carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

World Heritage # 11: Saltworks of Salins-les-Bains and Arc-et-Senans

As part of a series specially devoted to French sites recognized as World Heritage by UNESCO, we invite you to discover one by one the exceptional French destinations, preserved as heritage of humanity. So we continue this series with a site recognized in 1982, the saltworks of Salins-les-Bains and Arc-et-Senans.

En Franche-Comté, in the Jura for one and the Doubs for the other, the great saltworks of Salins-les-Bains et the royal saltworks of Arc-et-Senans are witnesses to the little-known history of French salt production. This activity has long been at the heart of major political and strategic issues. From prehistory to the Middle Ages and the famous salt tax, white gold has indeed been a major element of the economy. The saltworks of Salins-les-Bains and Arc-et-Senans are now a sumptuous example of what was the extraction and salt production. The workers pumped the brines underground. They then used fire for crystallization.

The royal saltworks of Arc-et-Senans

In the heart of a green setting of 8 hectares, the royal saltworks of Arc-et-Senans was built at the request of Louis XV at the end of the XNUMXth century. For the first time in history, a factory was built with the same care and architectural quality as a palace. The royal saltworks was both an industrial building and a place of life. Most of the people working there lived on the site. Houses, stables, cooperage, warehouses and production sites were brought together in one place.

“The saline was the heart of an Ideal City that Claude Nicolas Ledoux imagined and designed in a circle around the factory. Unfinished constructive utopia, the saline today retains all its message for the future. "

The royal saltworks of Arc-et-Senans

The great saltworks of Salines-les-Bains

The great saltworks of Salines-les-Bains can be proud of its long history which spans 1200 years. Since the XNUMXth century, the people of Salins-les-Bains have extracted salt by evaporation of salt water. This water was captured in the naturally salty springs of the valley of Salins-les-Bains. And this manna of salt has made the region rich. Indeed, without the salt, the forts, towns and thermal baths would not have existed. And without the salt, there would have been no Comté on our tables at the end of the meals either!

The great saltworks of Salines-les-Bains

In addition, the saline presents remarkable architectural elements. The 165 meters of the XNUMXth century vaulted gallery are impressive. Particularly innovative technical elements are still in operation. The XNUMXth century bucket wheel placed on the river is still active. It even continues to drive a 32-meter pendulum and a pump that draws salt water from the depths. But beyond technical prowess, the salt works have witnessed social advances since the XNUMXth century. Today the saltworks welcome many visitors each year. They host festivals, artist residencies, cultural and sporting events, conferences and seminars.

Patrimoine Mondial #11 : Salines de Salins-les-Bains et d’Arc-et-Senans

Dans le cadre d’une série spécialement consacrée aux sites français reconnus au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, nous vous proposons de découvrir une à une les destinations françaises exceptionnelles, préservées en tant que patrimoine de l’humanité. Nous continuons donc cette série avec un site reconnu en 1982, les salines de Salins-les-Bains et d’Arc-et-Senans.

En Franche-Comté, dans le Jura pour l’une et le Doubs pour l’autre, la grande saline de Salins-les-Bains et la saline royale d’Arc-et-Senans sont les témoins de l’histoire méconnue de la production française de sel. Cette activité a longtemps été au cœur d’enjeux politiques et stratégiques de première ordre. De la préhistoire jusqu’au Moyen-Âge et à la célèbre gabelle, l’or blanc a en effet été un élément majeur de l’économie. Les salines de Salins-les-Bains et d’Arc-et-Senans sont désormais un exemple somptueux de ce que fût l’extraction et la production du sel, par pompage de saumures souterraines et utilisation du feu pour sa cristallisation.

La saline royale d’Arc-et-Senans

Au coeur d’un écrin de verdure de 8 hectares, la saline royale d’Arc-et-Senans a été bâtie à la demande de Louis XV à la fin du XVIIIème siècle. Pour la première fois dans l’histoire, une usine était bâtie avec le même soin et la même qualité architecturale qu’un palais. La saline royale était à la fois un bâtiment industriel et un lieu de vie. La plupart des personnes y travaillant étaient logées sur le site. Habitations, écuries, tonnellerie, entrepôts et sites de productions étaient réunis sur un même lieu.

“La saline était le cœur d’une Cité Idéale que Claude Nicolas Ledoux a imaginé et dessiné en cercle autour de l’usine. Utopie constructive inachevée, la saline conserve aujourd’hui tout son message d’avenir.”

La saline royale d'Arc-et-Senans

La grande saline de Salines-les-Bains

La grande saline de Salines-les-Bains

La grande saline de Salines-les-Bains peut s’enorgueillir de sa longue histoire qui s’étale sur 1200 ans. Depuis le VIIIème siècle, le peuple de Salins-les-Bains a extrait le sel par évaporation de l’eau salée captée dans les sources naturellement salées de la vallée de Salins-les-Bains. Et cette manne de sel a fait la richesse de la région. Sans la saline, les forts, les villes et les thermes n’auraient pas existé. Et sans la saline, il n’y aurait pas non plus eu de Comté sur nos tables à la fin des repas.

Par ailleurs, la saline présente des éléments architecturaux remarquables. Les 165 mètres de la galerie voutée du XIIIème siècle sont impressionnants. Des éléments techniques particulièrement innovants sont toujours en fonction. La roue à augets du XIXème siècle placée sur la rivière est toujours en activité. Elle continue même à entraîner un balancier de 32 mètres et une pompe qui puise l’eau salée dans les profondeurs. Mais au-delà des prouesses techniques, la saline a été le témoin d’avancées sociales dès le XVème siècle. Aujourd’hui les salines accueillent de nombreux visiteurs chaque année. Elles accueillent des festivals, des résidences d’artistes, des événements culturels et sportifs, des congrès et colloques.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Saisissez l’occasion de découvrir l’un des 45 sites français classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO