carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

National Parks of France # 6: The Ecrins National Park

High mountain, wild landscapes and vast expanses are at the rendezvous in the heart of the Ecrins National Park. Between the Northern Alps and the Southern Alps, this preserved territory is a mineral and vegetable treasure with vertiginous reliefs. To discover in any season ...

Dn the massif of the Alps, from Isère to the Hautes-Alpes, the Ecrins National Park covers an area of ​​93 hectares. With more than 000 peaks reaching an altitude of 150 meters, and more than 3 hectares of glacier, this territory constitutes an extraordinary playground for high mountain enthusiasts. Alpine meadows, forests, glaciers, deep valleys and snow-capped peaks are an invitation to discovery and thrills.

A little history to start

The history of Ecrins National Park created in 1973, began in 1913 with the creation of the Bérarde park. It would later become the Parc de l'Oisans then the Parc de Pelvoux. It was not until 1973 that he will wear the title of National Park. He obtains this status because of its extraordinary biological richness and its exceptional reliefs. This title will then allow the reintroduction of ibex, but also the development of an action plan for the reception of tourists. The stakeholders of the park will also carry out numerous development works, while respecting sustainable development.

Lac de Saint-Apollinaire and the Grand Morgon in the early morning in summer light
Lac de Saint-Apollinaire and the Grand Morgon in the early morning in summer light

A wild territory

Dance the Ecrins National Park, the imprint left by man has been discreet. The mountain population formerly devoted to agro-pastoralism, has gradually turned to tourist activity. The inhabitants, however, have kept in mind the respect due to this thousand-year-old mountain which welcomes them. In the heart of the Park, you can only get around on foot. Thus in the shelter of the valleys, along the ridges and on the highest peaks, 750 kilometers of maintained and marked trails await the guides, the keepers of shelters, the hikers and the sportsmen in love with unspoiled nature, but also and especially the shepherds. Because the pastoral vocation of the Park has always been maintained. In the mountain pastures and pastures of the Ecrins massif, cattle, sheep, goats and horses, accompanied by their breeders, roam freely.

Breeding in the Ecrins National Park

Sports and Recreation

The extraordinary high mountain landscapes of Ecrins National Park are also the ideal setting for a sporting stay, or a moment of relaxation with the family. For families, play areas are set up in the membership area, and a wide range of leisure activities are offered there, such as badminton, volleyball, tennis, pétanque, or tree climbing ... Aquatic activities such as rafting or kayaking appeal to an increasingly large audience. But hiking in the heart of the Park are still the most popular with visitors looking for inaccessible lands. Among the unmissable spots, the refuge of Bans, the refuge of the Glacier Blanc and the lake of Eychauda share the honors. Climbers find their happiness in the Lauvitel reserve, on Mount Pelvoux, or on the emblematic Barre des Ecrins.

Hiking in the mountains of Oisans
Hiking in the mountains of Oisans

A rich biodiversity

The vast territory of Ecrins National Park home to nearly 2 plant species, 500 vertebrate species and countless species of insects, arachnids and amphibians. When hiking, it is not rare to come across the route of royal eagles, chamois, Isabelle butterflies, alpine ptarmigan, stoats, marmots or ibex. A few wolves have also taken up residence in the park. This natural paradise is otherwise a magnificent setting for blue thistle, rhododendrons, queen of the Alps and genepi.

Chamois in the Ecrins National Park
Chamois in the Ecrins National Park

The Ecrins National Park is a life-size destination to discover from spring to winter. The landscapes guarantee visitors amazement and escape. Don't wait any longer to discover this majestic site.

Parcs Nationaux de France #6 : Le Parc National des Écrins

Haute montagne, paysages sauvages et vastes étendues sont au rendez-vous au coeur du Parc National des Écrins. Entre Alpes du Nord et Alpes du Sud, ce territoire préservé est un trésor minéral et végétal aux reliefs vertigineux. À découvrir en toute saison…

Dans le massif des Alpes, de l’Isère aux Hautes-Alpes, le Parc National des Écrins s’étend sur une superficie de 93 000 hectares. Avec plus de 150 sommets culminant à 3 000 mètres d’altitude, et plus de 7 000 hectares de glacier, ce territoire constitue un terrain de jeu extraordinaire pour les passionnés de haute montagne. Alpages, forêts, glaciers, vallées profondes et sommets enneigés sont une invitation à la découverte et aux sensations fortes.

