le Vendée Globe en deuxième position, la jeune navigatrice britannique et francophile a instantanément conquis le public par sa spontanéité et sa fraicheur. L’année suivante, Ellen remportait la Route du Rhum. Plus tard en 2005, et à seulement 27 ans, elle fera tomber le record du monde à la voile en solitaire. 71 jours 14 heures et 18 minutes ! “L’un des plus beaux moments de ma vie” déclarera Ellen à son arrivée.

Palmarès et distinctions

À ce magnifique palmarès s’ajouteront plusieurs distinctions. Élue Marin de l’année par la fédération internationale de voile, à deux reprises en 2001 et 2005. Anoblie par la Reine Elizabeth II, elle reçoit le titre de la chevalerie après son plus grand exploit. Nicolas Sarkozy lui attribuera le titre de Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur en 2008. L’astéroïde 20043 sera quant-à-lui baptisé Ellenmacarthur.

Un virage soudain

Mais après avoir fait rêver le monde entier au travers de ses exploits et à seulement 33 ans, Ellen MacArthur interrompt sa carrière pour se consacrer à la défense de l’environnement. La course à la voile en solitaire a en effet conduit la navigatrice à une prise de conscience radicale. Une nuit, alors qu’elle était seule au coeur de l’océan austral dans une terrible tempête, Ellen fit l’analogie entre ses conditions de vie sur le bateau et celles de l’humanité sur la planète. Sur un bateau, les ressources sont limitées. Impossible de faire escale pour acheter un quelconque produit. Il en est de même pour l’économie du monde.

“Aucune expérience de ma vie n’aurait pu m’apporter une meilleure compréhension de la définition du mot ‘limité’… Notre économie mondiale n’est pas différente. Elle est entièrement dépendante de produits limités. Nous ne les possédons qu’une fois dans l’histoire de l’humanité.”

Tempête australe

Les sources d’énergie et les matières premières sont limitées. Pour autant, depuis 150 ans l’humanité fonctionne selon une économie linéaire. Elle extrait les ressources, les transforme, les utilise et les jette. Un non-sens à l’échelle de la planète. L’ensemble des systèmes biologiques fonctionnent en effet selon un cycle. À la suite de cette véritable prise de conscience, Ellen MacArthur a finalement entrepris de parler avec des dirigeants, des experts, des scientifiques, et des économistes pour tenter de comprendre l’économie mondiale.

“En mer j’avais dû comprendre des systèmes complexes. Je devais intégrer de multiples informations, les traiter et comprendre le système pour gagner… Le rendre intelligible. Alors que j’étudiais l’économie mondiale, j’ai réalisé que c’était aussi un système, mais un système qui ne peut pas fonctionner sur le long terme.”

Son engagement pour la promotion d’une économie circulaire

Un système dans lequel la consommation des sources d’énergie et des matières premières limitées augmente de façon exponentielle est voué à l’échec. La stratégie consistant à consommer moins, circuler moins, faire moins, ne permet quant-à-elle que de gagner du temps. Pour Ellen, seule une véritable transition vers un modèle différent, circulaire et vertueux pourra permettre à l’humanité de retrouver l’équilibre. En 2010, elle crée alors la Fondation Ellen MacArthur, dont l’objectif est d’inciter le public et les entreprises à repenser, concevoir et construire un avenir durable en s’appuyant sur le concept d’économie circulaire.

“Les décisions que nous prenons aujourd’hui affectent les ressources de demain. Avec de nouvelles façons de penser, nous pouvons repenser le système.”

Déchets plastique

Interviewée par Ouest France, Ellen MacArthur présente les trois piliers sur lesquels repose ce modèle.

“Un, faire en sorte que tout ce qui est fabriqué ne génère ni déchets ni pollution, et ce dès la conception des produits. Deux, s’assurer que les matériaux utilisés soient choisis pour durer, en conservant aux produits la plus haute qualité possible, le plus longtemps possible. Trois, que les activités humaines n’épuisent pas les ressources, en laissant aux systèmes naturels la possibilité de se régénérer. Nous devons passer d’une économie linéaire, dans laquelle on produit, on consomme et on jette, à cette économie circulaire.”

La protection des océans

Sur les 78 millions de plastique produits, seulement 2% seraient recyclés. Et les océans payent un très lourd tribu. Au travers d’une vaste étude menée par la fondation Ellen MacArthur, il a été établi qu’en 2050, le poids du plastique et des poissons sera équivalent dans les océans. Oratrice au World Economic Forum, Ellen alertait déjà en 2016..

“Aujourd’hui, nous estimons qu’il y a environ 150 millions de tonnes de déchets plastiques dans les océans. Si la consommation de plastique se poursuit au même rythme, l’océan devrait contenir 1 tonne de plastique pour 3 tonnes de poisson en 2025 et en 2050, plus de plastique que de poisson, en terme de poids.”

Découvrez la conférence TED sous-titrée en français, au cours de laquelle Ellen MacArthur raconte les fondements de son engagement pour une économie circulaire.

La rédaction

Crédit image : Bryan Ledgard from Yorkshire, UK / CC BY