carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The wing foil will be at the Mondial du Vent in Leucate! Come and try it ...

In water sports, innovation is often present to satisfy enthusiasts. It seems that with the wing foil, youngest from the great nautical family, the designers have given new impetus.

C 'is Tony Logosz who had the first intuition in 2015. His prototype had caused a sensation by hovering above the surface, towed by an elegant wing with the appearance of a bird. The idea was launched. The success was not long in coming, and several brands quickly took an interest in the concept. Several years later, the wing foil begins to integrate into seaside landscapes.

But what is the wing foil?

Imagine a paddle board equipped with a foil, propelled by an inflatable kite held in the hand thanks to a boom… Do you need a translation? We tell you everything a little below. To put it simply, Wing Foil is located at the interface of SUP foil, Kitesurf and Windsurf.

We no longer present the SUP, the Stand Up Paddle whose multiple models delight young and old on all beaches. The wishbone is the hoop surrounding the sail making it possible to maneuver the windsurfing board. As for the Foil, it is this curious "winged" fin that can be installed on the keel of racing yachts, on kytes or even on SUPs ...

Foil

The movement of water generated around this submerged wing creates a force, which allows the vessel or board to rise above the surface. Foil therefore makes it possible to limit friction and literally hover above the water. A real pleasure! A feeling of freedom for all riders, who in just a few years, have made the foil a must.

A light and elegant wing

WingFoil

The innovation of Wing Foil does not stop at the happy marriage of several technologies. The real novelty is this harmonious and light veil whose design evokes the wings of a bird. No harness, no lines, just two leashs that hook you up to the kite and the board. All you have to do is move away from the beach (so as not to damage the foil), and get on your knees on the board to start maneuvering your kite. And to believe the fans, it only takes about thirty minutes to manage it!

A small footprint and a simple installation for the full of sensations!

The set-up and learning time are reduced with Wing Foil, but make no mistake, without a harness, the arms will be heavily used! If the technique of Wing Foil is more accessible than that of Kyte or Windsurf, Wing Foil is no less physical.

Want to give it a try?

So see you in Leucate in a few weeks. The organizers of the Mondial du Vent 2020 have announced it. The Wing Foil will be there from April 11 to 16 on the beaches of Leucate and La Franqui! Demonstrations with pros, downwinds and even introductions to the general public… It's time to get started!

What future for the wing foil?

It seems that the Wing has a bright future ahead of it. Its maneuverability and lightness are attractive, and some are starting to transpose the idea to skiing, snowboarding, skateboarding or ice skating. Nothing is done, but the Wing may well become the new trend. Come and try it!

Le wing foil sera au Mondial du Vent de Leucate ! Venez l’essayer…

Dans les sports nautiques, l’innovation est bien souvent au rendez-vous pour combler les passionnés. Il semblerait qu’avec le wing foil, petit dernier de la grande famille du nautisme, les concepteurs aient donné une nouvelle impulsion.

C’est Tony Logosz qui a eu la première intuition en 2015. Son prototype avait fait sensation en planant au-dessus de la surface, tracté par une élégante aile aux allures d’oiseau. L’idée était lancée. Le succès ne s’est pas fait attendre, et plusieurs marques se sont rapidement intéressées au concept. Quelques années plus tard, le wing foil commence à s’intégrer dans les paysages de bord de mer.

Mais le wing foil, c’est quoi ?

Imaginez une planche de paddle équipée d’un foil, propulsée par une aile gonflable tenue à la main grâce à un wishbone… Vous avez besoin d’une traduction ? On vous dit tout un peu plus bas. Pour faire simple le Wing Foil se situe à l’interface du SUP foil, du Kitesurf et du Windsurf.

On ne présente plus le SUP, le Stand Up Paddle dont les multiples modèles réjouissent petits et grands sur toutes les plages. Le wishbone, c’est l’arceau entourant la voile permettant de manoeuvrer la planche à voile. Quant au Foil, c’est cette curieuse dérive “ailée” qui peut être installée sur la quille des voiliers de course, sur des kytes ou encore sur des SUP…

Foil

Le mouvement d’eau généré autour de cette aile immergée crée une force, qui permet au navire ou à la planche de s’élever au dessus de la surface. Le Foil permet donc de limiter les frottements et de planer littéralement au dessus de l’eau. Un réel plaisir ! Une sensation de liberté pour tous les riders, qui en seulement quelques années, ont fait du foil un incontournable.

Une aile légère et élégante

WingFoil

L’innovation du Wing Foil ne s’arrête pas au mariage heureux de plusieurs technologies. La vraie nouveauté, c’est cette harmonieuse et légère voile dont le design évoque les ailes d’un oiseau. Pas de harnais, pas de bouts, simplement deux leashs qui vous raccrochent à l’aile et à la planche. Il suffit de s’éloigner de la plage (pour ne pas endommager le foil), et de se placer à genoux sur la planche pour commencer à manoeuvrer son aile. Et à en croire les fans, il ne faut qu’une trentaine de minutes pour parvenir à la manier !

Un encombrement réduit et une installation simple pour le plein de sensations !

La mise en place et le temps d’apprentissage sont réduits avec le Wing Foil, mais ne vous y trompez pas, sans harnais, les bras seront largement sollicités ! Si la technique du Wing Foil est plus accessible que celle du Kyte ou du Windsurf, le Wing Foil n’est pas moins physique.

Envie d’essayer ?

Alors rendez-vous à Leucate dans quelques semaines. Les organisateurs du Mondial du Vent 2020 l’ont annoncé. Le Wing Foil sera au rendez-vous du 11 au 16 avril sur les plages de Leucate et La Franqui ! Démonstrations avec des pros, downwind et même initiations au grand public… C’est le moment de vous lancer !

Quel avenir pour le wing foil ?

Il semblerait que la Wing ait de beaux jours devant elle. Sa maniabilité et sa légèreté séduisent, et certains commencent à transposer l’idée au ski, au snowboard, au skate ou patins à glace. Rien n’est fait, mais la Wing risque bien de devenir la nouvelle tendance. Venez l’essayer !

La rédaction