carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Finally set out to conquer the mythical GR 20

The GR 20 is the most famous hiking trail in France… and certainly one of the most legendary. Its 180 kilometers of paths to travel between sea and mountains and its 15 meters of elevation gain each year attract trekkers to the Isle of Beauty.

Lhe long-distance footpath number 20, the Fra Li Monti crosses the Corsican mountain from north to south. From Calinzana in Haute-Corse, to Conca in Southern Corsica, the sixteen sometimes vertiginous, often demanding and always exceptional stages, will take you on the Corsican massif on the mountainside. You will furrow through the maquis, the pine forests, the pozzines or along the majestic ridges. The GR 20 is an intense, unforgettable and incomparable human adventure. But make no mistake, to succeed in this extraordinary challenge, it is more than necessary to prepare. Do not neglect preparation, both physically, logistically, technically or emotionally.

The course is demanding. Weather conditions can be difficult. And fatigue, isolation or lack of preparation often get the better of the enthusiasm of the most motivated hikers. If you want to get started conquering the GR 20 through the Corsican massif, do not miss your preparation.

Torrents and ridges on the GR20

Know the stages of the GR 20 and their specificities

The 16 stages of the GR 20 each have their own specificities. The steepest and most technical of them are to the north. And it is for this reason that it is often advisable to take the trail from north to south. As the days go by, the bodies suffer. It is better to keep the stages less technical and of less elevation for the last days. Your adventure will take you from hut to hut that should be booked. You will cross limestone walls towards ridges, cirques or canyons.

You will discover Mont Cinto or the sheepfolds of Vallone, the culmination of your journey, but also high altitude plateaus and lakes, as well as torrents where you will find a little rest. The magnificent forests will provide you with shade in summer. The typical villages that you will cross will allow you to discover the richness of Corsican culture. To best prepare your stages, we recommend the blog Snowleader, Site of the GR 20 or Hiking notebooks.

Define your course and objectives

If the typical hiker covers each of the stages in 4 to 8 hours, trail specialists swallow them much faster. Some double or triple the steps every day. Francois d'Haene hiked the trail in 31 hours, Guillaume Peretti in 32 hours, and Kilian Jornet in almost 33 hours. But these records should not make us forget the difficulty of this trek. No need to presume your strength. By taking the GR 20 for the first time, the idea is more to go to the end, than to beat the records of the best trailers!

Hiker on the GR20

It is also possible to divide the GR and carry out only one or more stages. The site MyGR.fr offers a magnificent 4-day itinerary to learn about the joys of the Corsican mountains in complete safety. Whether you are a beginner or a specialist in trekking and trail running, the idea is to find the formula and the route that suits you, in order to accomplish the challenge that you will have set for yourself.

Prepare physically

The GR 20 is accessible to everyone, but many give up on the way. The cause of these dropouts is often the mismatch between their goals and their physical condition as we have seen, but also the lack of physical preparation. Getting started on the GR 20 is above all prepare physically in a coherent way. Your muscles will be strained with the multiple ascents and descents, the joints will suffer in stony terrain, the days of intense effort will pile up and generate generalized fatigue.

Before you set off, explore a variety of hiking trails of all types and in all weather conditions. Get your body used to uneven, long routes, bivouacs, treks over 2 or 3 days. The weeks preceding the departure will be decisive. Adopt a healthy lifestyle. Food, sleep, endurance, muscle building, hiking ... Nothing will be neglected. To succeed in your challenge, be ready in your body as well as in your head!

Equip yourself correctly for the GR 20

The last step in your preparation will be to equip yourself properly. Do not neglect any of your equipment while limiting the load to a minimum. Your high-upper hiking boots must be perfectly adapted to your foot, light, comfortable, reinforced, waterproof and breathable. The backpack should also be chosen with care. Its content will be the guarantee of your success. In his article published on Randonner Malin, François Jourjon offers his all-inclusive 12 kg equipment list for the GR 20 in full autonomy. We can only encourage you to consult it before setting out on the Corsican massif to discover its many treasures.

Pozzines and mountain lakes

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Partez enfin à la conquête du mythique GR 20

Le GR 20 est le sentier de randonnée le plus célèbre de France… Et certainement l’un des plus mythiques. Ses 180 kilomètres de chemins à parcourir entre mer et montagnes et ses 15 000 mètres de dénivelé positif, attirent chaque année les amateurs de trek sur l’Île de Beauté.

