carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Mike Horn embarks three YouTubers on his sailboat for an Arctic expedition

Only seven months after his return from an exceptional expedition in the Arctic which could have cost him his life, Mike Horn sets off again for Greenland, to "observe the return to life". And this time, he will not be accompanied by Borge Ousland, but by three French-speaking youtubers stars…

Don the night of December 7, 2019, Mike Horn, "The explorer of all challenges" and Borge Ousland, “the legendary Norwegian for whom the sea ice has no secrets”, were rescued after 87 days of a dantesque expedition in the polar cold. The two adventurers had embarked on an extraordinary adventure, the most dangerous of their lives, reach the North Pole in winter, without assistance or supplies. Wednesday July 8, it is for a completely different expedition that Mike Horn left the port of Le Havre aboard his sailboat Pangea. And he was able to create a surprise by choosing three teammates who had little experience in survival. Three youtubers with nearly 15 million cumulative fans, CyrilMP4, The Great JD et Amixem, will be part of the crew.

"See this beauty differently"

Behind this choice, Mike obviously has some goals. Introduce a young audience environmental issues et to awaken the consciences to the preservation of nature will be the main axes of this expedition. Because this time, it is not a question of survival or physical challenge, but of observation of the flora and fauna. After dark memories in the Arctic Mike Horn needs to reconnect with these unique places in summer. Back from "Objective: North Pole at night", he already expressed in Team newspaper, wanting to "see again the sun, the whales, life in the Arctic".

“Because the experience I had at the end of 2019 was a bit hard. I want to see this beauty, but differently. "

See this post on Instagram

A publication shared by Mike Horn (@mikehornexplorer) le

Flawless support

This is how Mike took the start from the port of Brest on Wednesday July 8th. A large crowd had gathered on the pontoons, hoping to see this unusual hero.

" Here we go ! It is finally time for us to leave the port of Brest and set sail for the Arctic. A big thank you to everyone who came to wish us a safe journey and greet us. What an incredible feeling to witness such support! "

Prestigious partners

Beyond the issues of awareness and information, scientific data will be collected, and their analysis will then allow a better understanding of the impact of human activities and global warming on this sensitive ecosystem. Because Mike Horn wants to put his adventurous experience at the service of knowledge and preservation of the planet. The foundation Ocean Alliance is also a partner for the study of whale behavior. UNESCO will analyze the meteorological data.

Image Credit: Dmitry Sharomov / CC BY-SA

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Mike Horn embarque trois youtubeurs sur son voilier pour une expédition en Arctique

Sept mois seulement après son retour d’une exceptionnelle expédition en Arctique qui aurait pu lui coûter la vie, Mike Horn reprend le large direction le Groënland, pour “observer le retour à la vie”. Et cette fois, il ne sera pas accompagné de Borge Ousland, mais de trois youtubeurs francophones stars…

Dans la nuit du 7 décembre 2019, Mike Horn, “l’explorateur de tous les défis” et Borge Ousland, “le légendaire norvégien pour qui la banquise n’a pas de secrets”, ont été secourus après 87 jours d’une expédition dantesque dans un froid polaire. Les deux aventuriers s’étaient lancés dans une aventure hors-norme, la plus dangereuse de leur vie, rallier le pôle Nord en hiver, sans assistance ni ravitaillement. Mercredi 8 juillet, c’est pour une toute autre expédition que Mike Horn a quitté le port du Havre à bord de son voilier Pangaea. Et il a su créer la surprise en choisissant trois équipiers bien peu initiés à la survie. Trois youtubeurs aux près de 15 millions de fans en cumulé, CyrilMP4, Le Grand JD et Amixem, feront partie de l’équipage.

“Voir cette beauté différemment”

Derrière ce choix, Mike a bien évidemment quelques objectifs. Faire découvrir au jeune public les enjeux environnementaux et éveiller les consciences à la préservation de la nature seront les grands axes de cette expédition. Car cette fois, il n’est pas question de survie ou de défi physique, mais d’observation de la faune et de la flore. Après des souvenirs sombres en Arctique Mike Horn a besoin de renouer avec ces lieux uniques en été. De retour de “Objectif : Pôle Nord de nuit”, il exprimait déjà au journal l’Equipe, vouloir “voir à nouveau le soleil, les baleines, la vie en Arctique”.

“Parce que l’expérience que j’ai vécue fin 2019 était un peu dure. J’ai envie de voir cette beauté, mais différemment.”

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Mike Horn (@mikehornexplorer) le

Un soutien sans faille

C’est ainsi que Mike a pris le départ depuis le port de Brest, mercredi 8 juillet. Une belle foule s’était massée sur les pontons, pour espérer apercevoir ce héros hors du commun.

“Et c’est parti ! Il est enfin temps pour nous de quitter le port de Brest et de mettre le cap vers l’Arctique. Un grand merci à tous ceux qui sont venus nous souhaiter un bon voyage et nous saluer. Quelle sensation incroyable d’assister à un tel soutien !”

De prestigieux partenaires

Au-delà des enjeux de sensibilisation et d’information, des données scientifiques seront collectées, et leur analyse permettra ensuite de mieux comprendre l’impact des activités humaines et du réchauffement climatique sur cet écosystème si sensible. Car Mike Horn souhaite mettre son expérience d’aventurier au service de la connaissance et de la préservation de la planète. La fondation Ocean Alliance est d’ailleurs partenaire pour l’étude du comportement des baleines. L’UNESCO analysera quant-à-elle les données météorologiques.

La rédaction

Crédit Image : Dmitry Sharomov / CC BY-SA