carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

"The Flying Man" Vince Reffet died during Jetman training in Dubai

The large wingsuit family and those close to the Soul Flyers are in mourning. On Tuesday November 17, Jetman's skydiver, base jumper and pilot, Vince Reffet died during training in Dubai.

PFor many, “the sky is the limit”, but for Vince, “the sky was his home”. Professional parachutist and emeritus sportsman, Vincent Reffet was nicknamed "the flying man". Throughout his life, he accumulated sporting exploits in the air. The general public had discovered it thanks to his entering a plane in mid-flight, or during its spectacular flights alongside the patrouille de France or an A380. We also remember his base jump from the tallest tower in the world, the Burj Khalifa.

The man who pushed the limits

For several months, Vincent had been working on the realization of a prototype with the team of Jetman Dubai. On February 14, equipped with a carbon fiber wing propelled by four jet engines, the pilot surprised the whole world taking off from the ground with this futuristic machine. But the rest of the story will unfortunately be darker. And it was on the Dubai desert training ground that Vince lost his life this week. An investigation is underway to determine the exact circumstances of the tragedy. The announcement of the death was made by the spokesperson for Jetman Dubai.

“It is with unimaginable sadness that we announce the passing of Jetman's pilot, Vincent (Vince) Reffet, who died on the morning of November 17th during training in Dubai. Vince was a talented athlete and a much appreciated and respected member of our team. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family and all who knew and worked with him. We are working closely with all relevant authorities and kindly ask you to keep Vince's family in your thoughts and prayers. "

Impressive flights

During his Jetman flight last February, Vince had reached an altitude of 100 meters in 8 seconds, and 1000 meters in just 30 seconds at an average speed of 240 km / h. At the end of a 3-minute flight punctuated by a roll and a loop at an altitude of 1 meters, he opened his parachute at 800 meters. It was the first time that a Jetman Dubai pilot combined hovering and high-altitude aerobatics in the same flight. The equipment allowed him to reach speeds of 1 km / h, glide, change direction and perform loops. On October 500, Vincent shared on Instagram beautiful aerial images of a Jetman flight, captured over the Skydive Dubai Desert Campus.

 

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Vince Reffet (@vincereffet)


With his friend Fred Fugen, the parachutist formed the legendary duo of Soul flyers. Passionate about aerial choreography, Vince and Fred fascinated and inspired others "to take flight, with or without wings". Their exploits in wingsuit, base jump and more recently in Jetman will be remembered forever.

 

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

A post shared by Soul Flyers (@soulflyers)


Watch the video of Vince and Fred's performance, “A Door in the Sky”.

“L’homme volant” Vince Reffet est mort lors d’un entraînement de Jetman à Dubaï

La grande famille du wingsuit et les proches des Soul Flyers sont en deuil. Mardi 17 novembre, le skydiver, base jumper et pilote de Jetman, Vince Reffet est décédé pendant un entraînement à Dubaï.

Pour beaucoup, “le ciel est la limite”, mais pour Vince, “le ciel était sa maison”. Parachutiste professionnel et sportif émérite, Vincent Reffet était surnommé “l’homme volant”. Tout au long de sa vie, il a accumulé les exploits sportifs dans les airs. Le grand public l’avait découvert grâce à son entrée dans un avion en plein vol, ou lors de ses vols spectaculaires aux côtés de la patrouille de France ou encore d’un A380. On se souvient également de son saut en base jump depuis la plus haute tour du monde, la Burj Khalifa.

L’homme qui repoussait les limites

Depuis plusieurs mois, Vincent travaillait sur la réalisation d’un prototype avec l’équipe de Jetman Dubaï. Le 14 février dernier, équipé d’une aile en fibre de carbone propulsée par quatre minimoteurs à réaction, le pilote avait surpris le monde entier en décollant du sol avec cet engin futuriste. Mais la suite de l’histoire sera malheureusement plus sombre. Et c’est sur le terrain d’entrainement du désert de Dubaï que Vince a perdu la vie cette semaine. Une enquête est en cours pour déterminer les circonstances exactes du drame. L’annonce du décès a été faite par le porte-parole de Jetman Dubaï.

“C’est avec une tristesse inimaginable que nous vous annonçons le décès du pilote de Jetman, Vincent (Vince) Reffet, décédé au matin du 17 novembre lors d’un entraînement à Dubaï. Vince était un athlète talentueux et un membre très apprécié et respecté de notre équipe. Nos pensées et nos prières accompagnent sa famille et tous ceux qui l’ont connu et ont travaillé avec lui. Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec toutes les autorités compétentes et vous demandons de bien vouloir garder la famille de Vince dans vos pensées et vos prières.”

Des vols impressionnants

Lors de son vol en Jetman de février dernier, Vince avait atteint 100 mètres d’altitude en 8 secondes, et 1000 mètres en seulement 30 secondes à une vitesse moyenne de 240 km/h. Au terme d’un vol de 3 minutes rythmé par un roulis et une boucle à 1 800 mètres d’altitude, il avait ouvert son parachute à 1 500 mètres. C’était la première fois qu’un pilote de Jetman Dubai combinait vol stationnaire et voltige aérienne à haute altitude au cours du même vol. L’équipement lui permettait d’atteindre des vitesses de 400 km/h, de planer, de changer de direction et d’effectuer des boucles. Le 25 octobre dernier, Vincent partageait sur Instagram de belles images aériennes d’un vol en Jetman, capturées au-dessus du Skydive Dubai Desert Campus.


Avec son ami Fred Fugen, le parachutiste formait le duo de légende des Soul Flyers. Passionnés de chorégraphies aériennes, Vince et Fred fascinaient et inspiraient les autres “à prendre leur envol, avec ou sans ailes”. Leurs exploits en wingsuit, base jump et plus récemment en Jetman resteront gravés dans les mémoires.


Retrouvez en vidéo la performance de Vince et Fred, “Une porte dans le ciel”.

La rédaction