carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Going on a trek before confinement, James Johnston is in shock on his return

The very secluded and rugged Routeburn track located on the South Island of New Zealand, is one of the most famous and popular boardwalks in the world. Before venturing there, hikers must reserve their entry in order to respect the quotas defined by the government. James Johnston had taken all the necessary steps by the time he stepped onto the track, but by the time he returned the world had changed. The Guardian retraced the course of the young man.

Qhen British hiker James Johnston set off through the New Zealand mountains on March 22, alone some cases of Covid-19 were recorded in the country. The only measure in place in New Zealand then was social distancing. The solo trek therefore seemed to be the right solution to reduce contact as much as possible. Perfectly ready for exercise, James set out on the Routeburn track and off-piste for a 5-day journey. Throughout his journey, James did not cross paths with anyone.

“There are almost always a lot of people there, it's one of the most popular walks in the country. "

James Johnston's unusual trek

According to the adventurer, this trek was "special"… Lots of birds and tough times. Heading back down the valley on the Sugarloaf Trail to the Routeburn parking lot, as he now sought comfort and rest, James was faced with a strange sight. The parking lot, usually full, was empty. His hopes of hitchhiking then flew away in the face of this surprising state of affairs.

“I saw that the place was deserted, not a single car or person anywhere. That's what was weird. The fact that this incredibly popular place was empty at this time of year was a little scary. "

New Zealand desert road

Alone in the world

In 5 days, James has not seen anyone. The network being unavailable in these mountains, he had received no news from his relatives. Alone in the world, the young Briton then set out to walk the 70 kilometers that separate him from Queenstown. After 25 kilometers in a heavy downpour, a curious apparition took shape along the road. A car housing three men dressed in safety gear and wearing face masks, stopped beside him.

“They were surprised to see me, and so am I. […] I asked if they could drive me, and they said, 'Absolutely not, we are not allowed to take anyone in the car.' "

Back to reality

It is only then that James understands that between his departure and his return the country has been completely confined, prohibiting all internal travel. The three civil protection men were responsible for checking that no one had remained in the hinterland. They also finally agreed to take James home.

“I was in shock… Three strangers chatting with you about the end of the world, it was overwhelming. "

James Johnston is in shock

As soon as the network has been available, nearly 200 alert messages from relatives swept over James' mobile phone.

“We started to hit the road. There were no cars except police cars. There was no one anywhere. It was very scary. The whole trip was like Black Mirror. They kept saying, 'Oh, did you hear what happened in China? […] Do you know that all this is spreading? '. "

Covered in mud and sweat, James Johnston eventually took a flight with just 6 other passengers. He is now in confinement with his 4 co-tenants in Wellington.

Parti en trek avant le confinement, James Johnston est sous le choc à son retour

La très isolée et accidentée piste Routeburn située sur l’île du Sud en Nouvelle-Zélande, est l’une des promenades les plus célèbres et les plus populaires au monde. Avant de s’y aventurer, les randonneurs doivent réserver leur entrée afin de respecter les quotas définis par le gouvernement. James Johnston avait réalisé toutes les démarches nécessaires au moment où il s’est engagé sur la piste, mais à son retour le monde avait changé. The Guardian a retracé le parcours du jeune homme.

Quand le randonneur britannique James Johnston est parti à travers les montagnes néo-zélandaises le 22 mars, seuls quelques cas de Covid-19 étaient recensés dans le pays. La seule mesure en place en Nouvelle-Zélande était alors la distanciation sociale. Le trek en solitaire semblait donc être la bonne solution pour réduire les contacts au maximum. Parfaitement rôdé à l’exercice, James s’est engagé sur la piste Routeburn et en hors-pistes pour un périple de 5 jours. Tout au long de son parcours, James n’a croisé personne.

“Il y a presque toujours beaucoup de monde là-bas, c’est l’une des promenades les plus populaires du pays.”

Un trek spécial

Selon l’aventurier, ce trek était “spécial”… Beaucoup d’oiseaux et des moments difficiles. En redescendant dans la vallée sur la piste de Sugarloaf en direction du parking de Routeburn, alors qu’il recherchait désormais le confort et le repos, James a été confronté à une vision étrange. Le parking habituellement plein, était vide. Ses espoirs de faire du stop s’envolaient alors face à ce surprenant état des lieux.

“J’ai vu que l’endroit était désert, pas une seule voiture ou personne nulle part. C’est ce qui était bizarre. Le fait que cet endroit incroyablement populaire soit vide en cette période de l’année était un peu effrayant.”

Route déserte de Nouvelle-Zélande

Seul au monde

En 5 jours, James n’a croisé personne. Le réseau étant indisponible dans ces montagnes, il n’avait reçu aucune nouvelle de ses proches. Seul au monde, le jeune britannique a alors entrepris de parcourir à pied les 70 kilomètres qui le séparent de Queenstown. Après 25 kilomètres sous une forte averse, une curieuse apparition s’est dessinée le long de la route. Une voiture abritant trois hommes vêtus de tenues de sécurité et portant des masques faciaux, s’est arrêtée à ses côtés.

“Ils ont été surpris de me voir, et moi aussi […] J’ai demandé s’ils pouvaient me conduire, et ils ont répondu, ‘Absolument pas, nous n’avons le droit de prendre personne dans la voiture’.”

Retour à la réalité

Ce n’est qu’à ce moment là que James comprend qu’entre son départ et son retour le pays a été entièrement confiné, interdisant tout voyage intérieur. Les trois hommes de la protection civile étaient chargés de vérifier que personne n’était resté dans l’arrière-pays. Ils ont d’ailleurs finalement accepté de raccompagner James.

“J’étais sous le choc… Trois étrangers qui bavardent avec vous de la fin du monde, c’était écrasant.”

Sous le choc

Dès que le réseau a été disponible, près de 200 messages d’alertes de ses proches ont déferlé sur le téléphone mobile de James.

“Nous avons commencé à foncer sur la route. Il n’y avait pas de voitures sauf celles de police. Il n’y avait personne nulle part. C’était très effrayant. Tout le voyage ressemblait à Black Mirror. Ils n’arrêtaient pas de dire : ‘Oh, as-tu entendu ce qui s’est passé en Chine ? […] Tu sais que tout ça se propage ?’.”

Couvert de boue et de sueurs, James Johnston a finalement pris un vol avec seulement 6 autres passagers. Il est désormais en confinement avec ses 4 co-locataires à Wellington.

La rédaction