The most beautiful villages in France # 3: In the Vaucluse

In our series devoted to the villages of France, we invite you to gradually discover the 149 most beautiful villages in France. For this third opus, we have chosen to highlight the most beautiful villages of Vaucluse. In this department, seven villages are classified among The most beautiful villages in France.

An south-eastern France, Vaucluse is nestled between Gard, Ardèche, Drôme, Alpes de Haute-Provence, Var and Bouches-du-Rhône. The most beautiful villages of Vaucluse up magnificent Provencal destinations for visitors looking for authenticity. In the heart of the Rhône valley, this department known for the city of the Popes and Mont-Ventoux, but also for the Lubéron natural park, or for its Gallo-Roman heritage, offers a diversity of discoveries and experiences in wilderness.

Omnipresent nature

Provencal architecture, dry stone buildings, scrubland, pine forests, vineyards, lavender and songs of cicadas await visitors to the seven emblematic villages of Vaucluse. In this little paradise sheltered by Mont-Ventoux, the Dentelles de Montmirail, the Monts de Vaucluse and the Lubéron mountain, the heart of Provence builds. Nature is also omnipresent there. The immense forests, the numerous rivers, or the ochres of the magnificent village of Roussillon offer visitors a multitude of walks, hikes and discoveries of nature.

Facades in ocher colors in the village of Roussillon
Facades in ocher colors in the village of Roussillon

Vaucluse, a land steeped in history

Over the centuries, the Vaucluse was shaped by the builders. The hilltop villages, the castles of Gordes and Séguret, but also the abbeys, the Romanesque chapels, the wash houses, the fountains, the belfries or the bories, are the precious witnesses of the past centuries. The villages of Ménerbes and Roussillon tell the story of the extraction of Luberon stone and ochres. AT Ansouis the thousand-year-old castle, for its part, proudly faces the Grand Lubéron.

Gordes hilltop village
Gordes hilltop village

Living traditions in the most beautiful villages of Vaucluse

À Lourmarin, art is at the rendezvous. The art galleries can be discovered around the alleys. This village which was the stronghold of Albert Camus, has retained its charm of yesteryear. It still attracts many artists in search of inspiration today. In Provence, wine also holds an important place as evidenced by the Séguret vineyard. This terroir proudly bears its controlled designation of origin. And what about the bustling markets? You can taste the best specialties in a light atmosphere. Olives, fruit from the orchard, vegetables from the kitchen garden, goat cheese, truffles… But also all the everyday objects fashioned by passionate craftsmen. The santons of Provence They also hold pride of place on the shelves. All the art of life and an authenticity that delight the inhabitants of these villages, as well as summer visitors.

Tomatoes in one of the most beautiful villages in Vaucluse

The Gorges de la Nesque

From the village of Venasque, the Gorges de la Nesque, classified as a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO, are more confidential than their neighbors in the Verdon. They are an essential step for lovers of biodiversity and nature sports. On foot or by mountain bike, the limestone cliffs, tracks, tunnels and viewpoints on Mont Ventoux delight the curious and the sportsmen.

Venasque is one of the most beautiful villages in Vaucluse
Village of Venasque

You will understand, the villages classified among the most beautiful villages of France in Vaucluse, are concentrates of Provence in terms of natural, cultural and historical heritage. Madame de Sévigné had known how to see the beauty of this southern land.

“I come back to you again, that is to say to this divine fountain of Vaucluse; what a beauty ! Petrarch was right to speak of it often. "

Madame de Sévigné

“We all need colors” is one of the mottos of Vaucluse. If you are one of those who need color in their life, then do not hesitate to visit one of the most beautiful villages in Vaucluse as soon as possible.

Les plus beaux villages de France #3 : Dans le Vaucluse

Dans notre série consacrée aux villages de France, nous vous proposons de découvrir peu à peu les 149 plus beaux villages de France. Pour ce troisième opus, nous avons choisi de mettre en lumière les plus beaux villages du Vaucluse. Dans ce département, sept villages sont classés parmi Les plus beaux villages de France.