Un peu d’histoire pour commencer

L’histoire du Parc National des Écrins créé en 1973, débute en 1913 avec la création du parc de Bérarde. Il deviendra plus tard le parc de l’Oisans puis le parc de Pelvoux. Ce n’est qu’en 1973 qu’il portera le titre de Parc National. Il obtient ce statut en raison de son extraordinaire richesse biologique et de ses reliefs exceptionnels. Ce titre permettra ensuite la réintroduction des bouquetins, mais aussi l’élaboration d’un plan d’action pour l’accueil des touristes. Les acteurs du parc réaliseront par ailleurs de nombreux travaux d’aménagements, dans le respect du développement durable.

Lac de Saint-Apollinaire et le Grand Morgon tôt le matin dans la lumière de l'été

Lac de Saint-Apollinaire et le Grand Morgon tôt le matin dans la lumière de l’été

Un territoire sauvage

Dans le Parc National des Écrins, l’empreinte laissée par l’homme a su se faire discrète. La population de montagne autrefois consacrée à l’agropastoralisme, s’est peu à peu tournée vers l’activité touristique. Les habitants ont toutefois gardé à l’esprit le respect dû à cette montagne millénaire qui les accueille. Dans le coeur du Parc, on ne circule qu’à pied. C’est ainsi qu’à l’abri des vallées, le long des crêtes et sur les plus hauts sommets, 750 kilomètres de sentiers entretenus et balisées attendent les guides, les gardiens de refuges, les randonneurs et les sportifs amoureux de nature préservée, mais aussi et surtout les bergers. Car la vocation pastorale du Parc a toujours été entretenue. Dans les alpages et les pâturages du massif des Écrins, bovins, ovins, caprins et chevaux accompagnés de leurs éleveurs, évoluent en toute liberté.

L'élevage dans le Parc National des Écrins

Sports et loisirs

Les extraordinaires paysages de haute montagne du Parc National des Écrins sont également le cadre idéal pour un séjour sportif, ou un moment de détente en famille. Pour les familles, des aires de jeux sont aménagées dans l’aire d’adhésion, et un large éventail de loisirs y sont proposés, comme le badminton, le volley, le tennis, la pétanque, ou l’accrobranche… Les activités aquatiques telles que le rafting ou le kayak séduisent un public de plus en plus large. Mais les randonnées dans le coeur du Parc sont toujours les plus appréciées des visiteurs en quête de terres inaccessibles. Parmi les spots incontournables, le refuge de Bans, le refuge du Glacier Blanc et le lac de l’Eychauda se partagent les honneurs. Les grimpeurs trouvent quant-à-eux leur bonheur dans la réserve du Lauvitel, sur le mont Pelvoux, ou encore sur l’emblématique barre des Écrins.

Randonnée dans les montagnes d'Oisans

Randonnée dans les montagnes d’Oisans

Une biodiversité riche

Le vaste territoire du Parc National des Écrins abrite près de 2 500 espèces végétales, 350 espèces de vertébrés et d’innombrables espèces d’insectes, arachnides et amphibiens. En randonnée, il n’est par rare de croiser la route des aigles royaux, des chamois, des papillons l’Isabelle, des lagopèdes alpins, des hermines, des marmottes ou des bouquetins. Quelques loups ont également élu domicile dans le parc. Ce paradis naturel est par ailleurs un magnifique écrin pour le chardon bleu, les rhododendrons, la reine des Alpes et le génépi.

Chamois dans le Parc National des Écrins

Chamois dans le Parc National des Écrins

Le Parc National des Écrins est une destination grandeur nature à découvrir du printemps à l’hiver. Les paysages garantissent aux visiteurs émerveillement et évasion. Ne tardez plus à découvrir ce site majestueux.

La rédaction