carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 15: The Pont du Gard

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, writing Welcome Camping invites you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as a heritage of humanity. We continue this series with a site recognized in 1985, Gard's Bridge.

En Occitanie, between Uzès and Remoulins Gard's Bridge proudly spans the Gardon river. This aqueduct, built in the first half of the XNUMXst century under the reigns of the emperors Claudius and Nero, is a masterpiece of ancient architecture. He is a privileged witness of the Romanization of Gaul. Surrounded by hundred-year-old plane trees and scrubland, the monumental and aerial building is today in an exceptional state of conservation. This 2000-year-old “witness to human creative genius” is the only three-level ancient bridge still standing to this day.

A unique and monumental construction

With its three superimposed levels, the Pont du Gard displays a completely exceptional look. First of all, the first level consists of 6 arches. They carry the 11 arches of the second level, themselves overhung by the 35 arches of the upper floor. With its 49 meters high and 273 meters long, this grandiose structure weighs nearly 50 tonnes. A thousand men worked for five long years to complete the construction of this monumental work. With its difference in height of 000 meters between the water intake and the point of arrival, the flow of the aqueduct was once 17 m35 per day on average. A real technical feat which thus testifies to the genius and the technicality of the Roman engineers in Antiquity.

A little history

Gard's Bridge was an aqueduct intended for the delivery of water from the Fontaine d'Eure to Nîmes. For five centuries, he contributed to the supply of water to the fountains and homes of the nobles of the city. After the barbarian invasions, this achievement was abandoned. The ancient monument is then damaged. Some of its arches are then destroyed. It then becomes a crossing point for pedestrians wishing to cross the Gardon. This conversion will cause even more damage. From the XNUMXth century, interest in Gard's Bridge grows, which will favor its preservation over the centuries.

Charles IX, accompanied by the Court, but also by his brother the Duke of Anjou, Henri de Navarre, the cardinals of Bourbon and Lorraine, went there as part of his royal tour of France. In the XNUMXth century, the pitot bridge is built at the level of the lower arches. It then offers an additional crossing point and limits damage. From the nineteenth century, various phases of restoration were carried out, up to the World Heritage classification. In the 2000s, the architect Jean-Paul Viguier led a vast site development project. It thus works for its preservation and the perpetuation of the integrity of the monument.

The Pont du Gard today

In 2000, the Pont du Gard site is redeveloped. At the foot of the bridge, a swimming area becomes an essential meeting place for lovers of pebble beaches. The partners set up museum spaces and resource centers. This world heritage gem now attracts millions of tourists from all over the world every year. The Pont du Gard has also become a place of concerts and major events . The Fééries du Pont de Gard are always an opportunity to admire a breathtaking sound and light show.

Patrimoine mondial #15 : Le Pont du Gard

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, la rédaction de Welcome Camping vous propose de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons cette série avec un site reconnu en 1985, le Pont du Gard.

En Occitanie, entre Uzès et Remoulins le Pont du Gard enjambe fièrement la rivière du Gardon. Cet aqueduc édifié dans la première moitié du Ier siècle sous les règnes des empereurs Claude et Néron, est un chef-d’oeuvre de l’architecture antique. Il est un témoin privilégié de la romanisation de la Gaule. Entouré de platanes centenaires et de garrigue, l’édifice monumental et aérien est aujourd’hui dans un exceptionnel état de conservation. Ce “témoin du génie créateur humain” datant de 2000 ans, est le seul pont antique à trois niveaux encore debout à ce jour.

Une construction unique et monumentale

Avec ses trois niveaux superposés, le Pont du Gard affiche une allure tout à fait exceptionnelle. Tout d’abord, le premier niveau  se constitue de 6 arches. Elles portent les 11 arches du deuxième niveau, elles-mêmes surplombées des 35 arches de l’étage supérieur. Avec ses 49 mètres de hauteur et ses 273 mètres de long, cette structure grandiose pèse près de 50 000 tonnes. Un millier d’hommes ont travaillé pendant cinq longues années pour achever la construction de cet ouvrage monumental. Avec son dénivelé de 17 mètres entre la prise d’eau et le point d’arrivée, le débit de l’aqueduc était autrefois de 35 000 m3 par jour en moyenne. Une réelle prouesse technique qui témoigne du génie et de la technicité des ingénieurs romains sous l’Antiquité.

Un peu d’histoire

Le Pont du Gard était un aqueduc destiné à l’acheminement d’eau depuis la Fontaine d’Eure jusqu’à Nîmes. Durant cinq siècles, il a contribué à l’approvisionnement d’eau vers les fontaines et habitations des nobles de la ville. Après les invasions barbares, cette réalisation fût laissée à l’abandon. Le monument antique subit alors des dégradations. Quelques-unes de ses arches sont alors détruites. Il devient ensuite un point de passage pour les piétons souhaitant franchir le Gardon. Cette reconversion occasionnera encore plus de dommages. Dès le XVIe siècle, l’intérêt pour le Pont du Gard grandit, ce qui favorisera sa préservation au fil des siècles.

Charles IX, accompagné par la Cour, mais aussi par son frère le duc d’Anjou, Henri de Navarre, les cardinaux de Bourbon et de Lorraine, s’y rend dans le cadre de son tour de France royal. Au XVIIIe siècle, le pont de Pitot est construit au niveau des arches inférieures . Il offre alors un point de passage supplémentaire et limite les dégradations. À partir du XIXe siècle, différentes phases de restauration sont menées, jusqu’au classement au patrimoine mondial. Dans les années 2000, l’architecte Jean-Paul Viguier mène un vaste projet d’aménagement du site. Il oeuvre ainsi à sa préservation et à la pérennisation de l’intégrité du monument.

Le Pont du Gard aujourd’hui

En 2000, le site du Pont du Gard est réaménagé. Au pied du pont, un espace de baignade devient un lieu de rendez-vous incontournable pour les amoureux des plages de galets. Les partenaires installent des espaces muséographiques et des centres de ressources. Ce joyau du patrimoine mondial attire désormais chaque année des millions de touristes venant des quatre coins du monde. Le Pont du Gard est également devenu lieu de concerts et de grands événements . Les Fééries du Pont de Gard sont toujours l’occasion d’admirer un spectacle son et lumière à couper le souffle.

La rédaction