carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Ski touring, an old practice that has become a trend to follow

Somewhere between alpine skiing and Nordic skiing, several little-known disciplines are practiced by a handful of experienced skiers, lovers of pure sensations and breathtaking landscapes. Ski mountaineering, Nordic ski touring and ski touring are practiced outside the groomed slopes, in powder snow, between rocky outcrops and forests.

Et among these three disciplines, ski touring performs an unexpected mainstream breakthrough. This ancestral practice, traces of which can be found on cave paintings 4000 years old in Norway, appeared in the Alps in the XNUMXth century. First practiced for transport, ski touring finally seduced the English bourgeoisie who did not hesitate to put on skis and sealskins to explore the massifs. The practice then developed for several years before falling into disuse during the advent of alpine skiing. However, it never completely disappeared… The discipline is now making a remarkable comeback in the French massifs.

A rising trend ...

And ski touring may well become a strong trend. This practice corresponds to the aspirations of a public ever more attentive to well-being, to surpassing oneself and at exceptional moments. In ski touring, there is no need to wait in line for the ski lifts. On the contrary, we move away from the crowd, we leave the stations and we walk quietly to summits inaccessible to alpine skiers, before embarking on pristine and pristine powder. A real experience of freedom in the heart of nature ...

Backcountry skiing

A sport at the interface of skiing, trail running and Nordic walking

The rise of outdoor sports, such as trail running and Nordic walking, has certainly played a role in the revival of the sport. The effort is comparable and the practitioners recharge their batteries in unspoiled nature.

A practice that opens up to a wider audience

If ski touring is practiced off the beaten track and is therefore intended more for connoisseurs of the mountain, the stations are beginning to see the potential of this trend. So much so that some of them now offer marked paths and dedicated events. It is therefore possible for everyone to be tempted by the adventure in complete safety.

Surpassing oneself, wonder and fullness

Les Houches, Val Thorens, La CLusaz and many other stations offer the general public the opportunity to learn to ski touring under optimal security conditions. Instructors, signposted trails accessible free of charge, suitable equipment available for hire ... The sealskins have given way to synthetic coverings, the shoes are light, the parabolic skis facilitate sliding in the powder and the bindings allow you to alternate between walking and glides safely. No more excuses to jump in and be amazed by the wild mountain. Specialists will sometimes prefer to call this alternative ski fitness, nice springboard to venture later towards the less accessible ridges and summits.

Skier at the top

A real revitalization for the body and the spirit

The benefits of this sport are manifold. For the mind first of all. This outdoor experience through the mountain will free you from all stress and leave a unique mark in your memory. For the body of course, because the effort will be continuous and gentle. The heart and a large part of your muscles will be used regularly and without shocks. A real cardio workout in a dream setting. What more !

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

Le ski de randonnée, une pratique ancienne devenue tendance à suivre

Quelque part entre ski alpin et ski nordique, plusieurs disciplines méconnues sont pratiquées par une poignée de skieurs expérimentés, amateurs de sensations pures et de paysages à couper le souffle. Le ski-alpinisme, le ski de randonnée nordique ou encore le ski de randonnée se pratiquent en dehors des pistes damées, dans la poudreuse, entre éperons rocheux et forêts.

Et parmi ces trois disciplines, le ski de randonnée effectue une percée grand public inattendue. Cette pratique ancestrale dont on retrouve les traces sur des peintures rupestres vieilles de 4000 ans en Norvège, est apparue dans les Alpes au XIXème siècle. D’abord pratiquée pour le transport, le ski de randonnée a finalement séduit la bourgeoisie anglaise qui n’a pas hésité à chausser les skis et les peaux de phoque pour explorer les massifs. La pratique s’est ensuite développée pendant plusieurs années avant de tomber en désuétude lors de l’avénement du ski alpin. Elle n’a pourtant jamais disparu complètement… La discipline fait aujourd’hui un retour remarqué dans les massifs français.

Une tendance qui monte…

Et le ski de randonnée pourrait bien devenir une tendance forte. Cette pratique correspond aux aspirations d’un public toujours plus attentif au bien-être, au dépassement de soi et aux instants d’exception.

En ski de randonnée, inutile d’attendre dans la file pour les remontées mécaniques. Au contraire, on s’éloigne de la foule, on sort des stations et on chemine tranquillement jusqu’à des sommets inaccessibles aux skieurs alpins, avant de s’engager dans une poudreuse vierge et immaculée. Une réelle expérience de liberté en pleine nature…

Ski hors-piste

Un sport à l’interface du ski, du trail et de la marche nordique

L’essor des sports outdoor, tels que le trail et la marche nordique, a certainement joué un rôle dans le renouveau de ce sport. L’effort est comparable et les pratiquants se ressourcent dans une nature préservée.

Une pratique qui s’ouvre à un public plus large

Si le ski de randonnée se pratique en dehors des sentiers battus et se destine donc plutôt aux fins connaisseurs de la montagne, les stations commencent à percevoir le potentiel de cette tendance. À tel point que certaines d’entre elles proposent désormais des chemins balisés et des événements dédiés. Il est donc possible à tous de se laisser tenter par l’aventure en toute sécurité.

Dépassement de soi, émerveillement et plénitude

Les Houches, Val Thorens, La CLusaz et bien d’autres stations offrent la possibilité au grand public de s’initier au ski de rando dans les conditions de sécurité optimales. Moniteurs, sentiers balisés accessibles gratuitement, matériel adapté disponible en location… Les peaux de phoque ont laissé la place aux revêtements synthétiques, les chaussures sont légères, les skis paraboliques facilitent la glisse dans la poudreuse et les fixations permettent d’alterner la position marche et glisse en toute sécurité. Plus d’excuses pour se lancer et se laisser émerveillé par la montagne sauvage. Les spécialistes préfèreront parfois appeler cette alternative le ski fitness, joli tremplin pour s’aventurer plus tard vers les crêtes et sommets moins accessibles.

Skieuse au sommet

Un véritable ressourcement pour le corps et l’esprit

Les bienfaits de ce sport sont multiples. Pour l’esprit tout d’abord. Cette expérience outdoor à travers la montagne vous libèrera de tout stress et laissera une trace unique dans votre mémoire. Pour le corps bien sûr, car l’effort sera continu et doux. Le coeur et une grande partie de vos muscles seront sollicités de manière régulière et sans chocs. Un réel entraînement cardio dans un décor de rêve. Que demander de plus !

La rédaction