Rain of medals for the French at the MTB Worlds

On October 10 and 11, it was in difficult weather conditions that the mountain biking worlds were held in Leogang, Austria. And many even wonder if it was not simply the "wettest ever" world! But nothing to worry the French riders… They shone several times on the first step of the podium.

DIt's hard to describe the conditions in which the UCI Mountain Bike Worlds took place this year. Snowstorm, rain and mud up to the knees at the end of the track did not make it easier for the riders gathered in the Austrian Alps to compete in the downhill and cross-country events. A major event broadcast by Red Bull TV. And if the conditions were extreme, the French were largely up to the event.

Double winner in cross-country

In cross-country, Pauline Ferrand Prévot keeps her rainbow jersey by winning the world title for a third time. At 28, Pauline crossed the finish line 3 minutes ahead of her rivals Eva Lechner and Rebecca Mc Connell. Clearly, nothing can stop this world champion medalist in cyclo-cross, cross-country, but also on the road in 2014 and 2015. The year 2019 had however been particularly difficult with two surgeries for an injury to the left leg. It seems that Pauline has returned from convalescence in great shape! She outdid herself in this event.

“A beautiful day that rewards a hard year of work. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Pauline FERRAND-PREVOT (@paulineferrandprevot) le

On the boys' side, it was Jordan Sarrou who stood out beautifully. “A dream come true” for the 27-year-old rider, crowned for the first time in his career world champion in cross-country mountain biking.

“I can't believe it, I have no words. It's not possible. I am in the middle of a dream. It was a crazy race, in conditions that I love. "

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Jordan SARROU (@jordansarrou) le

And that's not all…

The succession is assured among women. In downhill, the podium was mostly blue white red for the juniors. At 17, Lauryne Chappaz won the world title. Leona Pierrini offered herself the bronze. For Lauryne, this day was quite simply the most beautiful day of her life.

" I realized my dream ! World Champion ! The most wonderful day of my life… ”

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Lauryne Chappaz 🇫🇷 (@lauryne_chappaz) le

Another French feat among the Hopes. Loana Lecomte was adorned with gold on the cross-country podium, in the under 23 category. Loana is a rising star in the French team. At 21, she edged her rivals by more than a minute.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Loana Lecomte (@loanalecomte) le

And as the French had decided not to do things by halves at the Leogang Mountain Bike Worlds, they also offered themselves a victory in the relay. Congratulations to the Frenchies rockets!

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Loana Lecomte (@loanalecomte) le

Pluie de médailles pour les français aux mondiaux de VTT

Les 10 et 11 octobre dernier, c’est dans des conditions météos difficiles que se sont tenus les mondiaux de VTT à Leogang en Autriche. Et beaucoup se demandent même s’il ne s’agissait pas tout simplement, du mondial “le plus humide de tous les temps” ! Mais pas de quoi inquiéter les riders français… Ils ont brillé à plusieurs reprises sur la première marche du podium.

Difficile de décrire les conditions dans lesquelles les Mondiaux de VTT UCI se sont déroulés cette année. Tempête de neige, pluie et boue jusqu’aux genoux en fin de piste, n’ont pas facilité la tâche des coureurs réunis dans les Alpes autrichiennes pour disputer les épreuves de descente et de cross-country. Un événement majeur retransmis par Red Bull TV. Et si les conditions ont été extrêmes, les français ont été largement à la hauteur de l’événement.

Doublé gagnant en cross-country

En cross-country, Pauline Ferrand Prévot conserve son maillot arc-en-ciel en remportant une troisième fois le titre mondial. À 28 ans, Pauline a franchi la ligne d’arrivée avec 3 minutes d’avance sur ses rivales Eva Lechner et Rebecca Mc Connell. Décidément, rien n’arrête cette championne du monde médaillée en cyclo-cross, cross-country, mais aussi sur route en 2014 et 2015. L’année 2019 avait pourtant été particulièrement difficile avec deux chirurgies pour une blessure à la jambe gauche. Il semble que Pauline soit revenue de convalescence en pleine forme ! Elle s’est surpassée sur cette épreuve.

“Une belle journée qui récompense une dure année de travail.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Pauline FERRAND-PREVOT (@paulineferrandprevot) le

Du côté des garçons, c’est Jordan Sarrou qui s’est magnifiquement illustré. “Un rêve devenu réalité” pour le coureur de 27 ans, sacré pour la première fois de sa carrière champion du monde de VTT cross-country.

“Je n’arrive pas à y croire, je n’ai pas de mots. C’est pas possible. Je suis en plein rêve. C’était une course de dingue, dans des conditions que j’adore.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Jordan SARROU (@jordansarrou) le

Et ce n’est pas tout…

La relève est assurée chez les féminines. En descente, le podium était majoritairement bleu blanc rouge chez les juniors. À 17 ans, Lauryne Chappaz décroche le titre mondial. Leona Pierrini s’est quant-à-elle offert le bronze. Pour Lauryne, ce jour a tout simplement été le plus beau de sa vie.

“J’ai réalisé mon rêve ! Championne du monde ! Le plus merveilleux jour de ma vie…”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Lauryne Chappaz 🇫🇷 (@lauryne_chappaz) le

Encore un exploit français chez les Espoirs. Loana Lecomte s’est paré d’or sur le podium de cross-country, dans la catégorie des moins de 23 ans. Loana est une étoile montante dans l’équipe française. À 21 ans, elle a devancé ses rivales de plus de une minute.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Loana Lecomte (@loanalecomte) le

Et comme les français avaient décidé de ne pas faire les choses à moitié au mondiaux de VTT de Leogang, ils se sont également offerts une victoire en relais. Félicitations aux Frenchies rockets !

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Loana Lecomte (@loanalecomte) le

La rédaction