carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The Jura finally has its ultra-trail

From 2 to 4 October 2020, took place in Métabief the first edition of the Ultra-Trail of the Jura Mountains.

The Alps have the Ultra-Trail du Mont Blanc. The Pyrenees have the Grand Raid. Reunion Island has the Diagonale des Fous. Corsica has the Ultra-Trail di Corsica. But Jura did not yet have his ultra-trail. Faced with the enthusiasm for this discipline, some enthusiasts took up the challenge of organizing an ultra in this land of Nordic skiing. On October 2, 2020, 250 runners were able to take the start of the first UTMJ, in Lancrans.

5 races on exceptional tracks

And there was something for everyone on the Jura massif during this fall weekend. Because besides UTMJ and its 181,9 kilometers and 7700 meters of elevation gain, the organizers have proposed four other races. Franco-Switzerland and its 113,3 kilometers and 4570 meters of vertical drop, the vixen and its 72 kilometers and 2320 meters of vertical drop, the MWC and its 37,5 kilometers and 1050 vertical meters, and the Lynx and its 18,6 kilometers for 690 meters of vertical drop. The routes took many sections of Nordic ski trails and crossed a few resorts. The UTMJ course is also very largely inspired by that of the legendary Nordic skiing event in Jura, the Transjurassienne.

UTMJ: A Dantesque first edition

For this first edition, the runners tasted the continental fall. They have known all the seasons in just a few days. Some pictures reveal a beautiful blue sky, but it must be recognized that the runners also had the right to muddy terrain, wind, rain and even snow!

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Ultra Trail Jura Mountains (@ut_montagnes_du_jura) le

It is even in winter conditions that the Franco-Swiss runners set off on October 3, at the start of Les Rousses. So much so that the organizers finally had to shorten the routes in the Swiss sector of Franco-Suisse and the UTMJ on the second day. The passages to the summits of Suchet and Aiguillon have been removed. The route therefore finally passed through the supply station at Grange Neuve, before directly joining the supply station at Pré Malvilain via the Aiguillon pass.

A magnificent first edition of the ultra-trail of the Jura mountains

Despite the weather conditions and the health crisis, runners and organizers were won over by UTMJ. Perfect organization, smiling and motivated volunteers… The runners were full of praise by thanking the teams on social networks, who also expressed their relief after this great success.

“And yes, we did! Runners, volunteers, partners and organizers, despite conditions described as "daunting", we did it and we can only congratulate ourselves. Bravo to all for this first edition! "

Congratulations to the winners of the UTMJ, Stephanie Perriard in women and Fabrice Fauser at men's. The Franco-Suisse was won by Emily Camier and Adrien Alix.

 
 
 
 
 
See this post on Instagram
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A publication shared by Ultra Trail Jura Mountains (@ut_montagnes_du_jura) le

Do not miss the video recap of this memorable first edition of the UTMJ.

Le Jura a enfin son ultra-trail

Du 2 au 4 octobre 2020, s’est déroulée à Métabief la première édition de l’Ultra-Trail des Montagnes du Jura.

Les Alpes ont l’Ultra-Trail du Mont Blanc. Les Pyrénées ont le Grand Raid. L’île de la Réunion a la Diagonale des Fous. La Corse a l’Ultra-Trail di Corsica. Mais le Jura ne disposait pas encore de son ultra-trail. Face à l’engouement pour cette discipline, quelques passionnés ont relevé le défi d’organiser un ultra sur cette terre de ski nordique. Le 2 octobre 2020, 250 coureurs ont ainsi pu prendre le départ du premier UTMJ, à Lancrans.

5 courses aux tracés d’exception

Et il y en avait pour tous les goûts sur le massif jurassien pendant ce week-end automnal. Car outre l’UTMJ et ses 181,9 kilomètres et 7700 mètres de dénivelé positif, les organisateurs ont proposé quatre autres courses. La Franco-Suisse et ses 113,3 kilomètres et 4570 mètres de dénivelé, la Renarde et ses 72 kilomètres et 2320 mètres de dénivelé, la CMM et ses 37,5 kilomètres et 1050 mètres de dénivelé, et la Lynx et ses 18,6 kilomètres pour 690 mètres de dénivelé. Les tracés ont emprunté de nombreux tronçons de pistes de ski nordique et ont traversé quelques stations. Le parcours de l’UTMJ est d’ailleurs très largement inspiré de celui de la mythique épreuve de ski nordique du Jura, la Transjurassienne.

Une première édition dantesque

Pour cette première édition, les coureurs ont goûté à l’automne continental. Ils ont connu toutes les saisons en seulement quelques jours. Quelques clichés révèlent un beau ciel bleu, mais il faut bien reconnaître que les coureurs ont également eu droit à un terrain boueux, au vent, à la pluie et même à la neige !

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Ultra Trail Montagnes du Jura (@ut_montagnes_du_jura) le

C’est même dans des conditions hivernales que se sont élancés les coureurs de la Franco-Suisse le 3 octobre, au départ des Rousses. À tel point que les organisateurs ont finalement dû raccourcir les tracés sur le secteur suisse de la Franco-Suisse et de l’UTMJ lors du deuxième jour. Les passages aux sommets du Suchet et de l’Aiguillon ont été supprimés. L’itinéraire est donc finalement passé par le ravitaillement de Grange Neuve, avant de rejoindre directement le ravitaillement de Pré Malvilain en passant par le col de l’Aiguillon.

Une magnifique première édition

Malgré les conditions météorologiques et la crise sanitaire, coureurs et organisateurs ont été conquis par l’UTMJ. Organisation parfaite, bénévoles souriants et motivés… Les coureurs n’ont pas tari d’éloges en remerciant les équipes sur les réseaux sociaux, qui ont également laissé éclaté leur soulagement après cette belle réussite.

“Et oui, on l’a fait ! Coureurs, bénévoles, partenaires et organisateurs, malgré des conditions décrites comme « dantesques », on l’a fait et nous pouvons que nous en féliciter. Bravo à tous pour cette première édition !”

Un grand bravo aux vainqueurs de l’UTMJ, Stéphanie Perriard chez les femmes et Fabrice Fauser chez les hommes. La Franco-Suisse a quant-à-elle été remportée par Emily Camier et Adrien Alix.

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

Une publication partagée par Ultra Trail Montagnes du Jura (@ut_montagnes_du_jura) le

Ne manquez pas le récap en vidéo de cette première édition mémorable de l’UTMJ.

La rédaction