carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The mountaineer Benjamin Védrines crosses the Meije in 4:38

Rain of records and challenges in the Alps in this summer 2020! It is the turn of the high mountain guide and mountaineer Benjamin Védrines to set the record for crossing the Meije. In the Hautes-Alpes, this loop starting from La Grave is of rare beauty and very demanding.

Gdelight the Meije from La Grave in 4:38 ... So this is an unprecedented record that will be difficult to surpass. This crossing the Meije, round trip from La Grave in less than five hours, is none other than a level D race with more than 3 meters of vertical drop. For the magazine Alpine Mag, this time is quite simply "amazing" ... And on a portion where a "lapped rope" would have taken 5 hours, Benjamin Védrines has buckled crossing the Meije from the Promontoire hut to the Aigle hut, in just 1h30.

A journey at full speed

The layout made by Benjamin Védrines is quite simply grandiose. He left from La Grave, to go to the breach of La Meije before joining the promontory refuge. He then undertook the climbs of the peaks of the great peak and the finger of God, to arrive at the Aigle refuge, before going back down to the sheep bridge and finally La Grave and its church. Both the ascent and descent were accomplished at an incredible speed.

“It goes up, it goes down, this way back never ends! However, there was a time when my foot rested at the entrance to the church, with great emotion that arose after having experienced this rapid but very intense ascent to the top of La Meije… ”

“I am E-CLA-TE, but really physically cramped. Like not often. I pulled on the machine a little too much. The arrival at La Grave was done so to speak, on the knees! "

Village of La Grave with La Meije peak and glaciers in the morning light.

But nothing to discourage this tireless mountaineer, trail runner, paraglider, climber, skier and all-rounder of the outdoors, already left for other adventures in the Dolomites.

An outdoor athlete has a hand in everything, in love with the mountains

Born in Die in the Drôme, Benjamin Védrines grew up at the foot of the Hauts Plateaux du Vercors Nature Reserve. Passionate mountain dwellerThis high mountain guide finally put down his bag in the Ecrins National Park, where he shows these mountains to an audience of enthusiasts.

“Here, no ski lift, only mountains and walking men. What can be compared to poverty is in fact our greatest wealth. A universal philosophy which transmits a simple message to all generations: “proud to suffer from my body for such a beautiful setting” (Brassens!). Let's wet our shirts, let's enjoy all these pure mountains, let's go home proud and tired. "

Benjamin excels in mountaineering and high mountain skiing, as well as in rock climbing, ski touring and free-ride. Through these demanding disciplines, he moves away from an urbanized world to experience pure sensations. Effort, surpassing, courage, but also contemplation and meditation are its engines on "these wild massifs where silence is king".

carte welcome

Avec toute réservation, 1 an d'adhésion offert à la Carte Avantages Welcome.

10 000 offres sport et culture partout en France ainsi que 10% de remise sur vos futures réservations Welcome !

L’alpiniste Benjamin Védrines réalise la traversée de la Meije en 4h38

Pluie de records et de défis relevés sur les Alpes en cet été 2020 ! C’est au tour du guide de haute-montagne et alpiniste Benjamin Védrines d’établir le record de la traversée de la Meije. Dans les Hautes-Alpes, cette boucle au départ de La Grave est d’une beauté rare et d’une exigence certaine.

Gravir la Meije depuis la Grave en 4h38… Voilà donc un record inédit qu’il sera difficile de surpasser. Cette traversée de la Meije, aller-retour depuis La Grave en moins de cinq heures, n’est autre qu’une course de niveau D avec plus de 3 000 mètres de dénivelé. Pour le magazine Alpine Mag, ce temps est tout simplement “stupéfiant”… Et sur une portion où une “cordée rodée” aurait pris 5 heures, Benjamin Védrines a bouclé la traversée de la Meije du refuge du Promontoire au refuge de l’Aigle, en seulement 1h30.

Un parcours à pleine vitesse

Le tracé réalisé par Benjamin Védrines est tout simplement grandiose. Il est parti de la Grave, pour se rendre à la brèche de la Meije avant de rejoindre le refuge du promontoire. Il a ensuite entrepris les ascensions des sommets du grand pic et du doigt de Dieu, pour arriver au refuge de l’Aigle, avant de redescendre vers le pont des brebis et finalement La Grave et son église. La montée et la descente ont toutes deux étaient réalisées à une vitesse incroyable.

“Ça monte, ça descend, ce chemin de retour n’en finit jamais ! Pour autant, il fut un temps où mon pied se posa à l’entrée de l’église, avec une grande émotion qui surgit après avoir vécu cette ascension rapide mais très intense, vers le sommet de la Meije…”

“Je suis É-CLA-TÉ, mais vraiment physiquement crampé. Comme pas souvent. J’ai un peu trop tiré sur la machine. L’arrivée à La Grave s’est faite si on peut dire, sur les genoux !”

Village de La Grave avec pic de La Meije et glaciers sous la lumière du matin.

Mais pas de quoi décourager cet infatigable alpiniste, traileur, parapentiste, grimpeur, skieur et touche à tout de l’outdoor, déjà reparti pour d’autres aventures dans les Dolomites.

Un sportif outdoor touche à tout, épris de montagne

Né à Die dans la Drôme, Benjamin Védrines a grandi au pied de la Réserve Naturelle des Hauts Plateaux du Vercors. Montagnard passionné, ce guide de haute-montagne a finalement posé son sac dans le Parc National des Écrins, où il fait découvrir ces montagnes à un public de passionnés.

“Ici, aucune remontée mécanique, seulement des montagnes et des hommes qui marchent. Ce qui peut s’apparenter comme une pauvreté est en fait notre plus grande richesse. Une philosophie universelle qui transmet un message simple à toutes les générations : “fier de souffrir de mon corps pour un si joli décor” (Brassens !). Mouillons notre chemise, jouissons de toutes ces montagnes pures, rentrons fiers et fatigués.”

Benjamin excelle en alpinisme et en ski de haute-montagne, tout comme en escalade, ski de randonnée et free-ride. Au travers de ces disciplines exigeantes, il s’éloigne d’un monde urbanisé pour éprouver des sensations pures. Effort, dépassement, courage, mais aussi contemplation et méditation sont ses moteurs sur “ces massifs sauvages où le silence est roi”.

La rédaction