carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Greenways of France # 3: The greenway of Southern Burgundy

Cycling, heritage, gastronomy and wine tourism are in the spotlight on the green route of Southern Burgundy. An enchanted parenthesis in the heart of Burgundy's riches while pedaling, tasting and marveling.

De Châlon-sur-Saône in Cluny, the 55 kilometers of green way of southern Burgundy offer walkers and cyclists a discovery of exceptional cultural and natural sites. This "star of the greenways" is one of the busiest in France. No wonder, given the quality of its green tourism. At the confluence of gastronomy, history and the art of living, the course won the first European prize for greenways in 2003.

Built along the old railway line from Cluny to Châlon-sur-Saône, the green route of southern Burgundy is accessible to all. It offers athletes and strollers in search of discovery no less than 13 signposted loops at the start of the route. These routes lead them to meet Romanesque art, castles, vineyards and unspoiled nature. The portion between Givry and Cluny was the first greenway created in France in 1997. This would make it almost a must for all lovers of cycling and heritage.

The green route of southern Burgundy, a spectacular itinerary

From the starting point to Châlon-sur-Saone, heritage invites itself with the sumptuous half-timbered houses, the Saint-Vincent cathedral and the remarkable cloister. In the heart of the historic centers of the medieval towns of Buxy et Saint-Gengous-le-National, treat yourself to a beneficial break under the plane trees. A little further, it is the castle of Cormatin which deserves a long halt. Its monumental facades, its moats, its park, its sumptuous apartments indeed constitute a journey into the past. And what about its 21-meter-high empty cage staircase. It is "the oldest and the largest" staircase made with this technique.

Arrival at Cluny also offers cyclists a dive into history. The abbey, founded in 910 by William the Pious, is the seat of the largest medieval monastic order in the West, the Order of Cluny. This building is a true masterpiece of Romanesque art,

A pleasure for the taste buds

Labeled Bike & Cheese, this Burgundy route also gives pride of place to gastronomy. Discovery of markets and meeting of dairy producers stupid on the program. No less than seven local products labeled AOP and AOC can be tasted in Saône-et-Loire. It is also impossible to leave this exceptional terroir without discovering the Route des Grands Vins de la Côte Chalonnaise. The tastings of the fleshy and fruity red wines, as well as the subtle white wines of Burgundy, will satisfy the most informed consumers *.

Cluny vineyard
Cluny vineyard

Want to see a little more?

After having traveled the green route of Southern Burgundy, if you have been conquered by your journey, and if you still have some under the pedal, do not hesitate to continue your escapade until crossing the tunnel leading from Bois Clair to Berzé-le-Châtel. This work, carved out of the rock, constitutes an experience outside of space and time. In the past, only trains crossed the Bois Clair hill. But now cyclists, rollerbladers and walkers have access to it for a few minutes through the rock. The temperature is 11 ° C whatever the season ...

Inside the tunnel you will meet the locals, a small bat population who lives there all year round. The entrance is also closed from October to May so as not to disturb their hibernation. You then have to get around the obstacle via a slightly longer and more sporty route! And if you don't have enough yet, feel free to continue. the great loop of the Tour de Bourgogne going up to Châlon-sur-Saône by the blue route. To make sure you don't miss anything on this sporting and gourmet journey, don't forget to download the Voie Verte 71 application before your departure. She will guide you to the essentials of the route.

*Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health. To consume with moderation.

Voies vertes de France #3 : La voie verte de Bourgogne du Sud

Cyclotourisme, patrimoine, gastronomie et oenotourisme sont à l’honneur sur la voie verte de Bourgogne du Sud. Une parenthèse enchantée au coeur des richesses bourguignonnes tout en pédalant, dégustant et s’émerveillant.

De Châlon-sur-Saône à Cluny, les 55 kilomètres de la voie verte de Bourgogne du Sud offrent aux promeneurs et cyclistes une découverte de sites culturels et naturels exceptionnels. Cette “star des voies vertes” est l’une des plus fréquentées de France. Rien d’étonnant, au vu de la qualité de son offre de tourisme vert. Au confluent de la gastronomie, de l’histoire et de l’art de vivre, le parcours a obtenu le premier prix européen des voies vertes en 2003.

