carte welcome

With any reservation, 1 year of membership offered to the Advantage Card Welcome.

10 sport and culture offers throughout France as well as 000% discount on your future reservations Welcome !

Running reduces the risk of cancer or cardiovascular disease

Does running really fight disease and improve longevity?

PTo answer this question, scientists analyzed 14 studies, with a total sample size of 232 people, to identify the potential health benefits of running. Posted in the British Journal of Sports Medicine, the meta-analysis reveals that compared to non-runners, those who ran at least once a week had a 27% lower risk of all-cause mortality, 30% less cardiovascular risk-related deaths, and a risk of cancer mortality reduced by 23%. Running would therefore have a positive impact on the health of athletes.

Good news

The best news from this study for those who do not run daily is certainly the lack of dose effect. 50 minutes per week would be enough to significantly reduce the risk of developing these diseases. It would even be possible to fragment this small hour over the week. Intensity or pace does not seem to affect the benefits. Asked by Runners world, Zeljko Pedisic, associate professor at the Institute for Health and Sport at the University of Victoria in Australia and co-author of the study, summarizes his findings.

“The bottom line here is just that running can help you live longer, regardless of how often, how long, and how fast. "

And that's not all !

In a tweet, Professor Pedisic recalls all the benefits of running for the body. Running improves balance, heart function and metabolism. It reduces the incidence of heart disease, cancer, respiratory disease, type 2 diabetes, and lowers blood pressure and cholesterol!

So many benefits with the moderate practice of a free sport accessible to all! What are you waiting for to start or get back to racing? But if you're over 40, don't miss our article on getting back to workout after a long hiatus to avoid making the basic mistakes: Resume or start sport after 40? Yes ... but not just any old way.

La course à pied réduit le risque de cancer ou de maladie cardio-vasculaire

La course à pied permet-elle réellement de lutter contre les maladies et d’améliorer la longévité ?

Pour répondre à cette question, des scientifiques ont analysé 14 études, dont l’échantillon total atteint 232 149 personnes, afin d’identifier les bénéfices potentiels de la course sur la santé. Publiée dans le British Journal of Sports Medicine, la méta-analyse révèle que par rapport aux non-coureurs, ceux qui couraient au moins une fois par semaine avaient 27% moins de risque de mortalité toutes causes confondues, 30% de décès liés au risque cardiovasculaire en moins, et un risque de mortalité par cancer réduit de 23%. La course à pied aurait donc bien un impact positif sur la santé des sportifs.

Une bonne nouvelle

La meilleure nouvelle de cette étude pour ceux qui ne courent pas quotidiennement, est certainement l’absence d’effet-dose. 50 minutes par semaine suffiraient à réduire de manière significative le risque de développer ces maladies. Il serait même possible de fragmenter cette petite heure sur la semaine. L’intensité ou le rythme ne semblent pas influer sur les bénéfices. Interrogé par Runners World, Zeljko Pedisic, professeur agrégé à l’Institut pour la santé et le sport de l’Université Victoria en Australie et co-auteur de l’étude, fait la synthèse de ses conclusions.

“Ce qu’il faut retenir ici, c’est simplement que la course à pied peut vous aider à vivre plus longtemps, indépendamment de sa fréquence hebdomadaire, de sa durée et de son rythme.”

Et ce n’est pas tout !

Dans un tweet, le professeur Pedisic rappelle tous les bienfaits de la course pour l’organisme. La course améliore l’équilibre, la fonction cardiaque et le métabolisme. Elle réduit l’incidence des pathologies cardiaques, cancers, maladies respiratoires, diabète de type 2, et diminue la tension artérielle et le cholesterol !

Autant de bénéfices avec la pratique modéré d’un sport gratuit et accessible à tous ! Qu’attendez-vous pour vous mettre ou vous remettre à la course ? Mais si vous avez plus de 40 ans, ne manquez pas notre article sur la reprise de sport après une longue interruption pour éviter de commettre les erreurs de base : Reprendre ou commencer le sport après 40 ans ? Oui… Mais pas n’importe comment.

La rédaction