carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

A little guide for the budding eco-traveler

More and more holidaymakers are choosing to become an eco-traveler. They are thus trying to limit the consequences of mass tourism. Air, water and soil pollution, concreteisation of coastlines, disappearance of biodiversity, poor waste management and overconsumption of natural resources ... In the most touristic regions, the environment is paying a heavy price.

Ethat's not all. The imbalance of the rental market, the threat of cultural heritage and seasonal overcrowding affect the quality of life of local populations. Tourism represents for them a financial windfall, but also becomes a factor of degradation of their environment. The balance is sometimes difficult to find, and in several regions mass tourism has won the day. Tourism is today the third largest economic sector in the world after chemicals and fuels. In other words, a heavyweight in the global economy. But for many, this is enough. The end can no longer justify the means. It is time to change our individual behaviors while waiting for deeper changes. It's time to become an eco-traveler.

Eco-traveler Hummingbird StrategyThis hummingbird strategy, more and more travelers have adopted it. Now is the time for sustainable holidays, limited travel and environmentally friendly leisure activities. Eco-tourism was defined in 1992 by the International Eco-Tourism Society as "A form of responsible travel in natural spaces, which contributes to the protection of the environment and the well-being of local populations". Eco-tourism enhances endangered natural areas or cultural sites, and develops employment at the local level without destroying the environment.

And when we start to take an interest in eco-tourism, we can only note that the offer is bloated.

Destinations

Eco-traveler couple in the mountainsFrance is one of the countries with the greatest diversity of landscapes, ecosystems and climates. In metropolitan France, the oceanic, Mediterranean, mountain and continental climates coexist, generating a range of exceptional landscapes. Sandy beaches, creeks, coves and cliffs, pine forests, scrubland or primary forests, but also green plains, marshes and wetlands, high plateaus, passes and vertiginous peaks ... You will not have enough of a life to overcome all the destinations available to you. No need to go to the end of the world to be filled.

Labels can help you make an informed choice. Regional Natural Parks are created to protect and enhance large inhabited rural areas. The label City or Country of Art and History, certifies that the public authorities are committed to the protection of their cultural and natural heritage. Labeled municipalities Objective 0 Phyto are committed to reducing the use of plant protection products.

Accommodation for eco-travelers

More and more tourism professionals are committing to an approach that respects the environment. Hotels and campings limit the use of plastic. Welcome to the farm labels, Écogîte or Accueil Paysan are now well known to the general public. The Gîtes Panda label attests to respect for biodiversity, eco-habitat and eco-citizenship of the hosts. Many campings are part of an approach that respects the environment.

Food

To the eco-traveler, consuming local is the key word, and preferably organic. Why not take advantage of the holidays to stroll through the small markets and browse the shops of enthusiasts. You risk only one thing… Take a liking to this quality of life and continue all year round!

Leisure and eco-travel

romantic kayakSi the eco-traveler chooses to slow down and savor the present moment, however impossible for him to know boredom. Bikes, randonnée, Nordic's walk, bowling, tennis, swimming, canoe, fishing, introductions to market gardening, eco-construction and sustainable development, workshops with artisans and farm visits will always be on the menu.

As you will have understood, the eco-traveler has had an excellent and relaxing holiday while making reasoned and responsible choices, and respecting places and populations who welcome him. Take the step! This summer, become an eco-traveler.

Petit guide pour éco-voyageur en herbe

De plus en plus de vacanciers font le choix de devenir éco-voyageur. Ils tentent ainsi de limiter les conséquences du tourisme de masse. Pollution de l’air, de l’eau et des sols, bétonisation des littoraux, disparition de la biodiversité, mauvaise gestion des déchets et surconsommation des ressources naturelles… Dans les régions les plus touristiques, l’environnement paye un lourd tribu.

