carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The members of CycloTransEurope challenge you on the Scandibérique

Since 1996, the association CycloTransEurope works for the development of EuroVelo 3. This Pilgrim Route links Santiago de Compostela in Spain to Trondheim in Norway. Every summer since 2001, the organization offers hikes on part of the Trans-European route. But this year Covid obliges, the course will finally take place in France, on the route of the Scandibérique.

Pfor the summer of 2020, CycloTransEurope cyclists had planned to travel the Norwegian section of EuroVelo 3. They will finally set off on a portion of 1 kilometers of the Scandibérique. The French section of this European cycle route links Trondheim to Santiago de Compostela. On July 11, cycle tourists will leave from Montargis. Arrival is scheduled for July 31, 2020 in Dax. 20 days of effort et stages of 60 kilometers on average !

“Between plains and hills, towpaths, historic towns and natural spaces protected, La Scandibérique is an invitation to travel. It gives everyone time to soak up a great diversity of landscapes and atmospheres. "

Cycle tourism and the Atlantic

A real sporting challenge

If throughout this journey, the moderate pace and the hiking spirit take precedence over competition, the challenge completed in its entirety is not intended for beginner cycle tourists. With stages of 45 to 75 kilometers - and for some in regions with steep slopes - the course is indeed a real physical challenge. Cyclists with little experience are however welcome on the route, because the split route is accessible to all. Because the whole ambition of the project is to allow bicycle lovers of all levels "to meet the territories, others and oneself".

Members of the CycloTransEurope association therefore offer everyone cycling and slow tourism enthusiasts to join the most seasoned runners for one or more stages. All you need is "a revised bike, with efficient brakes and a chain that doesn't jump all the time, saddlebags for your things and a luggage rack for the tent." Without forgetting emergency inner tubes ”, announces Cécile Nelson to the Central Republic.

To view the route, find out the details of the stages, choose your accommodation options, or even register for this unforgettable bike ride that will make you discover France from the inside, go to the site of EuroVelo 3.

In the heart of nature by bike

A total route of 1700 kilometers

During this race, participants will travel more than 1100 kilometers of the Scandibérique which is the longest cycle route in France. But the total route of the French portion actually counts 1 kilometers, and crosses no less than 700 departments and 20 regions from North to South. Heritage, rich terroirs and remarkable sites two-wheeled adventurers await. The Scandibérique passes through many magnificent towns steeped in history, such as Noyon, Compiègne, Paris, Orléans, Tours, Châtellerault, Angoulême, Bordeaux, Mont-de-Marsan, Dax and Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

From the Belgian border to Avesnois, to Oise then Paris. From Seine to Loire, from Touraine to Vienne, to arrive on the Atlantic. The route continues in Charentes, Gironde and Landes before reaching the point of arrival not far from the Spanish border. A unique adventure through the wildest and most peaceful landscapes that our country can offer. Along the way, do not miss the vineyards of Saint-Émilion, the comic strip museum in Angoulème, the spas of the Landes, the mountains of Flanders, the Moulin des Tours de Barbaste in Nérac, or the Caverne du Dragon on the Chemin des Dames.

Crossing Europe by bike

The Eurovélo network has a total of 17 European cycle paths, over more than 70 kilometers. Eight of them pass through France, or nearly 000 km!

The EuroVelo routes

Image credit: European Cyclists' Federation / CC BY

Les membres de la CycloTransEurope vous lancent un défi sur la Scandibérique

Depuis 1996, l’association CycloTransEurope oeuvre au développement de l’EuroVélo 3. Cette Route des Pèlerins relie Saint-Jacques de Compostelle en Espagne, à Trondheim en Norvège. Tous les étés depuis 2001, l’organisation propose des randonnées sur une partie de l’itinéraire de la Trans-Européenne. Mais cette année Covid oblige, le parcours se déroulera finalement en France, sur le tracé de la Scandibérique.

