carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Le Sidobre, we come there one day by chance, we always come back by passion

“Le Sidobre, we come there one day by chance, but we always come back out of passion”. This quotation sums up in itself the wonders to be discovered by traversing this mountainous region in the south of the Massif Central, the Sidobre.

Situated in the Haut Languedoc Natural Park, Sidobre and the largest granite plateau in Europe. Lakes, rivers, chaos (or rivers) of granite blocks, trails and forests, delight fishermen, hikers and mountain bikers. And this rich territory is the subject of many mysteries and legends. It is even said that the chaos of boulders were thrown there by the gods one evening of wrath.

The Sidobre and its granite blocks

By committing to the paths of Sidobre, you will be amazed to discover the chaos of La Balme and La Rouquette, as well as the monumental blocks, such as the trembling rock of the seven scythes, the rock of the goose which is discovered by taking the path of wonders, or the more remarkable, the Peyro Clabado. This 780-ton rock was classified as a historical monument in 1912. Its impressive shape defies the laws of gravity. The rock is indeed on a platform of only 1m2.

The Sidobre and the Peyro Clabado
The Peyro Clabado

The lake of Merle and the Saut de la Truite

Merle lake is a real haven of peace. Between oaks, birches and pines, this artificial water reservoir used to be a reservoir for the irrigation of the Domaine du Merle. The place is ideal for a stroll on the wild banks, the discovery of the animal and plant species which inhabit the lake, and why not a good picnic in the shade of a tree.

In a green setting the Leap of the Trout, a 25-meter waterfall named after the trout-shaped rock at the foot of the waterfall, is one of Sidobre's remarkable sites. Its ascent by the trails will also allow you to discover another waterfall, the Paradise waterfall. Allow 2 to 3 hours to get to this site conducive to rest.

Lac du Merle in Sidobre
Merle lake

A multitude of sporting and cultural activities are practiced at Sidobre

For families and children, activities will not be lacking. Horseback riding, storytelling walks revealing the mysteries of the places, adventure parks, discovery of the most impressive rocks and boulders. Young and old can have fun looking for the rocks hidden in the labyrinth of the invisible around the rock of the Goose. For the more adventurous, mountain biking is also an excellent way to discover the site.

For heritage lovers, after having walked the paths, do not hesitate to go to the small village of Burlats to discover its medieval splendors which will take you back to the time of the troubadours, the Gijou valley and its many remarkable sites, or even on the bridge old man from Brassac-sur-Agout. It even says "that a kiss exchanged on the old bridge makes it possible to make a clean sweep of the past" ... In Saint-Salvy-de-la-Balme, which is also the starting point of the legends walk, you learn more about the history of granite and stonemasons.

For the more athletic, the park has provided many facilities for mountain biking trails for all levels. Sensation guaranteed.

For fishermen, the many lakes and rivers will delight you.

Adventure Park
Adventure park

Poetic, atypical, dizzying and sumptuous, Sidobre is waiting for you. Discover the rivers of rocks and all the emblematic sites of this granite plateau so preserved.

To discover the wonders of Sidobre with the family, book your stay within the Camping The Plô.

Le Sidobre, on y vient un jour par hasard, on y revient toujours par passion

“Le Sidobre, on y vient un jour par hasard, mais on y revient toujours par passion”. Cette citation résume à elle seule les merveilles à découvrir en parcourant cette région montagneuse du sud du Massif Central, le Sidobre.

Situé dans le Parc Naturel du Haut Languedoc, le Sidobre et le plus vaste plateau granitique d’Europe. Lacs, rivières, chaos (ou rivières) de blocs granitiques, sentiers et forêts, font le bonheur des pêcheurs, randonneurs et des vététistes. Et ce territoire si riche fait l’objet de nombreux mystères et légendes. Il se dit même que les chaos de blocs rocheux furent jetés là par les dieux un soir de colère.

Les blocs granitiques

En vous engageant sur les sentiers du Sidobre, vous serez émerveillés de découvrir les chaos de la Balme et de la Rouquette, ainsi que les blocs monumentaux, tels que le rocher tremblant des sept faux, le roc de l’oie qui se découvre en empruntant le sentier des merveilles, ou encore le plus remarquable, le Peyro Clabado. Ce rocher de 780 tonnes a été classé monument historique en 1912. Sa forme impressionnante défie les lois de la gravité. Le rocher tient en effet sur une plateforme de seulement 1m2.

Le Sidobre et le Peyro Clabado

Le Peyro Clabado

Le lac du Merle et le Saut de la Truite

Le lac du Merle est un véritable havre de paix. Entre chênes, bouleaux et pins, cette retenue d’eau artificielle constituait autrefois un réservoir pour l’irrigation du domaine du Merle. Le lieu est idéal pour une balade sur les berges sauvages, la découverte des espèces animales et végétales qui peuplent le plan d’eau, et pourquoi pas un bon pique-nique à l’ombre d’un arbre.

Dans un écrin de verdure le Saut de la Truite, une cascade de 25 mètres qui doit son nom au rocher en forme de truite au pied de la chute, est l’un des sites remarquables du Sidobre. Son ascension par les sentiers vous permettra de découvrir également une autre cascade, la cascade du Paradis. Comptez 2 à 3 heures pour vous rendre sur ce site propice au repos.

Lac du Merle dans le Sidobre

Le lac du Merle

Une multitude d’activités sportives et culturelles

Pour les familles et les enfants, les activités ne manqueront pas. Randonnées à cheval, balades contées révélant les mystères des lieux, parcs aventures, découverte des rochers et des blocs les plus impressionnants. Petits et grands pourront s’amuser en cherchant les rochers cachés dans le labyrinthe des invisibles autour du roc de l’Oie Pour les plus téméraires, le VTT est également un excellent moyen de découvrir le site.

Pour les amoureux du patrimoine, après avoir parcouru les chemins, n’hésitez pas à vous rendre au petit village de Burlats afin de découvrir ses splendeurs médiévales qui vous ramèneront à l’époque des troubadours, la vallée du Gijou et ses nombreux sites remarquables, ou encore sur le pont vieux de Brassac-sur-Agout. Il se dit même “qu’un baiser échangé sur le pont vieux permet de faire table rase du passé”… À Saint-Salvy-de-la-Balme, qui est par ailleurs le point de départ de la balade des légendes, vous en saurez plus sur l’histoire du granit et des tailleurs de pierre.

Pour les plus sportifs, le parc a prévu de nombreux aménagements de parcours VTT de tous niveaux. Sensation garantie.

Pour les pêcheurs, les nombreux lacs et rivières vous raviront.

Parc Aventure

Parc aventure

Poétique, atypique, vertigineux et somptueux, Sidobre n’attend plus que vous. Découvrez les rivières de rochers et tous les sites emblématiques de ce plateau granitique si préservé.

La rédaction

Pour découvrir les merveilles du Sidobre en famille, réservez votre séjour au sein du camping Le Plô.