carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Let yourself be tempted by a walk on one of the Greenways of France

Are you looking for preserved and secure routes, combining discovery and welcoming nature? Have you thought about the Voies Vertes de France?

Psometimes confused with cycle paths, Greenways of France are not only dedicated to cycling. Pedestrians, rollerbladers, riders and cyclists share these developed lanes. On the other hand, motorized vehicles are prohibited there. It is therefore impossible to be disturbed by the roar of a motorcycle or by the overtaking of a car. Undertaking a route on a greenway is the guarantee of a gentle path along old railroad tracks, towpaths, canals and rivers. The routes are generally classified as “easy” by the guides. The coating can be smooth asphalt, concrete, gravel, gravel or even stabilized sand. The separation between the green way and the possible highways is secured. The intersections with the roads are well developed. The route is also respectful of the environment and its history.

Facilities in all regions of France

Let's start first with Alsace. In this region, you will explore the Marne and Rhine Canal. In Aquitaine, it will then be possible to go around the Arcachon basin, or to link Bordeaux to Lacanau. Let's continue with the Brittany. You will stroll on the Voie Verte of the bay of Mont-Saint-Michel, or on the one connecting Messac to Ploërmel. In the Center-Val de Loire, it is rather the famous castles of the Loire that will amaze you.

Family walk on the Greenways of France

At the heart of Franche-Comté, you will then cycle easily on the 10 kilometers of landscaped trails of the Chaux forest. In Île de France, you will benefit from the development on the towpath of the Loing canal. Not far from the paths from Occitanie, you will follow the Canal du Midi on kilometers of greenways. You will admire the Cathar Pyrenees, which are accessible by the Chemin des Filatiers. In the Rhône-Alpes region, you will then travel on the Voie Verte of the Isère dike, or that of the banks of the Rhône in Lyon. To conclude, in the middle of Provence, the Greenway from La Londe-les-Maures to Bormes-les-Mimosas will fill you with its scents.

Greenways of France for the more athletic ...

To conclude, it can be useful to know that the greenways are often sections of longer routes, the cycle routes. These routes take both greenways and small roads with little traffic and which are safe for bicycles. Cycle routes meet very precise specifications. Low car traffic, continuity, linearity, clear staking and markings as well as a low gradient. France's national cycle routes and greenways plan provides for the establishment of more than 26 kilometers of tracks. In 500, 2019 kilometers were already completed. There is necessarily a green lane not far from you. So, don't wait any longer, and finally let yourself be charmed by these itineraries.

Laissez-vous tenter par une balade sur l’une des Voies Vertes de France

Vous recherchez des parcours préservés et sécurisés, alliant découverte et nature accueillante ? Avez-vous  pensé aux Voies Vertes de France ?

Parfois confondues avec les pistes cyclables, les Voies Vertes de France ne sont pas seulement dédiées au vélo. Piétons, rollers, cavaliers et cyclistes partagent ces voies aménagées. En revanche, les véhicules motorisés y sont interdits. Il est donc impossible d’être dérangé par le vrombissement d’une moto ou par le dépassement d’une voiture. Entreprendre un parcours sur une voie verte, c’est la garantie d’un cheminement doux le long d’anciennes voies de chemin de fer, de sentiers de halage, de canaux et de rivières. Les parcours sont généralement classés comme “facile” par les guides. Le revêtement peut être en enrobé lisse, béton, enduit gravillonné, gravier ou encore en sable stabilisé. La séparation entre la voie verte et les éventuels axes routiers est sécurisée. Les croisements avec les routes sont bien aménagés. Le tracé est par ailleurs respectueux de l’environnement et de son histoire.

Des aménagements dans toutes les régions de France

Commençons tout d’abord en Alsace. Dans cette région, vous partirez à la découverte du canal de la Marne et du Rhin. En Aquitaine, il sera possible de faire le tour du bassin d’Arcachon, ou encore de relier Bordeaux à Lacanau. Continuons avec la Bretagne. Vous flânerez sur la Voie Verte de la baie du Mont-Saint-Michel, ou sur celle reliant Messac à Ploërmel. Dans le Centre-Val de Loire, ce sont plutôt les célèbres châteaux de la Loire qui vous émerveilleront.

Balade en famille sur les Voies Vertes de France

Au coeur de la Franche-Comté, vous pédalerez ensuite aisément sur les 10 kilomètres de sentiers aménagés de la forêt de Chaux. En Île de France, vous bénéficierez de l’aménagement sur le chemin de halage du canal du Loing. Non loin des chemins d’Occitanie, vous longerez le canal du midi sur des kilomètres de voies vertes. Vous admirerez les Pyrénées Cathares, qui sont quant-à-elles accessibles par le chemin des Filatiers. En région Rhône-Alpes, vous sillonnerez ensuite sur la Voie Verte de la digue de l’Isère, ou celle des berges du Rhône à Lyon. Pour conclure, au milieu de la Provence, la Voie Verte de La Londe-les-Maures à Bormes-les-Mimosas vous comblera de ses parfums.

Pour les plus sportifs…

Il peut être utile de savoir que les voies vertes sont souvent des portions de parcours plus longs, les véloroutes. Ces tracés empruntent à la fois des voies vertes et des petites voies routières peu fréquentées et sécurisées pour les vélos. Les véloroutes répondent à un cahier des charges très précis. Faible fréquentation automobile, continuité, linéarité, jalonnement et balisage clair ainsi qu’une faible déclivité. Le schéma national des véloroutes et voies vertes de France prévoit la mise en place de plus de 26 500 kilomètres de pistes. En 2019, déjà 15 780 kilomètres étaient déjà achevées. Il y a forcément une voie verte non loin de chez vous. Alors, n’attendez plus, et laissez-vous enfin charmer par ces itinéraires.

La rédaction