carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The Discovery Hiking Route takes you on the Salt Route between Lozère and Aveyron

Since 2013, the Route Randonnée Découverte offers hikers on horseback, in a team, on foot or by bike to travel the Salt Route on the paths of Occitanie. This year, from July 25 to August 1, protected reserves have been honored.

En creating the Discovery Hiking Route, Vanessa Sandoval and his team of volunteers wished to share the discovery of the natural, historical and architectural heritage of Occitania to the rhythm of the horses' footsteps. A real experience open to riders of all equestrian disciplines, but also to team leaders, walkers and mountain bikers. On the program, "a pleasure for the senses which continues with the discovery of local gastronomy".

A wild route

This year, hikers met in Veyreau. They then walked towards a first stage in Meyrueis. There, they were able to admire an Amerindian equestrian show, led by the best French Cossack voltigeur, Laurent Douziech. Throughout the week, riders and walkers have covered the paths of Lozère, Gard and Aveyron. They thus went to the Col de Montmirat, then to Mont Lozère, to Rouffiac Saint Bauzile and to La Canourgue, for an arrival in Campagnac. The 2020 edition ended with a fireworks show on horseback with the Impulsion Company. Each evening, the participants experienced a moment of conviviality, around their common passion for the horse.

Bergerie in the Cévennes

The Salt Route

The Salt Route designates trade routes of trade and commerce. It is through them that salt was formerly transported from production regions. In the south of France, the salt road from the Camargue to Rouergue was a trade route used from prehistoric times until the middle of the XNUMXth century. The route started from the Peccais salt flats, before going along the foothills of the Cévennes to Millau, for an arrival in Rodez. It is on part of this route, that the hikers invited by Vanessa have discovered the wonders of Occitania.

“From the Mountains to the large plateaus that shelter sumptuous landscapes, nature is king. With family, friends or alone, enjoy a memorable experience between enthusiasts discovering magnificent typical villages and their culture. "

Horses on the Discovery Trail

An experience to be enjoyed between enthusiasts

The Discovery Hiking Route is an experience to be lived with professionals and enthusiasts of horses. The participants crossed some of the most beautiful villages in France, and exceptional sites. They discovered wild territories rich in history, where live producers, restaurateurs, breeders or artisans ready to share their know-how. In the evening, discussions around a drink or a good meal created unforgettable memories and strong bonds between the guests.

Little girl on horseback

To participate in the next edition of the Great Discovery Hike, stay connected and consult the dedicated site regularly.

Discover the recap of the 2018 edition, seen by Sis'Teyss.

La Route Randonnée Découverte vous conduit sur la Route du Sel entre Lozère et Aveyron

Depuis 2013, la Route Randonnée Découverte propose aux randonneurs à cheval, en attelage, à pied ou à vélo de parcourir la Route du Sel sur les chemins d’Occitanie. Cette année, du 25 juillet au 1er août, ce sont les réserves protégées qui ont été mises à l’honneur.

En créant la Route Randonnée Découverte, Vanessa Sandoval et son équipe de bénévoles ont souhaité partager la découverte du patrimoine naturel, historique et architectural de l’Occitanie au rythme du pas des chevaux. Une véritable expérience ouvertes aux cavaliers de toutes les disciplines équestres, mais aussi aux meneurs d’attelages, marcheurs et vététistes. Au programme, “un plaisir des sens qui se poursuit avec la découverte de la gastronomie locale”.

Un itinéraire sauvage

Cette année, les randonneurs se sont donnés rendez-vous à Veyreau. Ils ont ensuite cheminé en direction d’une première étape à Meyrueis. Là-bas, ils ont alors pu admirer un spectacle équestre amérindien, mené par le meilleur voltigeur cosaque français, Laurent Douziech. Tout au long de la semaine, cavaliers et marcheurs ont parcouru les chemins de Lozère, du Gard et de l’Aveyron. Ils se sont ainsi rendus au col de Montmirat, puis au Mont Lozère, à Rouffiac Saint Bauzile et à La Canourgue, pour une arrivée à Campagnac. L’édition 2020 s’est conclue avec un show pyrotechnique à cheval avec la Compagnie Impulsion. Chaque soir, les participants ont vécu un moment de convivialité, autour de leur passion commune pour le cheval.

Bergerie dans les Cévennes

La Route du Sel

La Route du Sel désigne des routes commerciales d’échanges et de commerce. C’est par elles que le sel était autrefois transporté au départ des régions de production. Dans le Sud de la France, la route du sel de la Camargue au Rouergue était une route commerciale utilisée dès la préhistoire et jusqu’au milieu du XIXème siècle. L’itinéraire partait des salins de Peccais, avant de longer les contreforts des Cévennes jusqu’à Millau, pour une arrivée à Rodez. C’est sur une partie de ce tracé, que les randonneurs conviés par Vanessa ont découvert les merveilles de l’Occitanie.

“Des Monts aux grands plateaux qui abritent de somptueux paysages, la nature y est reine. En famille, entre amis ou en solo, vivez une expérience mémorable entre passionnés à la découverte de magnifiques villages typiques et de leur culture.”

Chevaux sur la Route Randonnée Découverte

Une expérience à vivre entre passionnés

La Route Randonnée Découverte est une expérience à vivre avec des professionnels et des passionnés des chevaux. Les participants ont traversé des villages parmi les plus beaux de France, et des sites d’exception. Ils ont découvert des territoires sauvages riches d’histoire, où vivent des producteurs, restaurateurs, éleveurs ou artisans prêts à partager leur savoir-faire. Le soir, les échanges autour d’un verre ou d’un bon repas ont créé des souvenirs inoubliables et des liens forts entre les convives.

Fillette à cheval

Pour participer à la prochaine édition de la Grande Randonnée Découverte, restez connecté et consultez le site dédié régulièrement.

Découvrez le récap de l’édition 2018, vu par les Sis’Teyss.

La rédaction