carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Greenways of France # 4: The Trans-Ardennes

Between nature and heritage, the Trans-Ardennes greenway is a part of EuroVelo 19. It follows the course of the Meuse from its source to its mouth in Rotterdam, via Belgium.

Dyears the Great East, from Rémilly-Aillicourt to Givet, the Trans-Ardennes greenway has been built along the Meuse, on a former towpath. This cycle route is one of the fastest growing routes in France. It is a real invitation to get away from it all in nature, to the gentle rhythm of bicycle trips.

A long, quality track

The green way Trans-Ardennes follows the majestic valley of the Meuse. This beautiful circuit begins in Remilly-Aillicourt and extends to Givet, a charming little town in the Ardennes department. Away from traffic, calm and security reign on this green lane immersed in nature. The quality of the smooth asphalt pavement of this path, as well as the careful markings, have built the popularity of this cycle lane. On the occasion of the Dutch hiking fair, the Trans-Ardennes greenway was also awarded the title of "European cycle path 2010". Even today, it climbs to the top of the most beautiful greenways in France.

Green lane along a stream

A course for the pleasure of the eyes

Throughout their journey, cyclists complete 30 stages. They cross beautiful little Ardennes towns and charming traditional villages. Montigny-sur-Meuse, Fépin, Fumay, Bogny-sur-Meuse parade under the eyes of sportsmen. They can then admire fawns, swans and hinds which abound in the region. On the route, landscaped sites also welcome cyclists for a well-deserved break. The terraces of cafes and restaurants also allow them to recharge their batteries. Specialty shops also offer the rental or repair of bicycles.

The Meuse seen from the Trans-Ardennes

The Trans-Ardennes, a true haven of peace

Many walkers, on horseback, by bike, on scooters or rollerblades, borrow every day the greenway Trans-Ardennes. Because this course constitutes a real enchanted parenthesis for nature lovers. It is ideal for family walks and itinerant hikes. If you want to be tempted by this peaceful walk, know that many places of accommodation have opened their doors there. Hotels, campings and guest rooms offer visitors a warm welcome.

Two men fish on the Meuse at Givet
Two men fish on the Meuse at Givet

And to better prepare your trip along this greenway, do not miss this dedicated site designed in collaboration with the Tourist Development Agency. You will find all the information you need there, whether for accommodation, catering, rental or repair of bicycles, but also to find the best viewpoints, castles and fortifications.

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Voies vertes de France #4 : La Trans-Ardennes

Entre nature et patrimoine, la voie verte Trans-Ardennes est une portion de l’EuroVélo 19. Elle suit le cours de la Meuse de sa source jusqu’à son embouchure à Rotterdam, en passant par la Belgique.

Dans le Grand-Est, de Rémilly-Aillicourt à Givet, la voie verte Trans-Ardennes a été aménagée le long de la Meuse, sur un ancien chemin de halage. Cet itinéraire cyclable compte parmi les voies les plus roulantes de France. Il constitue une véritable invitation à l’évasion en pleine nature, au rythme doux des voyages à vélo.

Une longue piste de qualité

La voie verte Trans-Ardennes suit la majestueuse vallée de la Meuse. Ce circuit de toute beauté commence à Remilly-Aillicourt et s’étend jusqu’à Givet, une charmante petite ville du département des Ardennes. À l’écart de la circulation, le calme et la sécurité règnent sur cette voie verte immergée dans la nature. La qualité du revêtement en enrobé lisse de cette piste, tout comme le balisage soigné, ont construit la popularité de cette voie cyclable. À l’occasion du salon de la randonnée des Pays-Bas, la voie verte Trans-Ardennes a d’ailleurs été récompensée par le titre de « Piste cyclable européenne 2010 ». Aujourd’hui encore, elle se hisse au sommet des plus belles voies vertes de France.

Voie verte le long d'un cours d'eau

Un parcours pour le plaisir des yeux

Tout au long de leur voyage, les cyclistes franchissent 30 étapes. Ils traversent de belles petites cités ardennaises et de charmants villages traditionnels. Montigny-sur-Meuse, Fépin, Fumay, Bogny-sur-Meuse défilent sous les yeux des sportifs. Ils peuvent alors admirer les faons, cygnes et biches qui abondent dans la région. Sur le tracé, des sites aménagés accueillent par ailleurs les cyclistes pour une pause méritée. Les terrasses des cafés et restaurants leur permettent également de se ressourcer. Des boutiques spécialisées proposent d’autre part la location ou la réparation de vélos.

La Meuse vue de la Trans-Ardennes

Un véritable havre de paix

De nombreux promeneurs à pied, à cheval, à vélo, en trottinette ou à rollers, empruntent chaque jour la voie verte Trans-Ardennes. Car ce parcours constitue une véritable parenthèse enchantée pour les amoureux de la nature. Il est idéal pour les balades en famille et les randonnées itinérantes. Si vous souhaitez vous laisser tenter par cette promenade paisible, sachez que de nombreux lieux d’hébergements y ont ouvert leurs portes. Hôtels, campings et chambres d’hôtes réservent aux visiteurs un accueil des plus chaleureux.

Deux hommes pêchent sur la Meuse à Givet
Deux hommes pêchent sur la Meuse à Givet

Et pour préparer au mieux votre périple le long de cette voie verte, ne manquez pas ce site dédié conçu en collaboration avec l’Agence de Développement Touristique. Vous y trouverez toutes les informations nécessaires, que ce soit pour l’hébergement, la restauration, la location ou la réparation de vélos, mais aussi pour trouver les meilleurs points de vue, châteaux et fortifications.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Les plus belles voies vertes de France #3 : La Voie Verte de Bourgogne du Sud