Place Saint-Vincent à Chalon-sur-Saône

Place Saint-Vincent à Chalon-sur-Saône

Aménagée le long de l’ancienne ligne ferroviaire de Cluny à Châlon-sur-Saône, la voie verte de Bourgogne du Sud est accessible à tous. Elle propose aux sportifs et flâneurs en quête de découverte pas moins de 13 boucles balisées au départ de la voie. Ces tracés les conduisent à la rencontre de l’art roman, des châteaux, des vignobles et d’une nature préservée. La portion entre Givry et Cluny a été la première voie verte créée en France en 1997. Cela en ferait d’ailleurs presqu’un passage obligé pour tous les amoureux du vélo et du patrimoine.

Un itinéraire grand spectacle

Dès le point de départ à Châlon-sur-Saône, le patrimoine s’invite avec les somptueuses maisons à colombages, la cathédrale Saint-Vincent et le remarquable cloître. Au coeur des centres historiques des bourgs médiévaux de Buxy et Saint-Gengous-le-National, offrez-vous une pause bienfaisante sous les platanes. Un peu plus loin, c’est le château de Cormatin qui mérite une longue halte. Ses façades monumentales, ses douves, son parc, ses appartements fastueux constituent en effet un voyage dans le passé. Et que dire de son escalier à cage vide de 21 mètres de haut. Il est “le plus ancien et le plus vaste” escalier réalisé avec cette technique.

Escalier du château de Cormatin
Escalier du château de Cormatin

L’arrivée à Cluny réserve également aux cyclistes une plongée dans l’histoire. L’abbaye fondée en 910 par Guillaume le Pieux, est le siège du plus grand ordre monastique médiéval d’Occident, l’Ordre de Cluny. Ce bâtiment est un véritable chef-d’oeuvre de l’art roman,

Un plaisir pour les papilles

Labellisé Vélo & Fromages, cet itinéraire de Bourgognr fait la part belle à la gastronomie, aux marchés et à la rencontre de producteurs laitiers comme à la Chèvrerie de Russilly à Givry. Pas moins de sept produits locaux labellisés AOP et AOC se dégustent en effet en Saône-et-Loire. Impossible par ailleurs de quitter ce terroir d’exception sans découvrir la route des Grands Vins de la Côte chalonnaise. Les dégustations des vins rouges charnus et fruités, ainsi que des subtiles vins blancs de Bourgogne, combleront les consommateurs les plus avertis*.

Vignoble de Cluny

Vignoble de Cluny

Envie d’en voir un peu plus ?

Après avoir parcouru la voie verte de Bourgogne du Sud, si vous avez été conquis par votre périple, et si vous en avez encore sous la pédale, n’hésitez pas à poursuivre votre escapade jusqu’à la traversée du tunnel menant du Bois Clair à Berzé-le-Châtel. Cet ouvrage creusé dans la roche constitue une expérience en dehors de l’espace et du temps. Autrefois, seuls les trains traversaient la colline du Bois Clair. Mais désormais les cyclistes, rollers et marcheurs y ont accès pour quelques minutes à travers la roche. La température y est de 11°C quelle que soit la saison…

À l’intérieur du tunnel, vous rencontrerez les habitants des lieux, une petite population de chauve-souris qui y vit toute l’année. L’entrée est d’ailleurs fermé d’octobre à mai pour ne pas perturber leur hibernation. Il faut alors contourner l’obstacle via un tracé un peu plus long et sportif ! Et si vous n’en avez pas encore assez, n’hésitez pas à poursuivre la grande boucle du Tour de Bourgogne en remontant jusqu’à Châlon-sur-Saône par la voie bleue. Pour ne rien rater de ce périple sportif et gourmand, n’oubliez pas de télécharger l’application Voie Verte 71 avant votre départ. Elle vous guidera vers les incontournables de l’itinéraire.

La rédaction

*L’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé. À consommer avec modération.

Crédit images éditoriales :
Escalier de Cormatin ShutterstockCC-elitravo / Place Saint Vincent à Chalon-sur-Saône ShutterstockCC-Nigel Jarvis

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Envie d’évasion ? Laissez-vous tenter par une balade sur l’une des nombreuses Voies Vertes de France