carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

"The crazy hiker" uploads the video of his Tour de Loire in 18 days

Bruno Vermeulen is “crazy” about hiking. This passion which animates him, has led him for 20 years on the hiking trails. Photo lover, the crazy hiker shares his story and the stories of his travels on his blog. And for the first time, it is in video that he decided to tell his trek around the Loire.

IThere is nothing really crazy about "the mad hiker". With his feet on the ground and his eyes always raised to the wonders that nature offers him, the passionate hiking enthusiast Bruno Vermeulen has walked the paths of all the mountain ranges of the metropolis. Alps, Pyrenees, Massif Central, Vosges, Jura… But also Cape Verde, Ireland, Kilimanjaro or Toukbal. And this summer, it is a magnificent journey as close as possible to the administrative limits of the Loire, that this man of challenge has decided to undertake.

An 18-day course

On July 1, 2020, Bruno set off from Chazelles-sur-Lyon with a 30-liter backpack as his only equipment. No room for the superfluous. 10 kilos of equipment will be enough for this skilled walker to cover in 18 days, the 650 kilometers and 17 meters of vertical drop. A trek that will require an average daily walk of 300 kilometers, and nearly 36 meters of vertical drop through the mountain ranges from Lyonnais, Pilat, the Forez mountains and the Madeleine. Throughout his journey, the retired walker crossed or skirted 196 municipalities in the department.

"A sporting challenge and a human experience highlighting the territories of the Loire, with accommodation with locals, in camping, lodging, farm, bed and breakfast and hotel. "

From this trek was born a video financed in part by funds raised by "Friends of the Mad Hiker". The documentary film of approximately one hour, produced by the production company Eodrone and distributed by the association “Les amis du randonneur fou” was released on November 20, 2020. Beautiful images captured by Bruno, as well as drone shots, offer the viewer an immersion in the heart of a magnificent territory, and to meet its inhabitants.

A story of resilience

It all started in 2000, when Bruno was the victim of a motorcycle accident. As part of the rehabilitation, his doctors advise him to resume sport and in particular walking. So he decides to follow their advice and starts walking, then hiking. A great adventure begins. 14 years later, a mountain accident will darken the picture. This time the consequences are more important, but whatever. Bruno will end up setting off again on the trails. He walks, hikes, leaves for several days to meet the landscapes and those who inhabit them, always with the same pleasure and the same passion that he enjoys. made it possible to overcome so many trials. An inspiring journey.

“Le randonneur fou” met en ligne la vidéo de son Tour de Loire en 18 jours

Bruno Vermeulen est “fou” de rando. Cette passion qui l’anime, l’entraîne depuis 20 ans sur les sentiers de randonnée. Amateur de photo, le randonneur fou partage son histoire et les récits de ses voyages sur son blog. Et pour la première fois, c’est en vidéo qu’il a décidé de raconter son trek autour de la Loire.

Il n’a en réalité rien d’un fou “le randonneur fou”. Les pieds sur terre et les yeux toujours levés vers les merveilles que lui offrent la nature, le passionné de randonnée Bruno Vermeulen a parcouru les chemins de tous les massifs montagneux de métropole. Alpes, Pyrénées, Massif Central, Vosges, Jura… Mais aussi le Cap Vert, l’Irlande, le Kilimandjaro ou le Toukbal. Et cet été, c’est un magnifique périple au plus près des limites administratives de la Loire, que cet homme de défi a décidé d’entreprendre.

Un parcours de 18 jours

Le 1er juillet 2020, Bruno s’est élancé depuis Chazelles-sur-Lyon avec pour seul équipement un sac à dos de 30 litres. Pas de place pour le superflu. 10 kilos de matériel suffiront à ce marcheur émérite pour parcourir en 18 jours, les 650 kilomètres et 17 300 mètres de dénivelé. Un trek qui nécessitera une marche quotidienne moyenne de 36 kilomètres, et de près de 1 000 mètres de dénivelé à travers les massifs montagneux du Lyonnais, du Pilat, les monts du Forez ou encore la Madeleine. Tout au long de son périple, le marcheur retraité a traversé ou longé 196 communes du département.

“Un défi sportif et une expérience humaine mettant en valeur les territoires de la Loire, avec des hébergements chez l’habitant, en camping, gîte, ferme, chambre d’hôtes et hôtel.”

De ce trek est née une vidéo financée en partie par les fonds levés par “Les amis du randonneur fou”. Le film documentaire d’environ une heure, réalisé par la société de production Eodrone et distribué par l’association “Les amis du randonneur fou” a été publié le 20 novembre 2020. De magnifiques images capturées par Bruno, ainsi que des prises de vue en drone, offrent au spectateur une immersion au coeur d’un territoire magnifique, et à la rencontre de ses habitants.

Une histoire de résilience

Tout a commencé en 2000, quand Bruno a été victime d’un accident de moto. Dans le cadre de la rééducation, ses médecins lui conseillent la reprise du sport et notamment de la marche. Il décide donc de suivre leur conseil et se met à la marche, puis à la randonnée. Une belle aventure commence. 14 ans plus tard, c’est un accident de montagne qui viendra assombrir le tableau. Cette fois les séquelles sont plus importantes, mais qu’importe. Bruno finira par repartir sur les sentiers. Il marche, randonne, part pour plusieurs jours à la rencontre des paysages et de ceux qui les peuplent, toujours avec le même plaisir et cette même passion qui lui a permis de surmonter tant d’épreuves. Un parcours inspirant.

La rédaction