Et ce n’est pas tout. Le déséquilibre du marché locatif, la menace du patrimoine culturel et la surpopulation saisonnière altèrent la qualité de vie des populations locales. Le tourisme représente pour eux une manne financière, mais devient également un facteur de dégradation de leur environnement. L’équilibre est parfois difficile à trouver, et dans plusieurs régions le tourisme de masse l’a emporté. Le tourisme est aujourd’hui le troisième secteur économique mondial après la chimie et les carburants. Autant dire, un poids-lourd de l’économie mondiale. Mais pour beaucoup, c’en est assez. La fin ne peut plus justifier les moyens. Il est temps de changer nos comportements individuels en attendant des changements plus profonds. Il est temps de devenir éco-voyageur.

Stratégie du colibri de l'éco-voyageurCette stratégie du colibri, de plus en plus voyageurs l’ont adoptée. L’heure est désormais aux vacances raisonnées, aux déplacements limités et aux loisirs respectueux de l’environnement. L’éco-tourisme a été défini en 1992 par la Société internationale d’éco-tourisme comme “une forme de voyage responsable dans les espaces naturels, qui contribue à la protection de l’environnement et au bien-être des populations locales”. L’éco-tourisme valorise des zones naturelles ou des sites culturels menacés, et développe l’emploi au niveau local sans détruire l’environnement.

Et quand on commence à s’intéresser à l’éco-tourisme, on ne peut que constater que l’offre est pléthorique.

Destinations

Couple éco-voyageur à la montagneLa France est l’un des pays présentant la plus grande diversité de paysages, d’écosystèmes et de climats. En métropole, les climats océanique, méditerranéen, montagnard et continental cohabitent, génèrent une palette de paysages exceptionnels. Plages de sables, calanques, criques et falaises, pinèdes, garrigues ou forêts primaires, mais aussi plaines verdoyantes, marais et zones humides, hauts plateaux, cols et sommets vertigineux… Vous n’aurez pas assez d’une vie pour venir à bout de toutes les destinations qui s’offrent à vous. Inutile d’aller au bout du monde pour être comblé.

Des labels peuvent vous aider à faire un choix éclairé. Les Parcs naturels régionaux sont créés pour protéger et mettre en valeur de grands espaces ruraux habités. Le label Ville ou Pays d’art et d’histoire, certifie que les pouvoirs publics s’engagent pour la protection de leur patrimoine culturel et naturel. Les communes labellisées Objectif 0 Phyto se sont engagées à réduire le recours aux produits phytosanitaires.

Hébergements

De plus en plus de professionnels du tourisme s’engagent dans une démarche respectueuse de l’environnement. Les hôtels et campings limitent l’utilisation du plastique. Les labels Bienvenue à la ferme, Écogîte ou Accueil Paysan sont désormais bien connus du grand public. Le label Gîtes Panda atteste du respect de la biodiversité, de l’éco-habitat et l’éco-citoyenneté des hôtes. De nombreux campings s’inscrivent dans une démarche respectueuse de l’environnement.

Alimentation

Pour l’éco-voyageur, consommer local est le maître-mot, et de préférence Bio. Pourquoi ne pas profiter des vacances pour arpenter les petits marchés, et faire le tour des boutiques de passionnés. Vous ne risquez qu’une seule chose… Prendre goût à cette qualité de vie et continuer toute l’année !

Loisirs

kayak en amoureuxSi l’éco-voyageur fait le choix de ralentir et de savourer l’instant présent, impossible toutefois pour lui de connaître l’ennui. Vélo, randonnée, marche nordique, pétanque, tennis, nage, canoë, pêche, initiations au maraîchage, à l’éco-construction et au développement durable, ateliers chez les artisans et visites d’exploitations seront toujours au rendez-vous.

Vous l’aurez compris, l’éco-voyageur passe d’excellentes et reposantes vacances tout en faisant des choix raisonnés et responsables, et en respectant les lieux et populations qui l’accueillent. Faites le pas ! Cet été, devenez éco-voyageur.

La rédaction