Pour l’été 2020, les cyclistes de CycloTransEurope avaient prévu de parcourir le tronçon norvégien de l’EuroVélo 3. Ils s’élanceront finalement sur une portion de 1 120 kilomètres de la Scandibérique. Le tronçon français de cette véloroute européenne relie Trondheim à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Le 11 juillet prochain, les cyclotouristes partiront de Montargis. L’arrivée est prévue le 31 juillet 2020 à Dax. 20 jours d’effort et des étapes de 60 kilomètres en moyenne !

“Entre plaines et collines, chemins de halage, villes historiques et espaces naturels protégés, La Scandibérique est une invitation au voyage . Elle laisse à chacun le temps de s’imprégner d’une grande diversité de paysages et d’atmosphères.”

Cyclotourisme et Atlantique

Un véritable défi sportif

Si tout au long de ce périple, le rythme modéré et l’esprit rando priment sur la compétition, le défi réalisé dans son intégralité ne s’adresse pas pour autant aux cyclotouristes débutants. Avec des étapes de 45 à 75 kilomètres – et pour certaines dans des régions à fort dénivelé – le parcours constitue en effet un véritable défi physique. Les cyclistes peu initiés sont pourtant les bienvenus sur le tracé, car l’itinéraire fractionné est accessible à tous. Car toute l’ambition du projet est de permettre aux amoureux du vélo de tout niveau “d’aller à la rencontre des territoires, des autres et de soi-même”.

Les membres de l’association CycloTransEurope proposent donc à tous les amateurs de vélo et de slowtourisme de rejoindre les coureurs les plus aguerris pour une ou plusieurs étapes. Il suffit de disposer “d’un vélo révisé, avec des freins efficaces et une chaîne qui ne saute pas tout le temps, des sacoches pour ses affaires et un porte-bagages pour la tente. Sans oublier des chambres à air de secours”, annonce Cécile Nelson à la République du Centre.

Pour visualiser le parcours, connaître le détail des étapes, choisir vos solutions d’hébergement, ou encore vous inscrire à cette randonnée à vélo inoubliable qui vous fera découvrir la France de l’intérieur, rendez-vous sur le site de l’EuroVélo 3.

En pleine nature à vélo

Un tracé total de 1700 kilomètres

Lors de cette course, les participants parcourront plus de 1100 kilomètres de la Scandibérique qui est le plus long itinéraire cyclable de France. Mais le tracé total de la portion française compte en réalité 1 700 kilomètres, et traverse pas moins de 20 départements et 6 régions du Nord au Sud. Patrimoine, riches terroirs et sites remarquables attendent les aventuriers à deux roues. La Scandibérique traverse de nombreuses villes magnifiques et chargées d’histoire, telles que Noyon, Compiègne, Paris, Orléans, Tours, Châtellerault, Angoulême, Bordeaux, Mont-de-Marsan, Dax et Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

De la frontière belge à l’Avesnois, jusqu’à l’Oise puis Paris. De la Seine à la Loire, de la Touraine à la Vienne, pour arriver sur l’Atlantique. Le tracé se poursuit dans les Charentes, la Gironde, les Landes avant de rejoindre le point d’arrivée non loin de la frontière espagnole. Une aventure unique à travers les paysages les plus sauvages et paisibles que peut offrir notre pays. Sur le parcours, ne manquez pas les vignobles de Saint-Émilion, le musée de la bande-dessinée d’Angoulème, les stations thermales des Landes, les monts de Flandre, le Moulin des Tours de Barbaste à Nérac, ou encore la Caverne du Dragon sur le Chemin des Dames.

Traverser l’Europe à vélo

Le réseau Eurovélo compte au total 17 pistes cyclables européennes, sur plus de 70 000 kilomètres. Huit d’entre elles passent en France, soit près de 8 915 km !

Les tracés de l'EuroVélo

La rédaction

Crédit image : European Cyclists’ Federation / CC BY