carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Greenways of France # 1: The Vendée from La Barre de Monts to Saint-Gilles

Sweetness of life and privileged moments by bike are present all along the greenways of France. As part of a series devoted to these signposted routes, we invite you to move slowly and discover unspoiled landscapes. Today, we are celebrating the Vendée and its magnificent coastline of the Côte de Lumière. Discover the Vendée greenway, from La Barre de Monts to Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie.

En Vendée, south of Noirmoutier island, from the Barre de Monts to Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, is a portion of the Velodyssey connecting Brittany to the Basque Country. It allows visitors to walk along the ocean in peace. Over 36 kilometers, this 2 to 3 hour walk is an invitation discovering the Vendée coast. For its first stage, this route takes walkers through 18 kilometers of trails in the Pays des Monts national forest. This Vendée greenway then continues to the sand dunes. She finally gets to the large beach of Saint-Jean-des-Monts, one of the remarkable stages of this itinerary with ocean scents. The charm of the old fishing village of Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez imposes a new break.

Pine forest and Vendée greenway
Forest trails

Then place at the Corniche Vendéenne, the famous rocks of Sion-sur-l'Océan and on arrival at Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie. Most of this route uses cycle lanes. Only four small portions are on roads. The tracks located in the forest are rarely used. However, it is necessary to remain vigilant, especially at crossings where it is possible to cross other people. The last part of the route around Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, consists only of roads on which traffic can be heavy, especially in summer.

Five pineaux beach in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Five pineaux beach in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez

Local specialties

After your discovery of the Vendée coast by bike, it's time to eat and discover the local products. Seafood products, mogette, Vendée ham, Préfou, tourtisseau, brioche and waste, but also local spirits such as kamok or trouspinette await you in the many restaurants and shops spread over the entire territory.

Vendée coastline by bike
Vendée coastline by bike

To discover around the greenway

Landscapes, water sports, gastronomy, fishing, hiking ... It's good to live in Vendée, and passing visitors have only spoiled for choice. This rich territory is indeed particularly well valued. The proximity of the islands of Yeu and Noirmoutier offers travelers a range of absolutely unique and unforgettable excursions. With its 250 kilometers of coast and 140 kilometers of beaches, the Vendée provides unlimited water sports and leisure potential. The Vendée town of Sables d'Olonne located not far from the greenway is also the starting point of the famous Vendée Globe, the only sailing race around the world, solo, non-stop and without assistance.

Squares of Vendée
Traditional squares in Vendée

For those who love the ocean but prefer to stay ashore, fishing is an ideal activity. The traditional squares are also elegantly outlined on the horizon. Freshwater fishing lovers will also be filled. The proximity of the many lakes, rivers and the famous Marais Poitevin make this territory a magnificent fishing site. And for fans of the historical heritage of our country, the renowned Puy du Fou park is obviously a must in the Vendée. To discover with family or friends… It was voted best park in the world in 2014, and “Best Park” and “Most fun brand” in the Fundex OC&C 2019 ranking.

Read also on the same subject:
Desire to escape ? Let yourself be tempted by a walk on one of the many Greenways of France

Voies vertes de France #1 : La Vendée de La Barre de Monts à Saint-Gilles

Douceur de vivre et instants privilégiés à vélo sont au rendez-vous tout au long des voies vertes de France. Dans le cadre d’une série consacrée à ces itinéraires balisés, nous vous invitons au déplacement lent et à la découverte de paysages préservés. Aujourd’hui, nous mettons à l’honneur la Vendée et son magnifique littoral de la côte de Lumière. Découvrez la voie verte de Vendée, de La Barre de Monts à Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie.

En Vendée, au sud de l’île de Noirmoutier, de la Barre de Monts à Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, se trouve une portion de la Vélodyssée reliant la Bretagne au Pays Basque. Elle permet aux visiteurs de longer l’océan en toute quiétude. Sur 36 kilomètres, cette promenade de 2 à 3 heures est une invitation à la découverte du littoral vendéen. Pour sa première étape, ce parcours conduit les promeneurs à travers 18 kilomètres de sentiers de la forêt domaniale des Pays des Monts. Cette voie verte de Vendée se poursuit ensuite jusqu’aux dunes de sable. Elle arrive enfin à la grande plage de Saint-Jean-des-Monts, l’une des étapes remarquables de cet itinéraire aux senteurs océanes. Le charme de l’ancien village de pêcheurs de Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez impose une nouvelle pause.

Forêt de pins et voie verte de Vendée
Sentiers forestiers

Place ensuite à la Corniche vendéenne, aux célèbres rochers de Sion-sur-l’Océan et à l’arrivée à Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie. La majeure partie de cet itinéraire emprunte des voies cyclables. Seules quatre petites portions se font sur routes. Les pistes situées en forêt sont peu fréquentées. Il est toutefois nécessaire de demeurer vigilant, principalement aux croisements où il est possible de croiser d’autres personnes. La dernière partie du parcours aux alentours de Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie, n’est constituée que de routes sur lesquelles le trafic peut être important, notamment en période estivale.

Plage des cinq pineaux à Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Plage des cinq pineaux à Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez

Spécialités du terroir

Après votre découverte du littoral vendéen à vélo, il est temps de vous restaurer et de découvrir les produits du terroir. Produits de la mer, mogette, jambon de Vendée, préfou, tourtisseau, brioche et gâche, mais aussi les alcools locaux tels que le kamok ou la trouspinette vous attendent dans les nombreux restaurants et commerces répartis sur l’ensemble du territoire.

Littoral de Vendée à vélo
Littoral de Vendée à vélo

À découvrir aux alentours de la voie verte

Paysages, nautisme, gastronomie, pêche, randonnée… Il fait bon vivre en Vendée, et les visiteurs de passage n’ont que l’embarras du choix. Ce territoire riche est en effet particulièrement bien valorisé. La proximité des îles d’Yeu et de Noirmoutier offre aux voyageurs un panel d’excursions absolument uniques et inoubliables. Avec ses 250 kilomètres de côte et ses 140 kilomètres de plages, la Vendée procure un potentiel de sports nautiques et de loisirs sans limites. La ville vendéenne des Sables d’Olonne située non loin de la voie verte est d’ailleurs le point de départ du célèbre Vendée Globe, la seule course à la voile autour du monde, en solitaire, sans escale et sans assistance.

Carrelets de Vendée
Carrelets traditionnels en Vendée

Pour ceux qui aiment l’océan mais préfèrent rester à terre, la pêche est une activité idéale. Les traditionnels carrelets se dessinent d’ailleurs élégamment sur l’horizon. Les amoureux de la pêche en eau douce seront également comblés. La proximité des multiples lacs, rivières et du célèbre Marais Poitevin font de ce territoire un magnifique site de pêche. Et pour les inconditionnels du patrimoine historique de notre pays, le renommé parc du Puy du Fou est bien évidemment un incontournable de la Vendée. À découvrir en famille ou entre amis… Il a été élu meilleur parc du monde en 2014, et “Meilleur Parc” et “Marque la plus fun” au classement Fundex OC&C 2019.

La rédaction

Découvrez la quiétude de cette voie verte en séjournant dans l’un des campings vendéens.

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Envie d’évasion ? Laissez-vous tenter par une balade sur l’une des nombreuses Voies Vertes de France