Au sud-est de la France, le Vaucluse est niché entre le Gard, l’Ardèche, la Drôme, les Alpes de Haute-Provence, le Var et les Bouches-du-Rhône. Les plus beaux villages du Vaucluse constituent des destinations provençales magnifiques pour les visiteurs en quête d’authenticité. Au coeur de la vallée du Rhône, ce département connu pour la cité des Papes et le Mont-Ventoux, mais aussi pour le parc naturel du Lubéron, ou encore pour son héritage gallo-romain, offre une diversité de découvertes et d’expériences en pleine nature.

Une nature omniprésente

Architecture provençale, bâtisses en pierres sèches, garrigues, pinèdes, vignes, lavandes et chants des cigales attendent les visiteurs des sept villages emblématiques du Vaucluse. Dans ce petit paradis abrité par le Mont-Ventoux, les Dentelles de Montmirail, les Monts de Vaucluse et la montagne du Lubéron, le coeur de la Provence bât. La nature y est par ailleurs omniprésente. Les forêts immenses, les cours d’eau nombreux, ou les ocres du magnifique village de Roussillon offrent aux visiteurs une multitude de promenades, de randonnées et de découvertes de la nature.

Façades aux couleurs des ocres dans le village de Roussillon

Façades aux couleurs des ocres dans le village de Roussillon

Une terre chargée d’histoire

Au fil des siècles, le Vaucluse a été façonné par les bâtisseurs. Les villages perchés, les châteaux de Gordes et de Séguret, mais aussi les abbayes, les chapelles romanes, les lavoirs, les fontaines, les beffrois ou encore les bories, sont les témoins précieux des siècles écoulés. Les villages de Ménerbes et de Roussillon racontent quant-à-eux l’histoire de l’extraction de la pierre du Lubéron et des ocres. À Ansouis le château millénaire fait pour sa part fièrement face au Grand Lubéron.

Village perché de Gordes

Village perché de Gordes

Des traditions vivantes

À Lourmarin, l’art est au rendez-vous. Les galeries d’art se découvrent au détour des ruelles. Ce village qui fût le fief d’Albert Camus, a conservé son charme d’antan. Il attire aujourd’hui encore de nombreux artistes en quête d’inspiration. En Provence, le vin tient également une place importante comme en témoigne le vignoble de Séguret. Ce terroir porte d’ailleurs fièrement son appellation d’origine contrôlée. Et que dire des marchés animés ? On y déguste les meilleures spécialités dans une atmosphère légère. Olives, fruits du verger, légumes du potager, fromages de chèvres, truffes… Mais aussi tous les objets du quotidien façonnés par des artisans d’art passionnés. Les santons de Provence tiennent eux aussi une place de choix sur les étales. Tout un art de vivre et une authenticité qui font le bonheur des habitants de ces villages, ainsi que des estivants.

Tomates dans l'un des plus beaux villages du Vaucluse

Les Gorges de la Nesque

Au départ du village de Venasque, les Gorges de la Nesque, classées Réserve de biosphère par l’UNESCO, sont plus confidentielles que leurs voisines du Verdon. Elles constituent une étape essentielle pour les amoureux de biodiversité et de sports nature. À pied ou à VTT, les falaises calcaires, les pistes, les tunnels et les points de vue sur le Mont Ventoux régalent les curieux et les sportifs.

Venasque fait partie des plus beaux villages du Vaucluse

Village de Venasque

Vous l’aurez compris, les villages classés parmi les plus beaux villages de France du Vaucluse, sont des concentrés de Provence sur le plan du patrimoine naturel, culturel et historique. Madame de Sévigné avait su voir la beauté de cette terre du sud.

“J’en reviens encore à vous, c’est-à-dire à cette divine fontaine de Vaucluse ; quelle beauté ! Pétrarque avait bien raison d’en parler souvent.”

“On a tous besoin de couleurs” est l’une des devises du Vaucluse. Si vous faites partie de ceux qui ont besoin de couleurs dans leur vie, n’hésitez pas à visiter au plus vite l’un des plus beaux villages du Vaucluse.

La rédaction

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Les plus beaux villages de France #2 : En Dordogne