carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 6: The Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a Burgundy site recognized in 1981, the Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay.

Situated in the Bourgogne Franche-Comté region, in the Côte-d'Or department in the town of Marmagne, the Cistercian abbey of Fontenay was founded in 1119 by Saint-Bernard de Clairvaux. Built in a remote location, near springs and fertile land, the sober edifice emerges from the landscape. Its church, its cloister, its refectory, its dormitory, its bakery and its forge, are the preserved witnesses of the quest for autarky and simplicity of the first communities of Cistercian monks. Fontenay remains, moreover, one of the most complete and preserved examples of the search for autonomy and the deprivation of the Cistercians. The transformations undergone over the centuries have not altered the whole. The restoration of 1906 enabled the abbey to regain its integrity and authenticity.

A simple and uncluttered Romanesque architecture

The Latin cross basilica plan, the nave with blind walls, the transept, the cloister and the chapter house are surprisingly sober. They perfectly reflect the technical sophistication of the Cistercian community. The proportions, the rigor of the openings, the technicality of the vaults, as well as the quality of the cut stones confirm the major role of the Cistercians in the technical progress of the Middle Ages.

Fontenay

A set of great functionality

The abbey has kept other community buildings within its walls. The dormitories, the heating room, the refectory, the infirmary, the hotel, the bakery, the hydraulic hammer, the mill and the forge are thus honored. They make this complex, moreover, one of the oldest industrial buildings in France.

The Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay is an architectural gem nestled in lush greenery

The Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay is a private property open to visitors. It has been classified as a historical monument since 1862. The buildings are decorated with an imposing landscaped park. In 2004, he was also classified "Remarkable Garden" by the National Council of Parks and Gardens. The large French-style gardens and landscaped gardens offer the public the opportunity to discover a wide variety of plantings and hundred-year-old trees. The abbey is nestled in the hollow of a valley of over 1 hectares. It is thus surrounded by the forests of Fontenay and Marmagne. The whole is located in the heart of a vast site classified in 200. The protection of the building is therefore ensured under the Heritage Code and the Environmental Code.

Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay seen from the sky

Fontenay today

Each year, 100 visitors flock to discover this architectural, historical, but also natural gem. Free or guided tours allow you to visit the abbey and the gardens, as well as the lapidary museum. Fontenay is frequently used as a cinema set for historical films. Scenes of the three musketeers, Angélique Marquise des Anges, Cyrano de Bergerac, the child of the wolves, the Marquise des ombres and many others, were thus shot in these magnificent places steeped in history.

Fontenay Abbey

Continue the visit to Burgundy

Once the visit to Fontenay is over, many discoveries await the most curious visitors. The Royal Saltworks of Arc-et-Senans, the basilica and hill of Vézelay, the citadel of Besançon or the lakeside sites of Chalain and Clairvaux ... But also the Chapel of Notre-Dame du Haut or the Grande saline de Salins les Bains can be visited all year round. Wine lovers will also discover the wonderful scents and aromas of the Burgundy vineyard.

Patrimoine Mondial #6 : L’Abbaye cistercienne de Fontenay

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site bourguignon reconnu en 1981, l’Abbaye cistercienne de Fontenay.

Située en région Bourgogne Franche-Comté, dans le département de la Côte-d’or sur la commune de Marmagne, l’abbaye cistercienne de Fontenay a été fondée en 1119 par Saint-Bernard de Clairvaux. Construits en un lieu reculé, à proximité de sources et de terres fertiles, le sobre édifice, son église, son cloître, son réfectoire, son dortoir, sa boulangerie et sa forge, sont les témoins préservés de la quête d’autarcie et de simplicité des premières communautés de moines cisterciens. Fontenay demeure d’ailleurs l’un des exemples les plus complets et conservés de la recherche d’autonomie et de dépouillement des cisterciens. Les transformations subies au fil des siècles n’ont pas altéré l’ensemble. La restauration de 1906 a quant-à-elle permis à l’abbaye de retrouver son intégrité et son authenticité.

Une architecture romane simple et dépouillée

Le plan basilical en croix latine, la nef aux murs aveugles, le transept, le cloître et la salle capitulaire sont d’une surprenante sobriété. Ils reflètent parfaitement le raffinement technique de la communauté cistercienne. Les proportions, la rigueur des percements, la technicité des voutes, tout comme la qualité des pierres de taille confirment le rôle majeur des Cisterciens dans les progrès techniques du Moyen-Âge.

Fontenay

Un ensemble d’une grande fonctionnalité

L’abbaye a conservé dans son enceinte d’autres bâtiments communautaires. Les dortoirs, le chauffoir, le réfectoire, l’infirmerie, l’hôtellerie, la boulangerie, le marteau hydraulique, le moulin et la forge sont ainsi mis à l’honneur. Ils font d’ailleurs de cet l’ensemble, l’un des plus anciens bâtiments industriels de France.

Un bijou architectural niché dans un écrin de verdure

L’abbaye cistercienne de Fontenay est une propriété privée ouverte à la visite. Elle est classée au titre des monuments historiques depuis 1862. Les bâtiment sont agrémentés d’un imposant parc paysager. En 2004, il a d’ailleurs été classé « Jardin Remarquable » par le Conseil National des Parcs et Jardins. Les grands jardins à la françaises et les jardins paysagers offrent au public la découverte d’une grande variété de plantation et d’arbres centenaires. L’abbaye est nichée au creux d’un vallon de plus de 1 200 hectares. Elle est ainsi entourée des forêts de Fontenay et Marmagne. L’ensemble se situe au coeur d’un vaste site classé en 1989. La protection de l’édifice est donc assurée au titre du Code du patrimoine et du Code de l’environnement.

Abbaye cistercienne de Fontenay vue du ciel

Fontenay aujourd’hui

Chaque année, 100 000 visiteurs se pressent pour découvrir ce joyau architectural, historique, mais aussi naturel. Des visites libres ou guidées permettent de visiter l’abbaye et les jardins, ainsi que le musée lapidaire. Fontenay sert fréquemment de décor de cinéma pour des films historiques. Des scènes des trois mousquetaires, Angélique marquise des anges, Cyrano de Bergerac, l’enfant des loups, la marquise des ombres et bien d’autres, ont ainsi été tournées en ces magnifiques lieux chargés d’histoire.

Abbaye de Fontenay

Poursuivre la visite en Bourgogne

Une fois la visite de Fontenay achevée, de nombreuses découvertes attendent les visiteurs les plus curieux. La Saline royale d’Arc-et-Senans, la basilique et colline du Vézelay, la citadelle de Besançon ou bien les sites lacustres de Chalain et Clairvaux… Mais aussi la Chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut ou encore la Grande saline de Salins les Bains se visitent toute l’année. Les amoureux du vin découvriront par ailleurs les merveilleux parfums et arômes du vignoble bourguignon.

La rédaction

Crédit image éditoriale : Shutterstock CC-Davesayit

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO