carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

The route des Grandes Alpes, a great spectacle for bikers

From Thonon-les-Bains to Nice, over 700 kilometers, the Grandes Alpes route crosses the French Alps from north to south.

Du Lake Geneva to the Mediterranean, the route des Grandes Alpes is one of the most exceptional road trips in France. Hairpin bends, mythical passes and breathtaking panoramas await lovers of asphalt and great spectacle. The motorcyclists follow the turns and skirt the ridges, through the parks of the Vanoise, Boxes, Mercantour, Bauges and Queyras. They also travel through the massifs of Chablais, Beaufortain, Vanoise, Hoops and the Ubaye. 17 meters of vertical drop, 000 mountain passes to cross, including 17 at an altitude of over 6 meters. A dizzying immersion in the heart of nature between heaven and earth ...

A great spectacle

By browsing in its entirety the route des Grandes Alpes, the riders cross towns and villages among the most beautiful of the Alps. Morzine, La Clusaz, Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe, Bourg-Saint-Maurice, Modane, Briançon, Vars… But also Barcelonnette, Valberg, Saint-Martin-Vésubie or even Sospel. These municipalities are essential stages of the route. The adventure then ends along the Big Blue, in Menton and Nice. Vauban's fortifications, small Romanesque churches and chapels, or even historic bridges bear witness to the historical past of this sometimes inhospitable territory.

A land of encounter

The route of the Grandes Alpes also allows you to meet those who shape the history of these places. The inns, farms, relays and campings are all meeting places. Local products and specialties delight the taste buds of visitors. The shepherds, market gardeners and itinerant vendors come across at the bend of a bend, bring the curious back to a bygone era, and ultimately not so distant.

The history of the Grandes Alpes route

It was François Arnaud in 1900 who first had the idea of ​​this tourist route. Its objective was to develop “ a passable road which will be the favorite passage, almost obligatory, of great tourism and of foreign colonies who share their stay in France between the Mediterranean coast and Savoy ”. The Touring club of France and the company of the railways from Paris to Lyon and to the Mediterranean will then begin to implement this project from 1909. The two wars will then come to compromise the route and the tourist development of the region.

In 1950, the primitive alpine route competed with the new Alpine Route located further west and open all year, will be renamed the Route des Grandes Alpes. At the end of the XNUMXth century, cyclists, motorcyclists and motorists started to take this magnificent route again.

The route of the Grandes Alpes today

Today, the route des Grandes Alpes is open in its entirety from June to October, unless the snow cover of the Cayolle, Galibier and Iseran passes does not allow it. Each year, the road is the scene of several stages of the Tour de France, among the most feared. Are you planning a road trip in the Alps? To fully appreciate the unspoiled nature and the calm of the place, choose the months of June and September. And to convince yourself to conquer the alpine passes, don't miss this Check My Rides video.

“This second episode corresponds to the official section of the Route des Grandes Alpes. Passes by the dozen, from the most famous (Galibier) to the wildest (Cayolle). As always, a lot of motorcycles, bicycles, camping-cars and photographers on the roadsides! "

La route des Grandes Alpes, un tracé grand spectacle pour les motards

De Thonon-les-Bains à Nice, sur plus de 700 kilomètres, la Route des Grandes Alpes traverse les Alpes françaises du nord au sud.

Du lac Léman à la Méditerranée, la route des Grandes Alpes est l’un des road-trips les plus exceptionnels de France. Virages en épingle, cols mythiques et panoramas à couper le souffle attendent les amoureux de l’asphalte et de grand spectacle. Les motards y enchaînent les virages et longent les crêtes, à travers les parcs de la Vanoise, des Écrins, du Mercantour, des Bauges et du Queyras. Ils sillonnent également à travers les massifs du Chablais, du Beaufortain, de la Vanoise, des Cerces et de l’Ubaye. 17 000 mètres de dénivelé, 17 cols de montagne à franchir, dont 6 à plus de 2 000 mètres d’altitude. Une vertigineuse immersion en pleine nature entre ciel et terre…

Un tracé grand spectacle

En parcourant dans son intégralité la route des Grandes Alpes, les riders traversent des villes et des villages parmi les plus beaux des Alpes. Morzine, La Clusaz, Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe, Bourg-Saint-Maurice, Modane, Briançon, Vars, Barcelonnette, Valberg, Saint-Martin-Vésubie ou encore Sospel sont des étapes incontournables du tracé. L’aventure s’achève ensuite le long de la Grande Bleue, à Menton et à Nice. Les fortifications de Vauban, les petites églises et chapelles romanes, ou encore les ponts historiques témoignent du passé historique de ce territoire parfois inhospitalier.

Col de l'Iseran

Col de l’Iseran

Une terre de rencontre

La route des Grandes Alpes permet également d’aller à la rencontre de ceux qui façonnent l’histoire de ces lieux. Les auberges, fermes, relais et campings sont autant de lieux de rencontres. Les produits de terroir et les spécialités enchantent les papilles des visiteurs. Les bergers, maraîchers et vendeurs ambulants croisés au détour d’un virage, ramènent les curieux à une époque révolue, et finalement pas si lointaine.

Un peu d’histoire

C’est François Arnaud en 1900, qui a le premier eu l’idée de cet itinéraire touristique. Son objectif était de développer “une route carrossable qui sera le passage favori, obligé presque, du grand tourisme et des colonies étrangères qui partagent leur séjour en France entre le littoral de la Méditerranée et la Savoie”. Le Touring club de France et la compagnie des chemins de fer de Paris à Lyon et à la Méditerranée commenceront alors à mettre en oeuvre ce projet à partir de 1909. Les deux guerres viendront ensuite compromettre le tracé et le développement touristique de la région.

Col d'Isoard

Col d’Isoard

En 1950, la route des Alpes primitive concurrencée par la nouvelle Route des Alpes située plus à l’Ouest et ouverte toute l’année, sera rebaptisée la Route des Grandes Alpes. À la fin du XXème siècle, les cyclistes, motocyclistes et automobilistes recommencent alors à emprunter cette route magnifique.

La route des Grandes Alpes aujourd’hui

Aujourd’hui, la route des Grandes Alpes est ouverte dans sa totalité de juin à octobre, sauf si l’enneigement des cols de la Cayolle, du Galibier et de l’Iseran ne le permet pas. Chaque année, la route est le théâtre de quelques étapes du Tour de France, parmi les plus redoutées. Vous envisagez un road-trip dans les Alpes ? Pour apprécier pleinement la nature préservée et le calme des lieux, privilégiez les mois de juin et septembre. Et pour vous convaincre de partir à la conquête des cols alpins, ne manquez pas cette vidéo de Check My Rides.

“Ce deuxième épisode correspond au tronçon officiel de la Route des Grandes Alpes. Des cols par dizaines, du plus connu (Galibier) au plus sauvage (Cayolle). Comme toujours, beaucoup de motos, de vélos, de camping-cars et de photographes sur le bords des routes !”

La rédaction

Crédit images éditoriales
Col d’Isoard : Shutterstock/Anton Havelaar
Col de l’Iseran : Shutterstock/Mor65_Mauro Piccardi

Lire aussi sur le même sujet :
Road-Trip à moto : Top 5 des plus beaux panoramas sur les routes viroleuses du sud de la France