Le sentier de grande randonnée numéro 20, le Fra Li Monti parcourt la montagne corse du nord au sud. De Calinzana en Haute-Corse, à Conca en Corse du Sud, les seize étapes parfois vertigineuses, souvent exigeantes et toujours exceptionnelles, vous entraîneront sur le massif corse à flanc de montagne. Vous sillonerez à travers le maquis, les forêts de pins, les pozzines ou le long des crêtes majestueuses. Le GR 20 est une aventure humaine intense, inoubliable et incomparable. Mais ne vous y trompez pas, pour réussir ce défi hors-norme, il est plus que nécessaire de se préparer. Ne négligez pas la préparation, tant sur les plans physique, que logistique, technique ou émotionnel.

Le parcours est exigeant. Les conditions météorologiques peuvent être difficiles. Et la fatigue, l’isolement ou le manque de préparation ont bien souvent raison de l’enthousiasme des randonneurs les plus motivés. Si vous souhaitez vous lancer à la conquête du GR 20 à travers le massif Corse, ne manquez pas votre préparation.

Torrents et crêtes sur le GR20

Connaître les étapes du GR 20 et leurs spécificités

Les 16 étapes du GR 20 ont chacune leurs spécificités. Les plus escarpées et techniques d’entre elles se situent au nord. Et c’est pour cette raison qu’il est souvent conseillé d’emprunter le sentier du nord au sud. Au fil des jours, les corps souffrent. Mieux vaut garder les étapes moins techniques et de moindre dénivelé pour les dernières journées. Votre aventure vous entraînera de refuge en refuge qu’il convient de réserver. Vous sillonnerez des parois calcaire vers des crêtes, des cirques ou des canyons.

Vous découvrirez le Mont Cinto ou les bergeries de Vallone, point culminant de votre parcours, mais aussi des plateaux et lacs d’altitude, ainsi que des torrents où vous trouverez un peu de repos. Les magnifiques forêts vous procureront de l’ombre en été. Les villages typiques que vous traverserez vous permettront de découvrir la richesse de la culture corse. Pour préparer au mieux vos étapes, nous vous conseillons le blog Snowleader, le site du GR 20 ou bien Les carnets de rando.

Définir son parcours et ses objectifs

Si le randonneur type parcourt chacune des étapes en 4 à 8 heures, les spécialistes du trail les avalent bien plus vite. Certains doublent ou triplent les étapes chaque jour. François d’Haene a parcouru le sentier en 31 heures, Guillaume Peretti en 32 heures, et Kilian Jornet en près de 33 heures. Mais ces records ne doivent pas faire oublier la difficulté de ce trek. Inutile de présumer de ses forces. En empruntant le GR 20 pour la première fois, l’idée est plus d’aller au bout, que de battre les records des meilleurs trailers !

Randonneuse sur le GR20

Il est d’ailleurs possible de fractionner le GR et de n’en réaliser qu’une ou plusieurs étapes. Le site MonGR.fr propose un magnifique itinéraire de 4 jours pour s’initier aux joies de la montagne corse en toute sécurité. Que vous soyez débutant ou spécialiste du trek et du trail, l’idée est de trouver la formule et le parcours qui vous correspond, afin d’accomplir le défi que vous vous serez fixé.

Se préparer physiquement

Le GR 20 est accessible à tous, mais beaucoup abandonnent en chemin. La cause de ces abandons est bien souvent l’inadéquation entre ses objectifs et sa condition physique comme nous l’avons vu, mais aussi le manque de préparation physique. Se lancer sur le GR 20, c’est avant tout se préparer physiquement de manière cohérente. Vos muscles seront mis à rude épreuve avec les multiples montées et descentes, les articulations souffriront dans les terrains caillouteux, les journées d’effort intense s’empileront et engendreront une fatigue généralisée.

Avant de vous lancer, parcourez une variété de sentiers de randonnée de tous types et par tous les temps. Habituez votre corps aux dénivelés, aux parcours longs, aux bivouacs, aux treks sur 2 ou 3 jours. Les semaines qui précèderont le départ seront déterminantes. Adoptez une bonne hygiène de vie. Alimentation, sommeil, endurance, renforcement musculaire, rando… Rien ne sera à négliger. Pour réussir votre défi, soyez prêt aussi bien dans votre corps que dans votre tête !

S’équiper correctement pour le GR 20

La dernière étape de votre préparation sera de vous équiper correctement. Ne négligez aucun de vos équipements tout en limitant la charge au minimum. Vos chaussures de randonnée à tige haute devront être parfaitement adaptées à votre pied, légères, confortables, renforcées, imperméables et respirantes. Le sac à dos doit également être choisi avec soin. Son contenu sera quant-à-lui le gage de votre réussite. Dans son article diffusé sur Randonner Malin, François Jourjon propose sa liste de matériel à 12 kg tout compris pour le GR 20 en autonomie complète. Nous ne pouvons que vous encourager à la consulter avant de vous engager sur le massif corse à la découverte de ses multiples trésors.

Pozzines et lacs d'altitude

La rédaction

Retrouvez nos campings Welcome de Corse.